We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Swissotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Quito
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The staff is very nice and efficient, but we got the typical upsell from the front desk: "Oh, for just a bit more money you can have a suite in a much quieter room, etc...." We were desperate for a nice, quiet room as we had just gotten back from a very sub par stay at Luna Runtun in Banos. So we took it. The manager, who checked us in, knew that we weren't thrilled with the upsell, and she sent us a bottle of wine and a large fruit basket. Very nice. The room was not particularly quiet - on an airplane flight path and the upper floor ("much quieter room") was more subject to the airplane noise. Plus, the street noise really carries, car alarms, sirens, etc. Also, since we upgraded to the club floor, we were looking forward to cocktails and appetizers at a normal hour, like 5-7, or 6-8 or something along those lines. It was 8:30-10:30! Needless to say, it was empty at that time - who wants cocktails and appetizers at that time? Also, don't expect your glass of wine with dinner in Quito on a Sunday. It's illegal to buy alcohol on Sundays. One very odd thing, and something I've never seen in a high end hotel, any hotel, actually: The pool is indoor/outdoor, with most of it being indoor. If you get in the pool without a cap on, an attendant comes over and makes you put a swimming cap on! Kind of off-putting.
The restaurants are pricey, but that's to be expected at a hotel of this level.
The bed was comfortable. The room was nice, and the staff was very nice. Wifi is iffy.
One more thing - we were warned many times that tourists are fair game for mugging and pick pocketing. My husband knows someone who had her jewelry and camera ripped off of her on a busy street in Quito by 4 young thugs.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel gives you a view of the volcano. Also, we checked 4 rooms before we chose one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EMc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SQUManager, Director of Sales at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced with our Front Desk service; and with our Spa regulations, rest assure that I have gone ahead and communicate this to our team in order to prevent the reoccurrence of similar events from happening again.

Please feel free to contact our Director of Rooms Operations at gino.casagrande@swissotel.com if you require additional assistance.

Best Regards,

Adriana Cordero
Sales & Marketing Regional Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

Smooth check in, efficient and good English skills. Rooms were spacious, beds very comfortable. A bit pricey for wi fi (24 hour use was 18.00 US). We were very pleased with the experience and the atttentiveness of staff

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bucketlist50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SQUManager, Director of Sales at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Greetings,

We support your comments and do value our customers feedback.. Thank you for choosing the Swissotel Quito.

Our best regards,

Adriana Cordero
Regional Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The service was great. I never once opened a door on a cab, hotel, elevator etc. There were gorgeous huge boquets of roses everywhere. Every night there was a rose and chocolate on our turned down bed. The bed was very, very comfortable. The rooms were quiet. The included breakfast was very good. Alot of seasonal fruits, breads, meats. There was also the eggs, hashbrowns, bacon ham thing. Anyway, it was really nice to have the included breakfast with the room. Free internet in the business office was nice too.
We were at the Swissotel for 6 nights. It would be the place we would stay again if we ever get back to Quito.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorbuCAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SQUManager, Director of Sales at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review. At Swissotel Quito, we strive to provide our guests with comfortable accommodations and genuine service, seeking to make their stay pleasant and memorable.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

my best regards,

Adriana Cordero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed 1 night here on returning from a week in the Galapagos. very professional welcome from the front desk, especially Santiago, who provided excellent service.In contrast we received very poor service from the operator desk in getting Internet access - no Wifi in the rooms is poor for a hotel like this, wifi in the reception area was poor and the attitude of the operator was very rude. - this needs serious attention from the management as this is where first impressions are formed!

Room was fine, albeit was somewhat traffic noisy from 6am. Buffet breakfast was good.

On balance, a hotel for business trips not vacations. For vacations, suggest staying in the old town, eg the hotel Patio Anfaluz with lots of colonial charm and a great location near the presidential square.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrunswickFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SQUManager, Director of Sales at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for bringing your experience to our attention. I appreciate your taking the time to communicate with me by email to pinpoint our service failures so that we can address them specifically through training of our staff.

While it is very seldom that our guests experience service bad, we do take your comments very seriously. I will personally look into this with our front desk manager to ensure that that there will be no future recurrences with the operator behavior.

As a promised, we are taking the appropriate steps to improve and upgrade our Internet Service, and in the near future we will have WI-FI system all over the hotel.

Once again, we are grateful for your candid comments. I trust that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you during your next visit to the Quito.

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Swissotel, aaaaaaaah....We actually stayed here a total of about 3.5 months between 2006 and 2008. Their apartment suites are incredible--2 bedrooms, cable tv, nice, modern living room, modern and comfortable bedrooms, washer and dryer, full kitchen and great views. It was so comfortable and the spa is world class. It is here that I got addicted to hot stone massage. It was so easy to just go down to the spa and get treatments and use the pool and jacuzzi. I also love the cafe out back.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with a view of the Cotopaxi volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvinarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SQUManager, Director of Sales at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out TripAdvisor´s comments. We do appreciate hearing from
our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations

We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed here on the front end of a trip to the galapagos. The location is pretty good, 5 minutes walk to downtown area with restaurants. do NOT confuse with being close to the Old Town part of Qutio. it's a cab ride away from there. 2 things really annoyed me. After confirming ad nauseum that a car would be waiting for me at the airport, after we cleared customs (which didn't even take long) we got outside and looked everywhere but the driver was not there. i had to call, from my american cell phone and a pretty expensive call, the hotel. I was told that they "waited for me and then left." SERIOUSLY? they left? that was the first bad. then they sent someone back fairly quickly (though i think he was there for someone else) and we got to the hotel. it was nice enough, but here was kicker number 2. they advertise "free internet access" in the rooms. however, what they DON'T tell you is that it's plug in. not wireless, which means if you have an ipad or iphone it won't work. Wireless is available downstairs, for 18$ per hour. otherwise, the hotel is clean, safe, the rooms were nice enough. i wasn't looking for the lap of luxury. i would stay there again. Staff was nice enough, the front desk was helpful if you needed anything from them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SQUManager, Director of Sales at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, we are working to present the Swissôtel Quito as the option number one in the 5* Hotel category.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I spent 12 nights at this hotel during a recent business visit. Well maintained rooms and grounds. The breakfast buffet was included in the room rate and was exceptional. Fresh fruit and juices, hot buffet of assorted goods, cooked to order omelet or eggs, great selection of fresh baking. Went for sushi one night at the Japanese restaurant in the hotel and was found it to be very good. A bit disappointed with the steak restaurant in the hotel as there are better within walking distance in the neighborhood. A good place close for steak is called "Pavarotti" it's only a two minutes walk away and also has a good selection of wine. Good communication in English, Spanish, and German is available at the hotel and the service is always generous. Day trips organized through the hotel can be expensive when compared to local rates so check out alternatives and book according to our preferences. I will definitely go back as the location and value is good.

Room Tip: Nice grounds and spa for both men and women.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairValueExpected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SQUManager, Manager at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind words about our Restaurants. We closed our Steak House outlet for a total refurbishment opening in few weeks more a new booming concept restaurant with a complete new presentation and a special menu. La Locanda Restaurant will present a Mediterranean cuisine with Peruvian trends.

It will be for us a pleasure to welcome you again in your next stay in Quito and to present you our new La Locanda Restaurant.

Best regards,

Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
1.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 113 in Quito
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#22 of 113 in Quito
1,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 113 in Quito
792 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Quito

Address: De Octubre 1820 Ave. & Luis Cordero Street 12 | La Floresta Zone, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Quito
#5 Business Hotel in Quito
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £87 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Quito is a luxury hotel conveniently located in the commercial and residential area of Quito. The hotel is within easy access to the Old Town and to the airport. Known as the kindest hotel of Latin America, Swissotel Quito is recognised for the finest service in the city. Four excellent restaurants offer a wide variety of international cuisine. From Mediterranean, Japanese and sumptuous buffets, there is menu to suit every taste at Swissôtel Quito. The hotel’s Amrita Spa is the perfect place for relaxation or lively workout. Facilities include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, fitness centre, squash, and racquet and tennis courts. Swissotel Quito offers the largest and most modern convention centre in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Quito Hotel Quito
Swissotel Hotel Quito
Quito Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing