We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$166
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reina Isabel(Quito)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$504
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveller rating
632
326
72
37
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
632
326
72
37
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe indoor outdoor poolbreakfast buffetturn down servicebusiness hotelstar hotelexcellent hotelnice poolthe hotel staffguest roomstravel agentthe executive loungebusiness districtcomfortable hotelold townthree nightsgalapagos islandsrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Swissotel has a remarkable range of services for a mid-sized hotel - from connected heated indoor + outdoor pools, gym, spa, squash court (!), computer room to 5 restaurants offering a wide range of cuisines. There are many classy touches, such as sumptous displays of roses.

The Café where breakfasts are also served is very pleasant, and its breakfast buffet has an amazing range of Ecuadorian tropical fruit and juices. Delicious. Based on our experience, the hotel is also well organized for conferences. The location is good for business and for tourism.

The staff during our stay were all pleasant and helpful.

The only aspect I noted for improvement is some modernizing of the rooms (though they are well maintained). Our room had a traditional clunky TV and oversized cabinet to house it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed 4 nights as part of a tour in 2 different rooms. The rooms were very plush and clean, a rose on the pillow every night was a nice touch. The room we had facing the interior of the hotel was quiet, the room facing the main street had a lot of street noise and the disco across the street was booming until very late at night. Buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent. A lot of issues with the room cards in the elevator working properly, the staff seemed more amused at our difficulty than willing to help. Our tour group dined in the Swiss themed restaurant one evening and the food quality varied greatly between dishes, service was below par. Other members of our 15 person group found that the Internet access fee was quite high and wireless only worked in the lobby -- and if you went into one of the restaurants or bars it was free which of course the desk does not mention.
If you want to make an international call, there are several print/copy places within a few blocks that are literally 10% of the cost compared to calling from the hotel. There is a very nice supermarket 1.5 blocks away.
At this price point everything should be top of the line (as was the case in other hotels on our tour), there were definitely some misses here. If coming back to Quito on my own would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are much quieter than rooms facing the street
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongRider2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I would have given this hotel a higher rating if 1) I had been visiting Quito on business or 2) only staying one night to or from current airport. However, I was a tourist and in Quito for 3 nights. I would have preferred staying at Boutique Hotel Plaza Grande to experience Quito (although an expensive choice).

Having said that Swissotel is serviceable although generic, modern hotel. The staff helpful although English is not a strength. The restaurants are good and the VIP lounge on the 11th floor (?) has fabulous views of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OgoCinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Our 24-person tour group stayed here on three separate occasions during our trip to Ecuador, four nights total. The first two times we were in guest rooms, the last time in a suite. All were very clean and nicely decorated.

The guest room had king-sized beds, desk, minibar, safe, coffee corner, iron and board and room for all our things. Robes and slippers were provided. The mattress in the second room we had was too hard to be very comfortable, and, had we been staying longer, we would have asked to change rooms. On the other two occasions, the beds were very comfortable.

The suite we had on our final stay was wonderful! There was a living room with a small sofa, armchair and coffee table, a round dining table with four chairs, a full-length mirror, a large TV, CD player, wi-fi, a large desk with stationery supplies in one drawer and a printer. The bedroom had a king-size bed, two closets, a large flat-screen TV, radio and DVD player. There were three phones in the suite. All the amenities we had in our previous guest rooms were also present.

There was a half-bath neat the entry and the main bathroom had double sinks, tub with shower, magnifying mirror, a large assortment of toiletries and a scale.

Our group was greeted each time we arrived with hot, damp towels and fresh exotic fruit juices. The group had special dietary requirements, and we were givien our own dining and meeting room and a chef, who was under the direction of an employee of the tour agency who sponsored the trip. The staff was exceptionally accommodating. I have nothing but praise for this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed for one week on business. Service was very good. There is a large grocery store within a block so you can pick up anything you may need and snacks if you desire. There is alot of traffic is this part of town but the room was quiet. I did expect wi-fi in a hotel of this level, but it is wire-only in your room. Also, to restrict unauthorized access to their service, they were changing the logon and password everyday (which was frustrating as you had to call down to the service manager and request your new info). They did provide me week long access when I went down to the front desk and asked. The breakfast was very good, with alot of variety and good service. There is an indoor pool, but I never had the time to find the entrance (seemed you had to go outside thru a courtyard to get there. If I was vacationing and wanted full-service this would be great, for business travel I would select a long-term suite instead (several hotels in town offer them with full kitchen/laundry machines in suite).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews