We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option for New City-Quito”
Review of Swissotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Quito
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Option for New City-Quito”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Swissotel Hotel in Quito is a very well managed and friendly establishment. We spent one night here as part of a package to the Galapagos. Beds were great. Standard room large with an amazing view (even on a lower floor) to the beautiful mountains and city. We received a welcome drink upon arrival and were able to store one of our bags in their storage area before we set out for our Galapagos cruise. With no extra charge, even though we weren't returning to that same hotel after the cruise. Finally, breakfast was outstanding. Overall, after arriving from a 19-hour flight, this Swissotel fit the bill.

I would suggest that if you are staying for longer than a night or two, base yourselves in Quito's historic center. Very colorful, seemed safe and much more interesting than what you get in the newer neighborhoods. On our way back from the cruise, we spent two nights in the Historic Center and well worth it.

Room Tip: take a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZiggyRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    292
    66
    30
    25
See reviews for
127
242
58
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Swissotel Quito for three nights prior to a trip to the Galapagos and it was quite nice. Our room was large and lovely with an amazing view of the city and the distant snow-capped volcano, Cotopaxi. When we checked in, there was music playing in the room and a beautiful rose on the bed along with chocolates. Each evening, we received a different color rose - red, yellow and finally peach. Though the bed was rather hard, we still slept well. And the bathroom was stocked with nice toiletries and super fluffy towels. There is no WiFi in the room but it can be accessed for free in the lobby. Breakfast was buffet style and loaded with options that catered to both Ecuadoran and American palates. Lots of fresh fruit and fruit juices as well as a variety of freshly baked breads. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewelsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galveston, texas
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed for one night as part of a large tour group - and based on this experience: good hotel. We were randomly upgraded to a large suite. Lots of space. Comfy bed. Thanks hotel!
The older style TVs were unusual, but had excellent channel choices. In fact, I watched an NFL playoff game on ESPN Deportes.
The rooms are getting close to "need to update" status. Our room was certainly clean, but updates are needed. Everywhere.
The hotel was jammed with our 200 person tour group and the elevators seemed to take forever. Also, I never got the hang of the room card swipe system to get from elevator cars to hotel floors.
The restaurant was large. We had a super breakfast buffet as part of the room price.
Overall, nice - nothing special.

Room Tip: High floor would seem best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalvestonJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Swissôtel in Quito is a nice hotel and very friendly. However, if you are not there on a package, you will find their charges for Internet steep, as well as the breakfast buffet being a bit overprice. The staff is very helpful and for the eight days I was there, turndown service included a rose and a chocolate.

A couple of things kept this from being a five star experience. First, even though the buffet opens at 6 AM, they were never quite set up by then, which meant those who had to be there by six had to ask for serving utensils. However, once up and fully running, the buffet is really a good place for breakfast.

On another issue, I was there for a conference, and thirty people with confirmed reservations arrived at 1:00 AM before the conference and.... no rooms. Not a happy crew.

I also ended up stuck in an elevator for about a minute before it started moving again. Nobody answered the buzzer. I was wondering if I would miss my plane.

Check out is also rather slow after being in hotels where the receipt is under the door in the morning. It's still a manual process here and it's just slow.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights before heading to the Galapagos. I arrived late after an evening flight and they actually greeted me by name as I arrived...as they were expecting me - I was the last reservation of the evening to show up. I got a kick out of that!!! haha. The room was a good size with a very comfy bed not to mention VERY clean - which is a huge factor for me when chosing a hotel. There is free wifi in the lobby only. I wish they had it in the rooms...it was available but at a charge. The turndown service with the rose and the chocolate was a nice touch. The staff was very friendly - opening doors, pushing the elevator buttons and helping anyway they could. I didn't use the pool as I was too busy touring around the historical centre which was about a 20 minute walk away. There is a supermarket up the street which was very handy for getting drinks and snacks. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaiiboundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I just checked into this hotel and the warm towels and orange juice were great. However, I am here for work and I can not get wireless internet in my room. There is an internet cable, but I use an iPad and Macbook Air. Shouldn't a hotel of this stature be up to date on the technology needs of its clients?

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank chandlerpatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

it's a beautiful hotel - well maintained, nice, friendly staff, very nice comfortable rooms...but, i was a little hesitant to give it 4 stars because the 2 nights that i stayed there they forgot my wake up calls, and one morning they didn't remember my room service breakfast. the missed wake up calls would have been significant had we not had a back-up alarm clock in place. the fact that we don't speak fluent spanish and they are not fluent in english was likely the problem. that said, the rooms are beautiful and clean and very comfortable, and if that's all you need then you will be pleased.

Room Tip: we used this hotel before and after a trip to the galapagos - on our return stay, we were upgraded t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
2.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Quito

Property: Swissotel Quito
Address: De Octubre 1820 Ave. & Luis Cordero Street 12 | La Floresta Zone, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Quito
#5 Business Hotel in Quito
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Quito is a luxury hotel conveniently located in the commercial and residential area of Quito. The hotel is within easy access to the Old Town and to the airport. Known as the kindest hotel of Latin America, Swissotel Quito is recognised for the finest service in the city. Six excellent restaurants offer a wide variety of international cuisine. From Mediterranean, Swiss, Japanese and sumptuous buffets, there is menu to suit every taste at Swissôtel Quito. The hotel’s Amrita Spa is the perfect place for relaxation or lively workout. Facilities include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, fitness centre, squash, and racquet and tennis courts. Swissotel Quito offers the largest and most modern convention centre in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Quito Hotel Quito
Swissotel Hotel Quito
Quito Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing