We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reina Isabel(Quito)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$516/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
633
326
72
37
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
326
72
37
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe indoor outdoor poolbreakfast buffetturn down servicebusiness hotelstar hotelexcellent hotelnice poolthe hotel staffguest roomstravel agentthe executive loungebusiness districtcomfortable hotelold townthree nightsgalapagos islandsrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I find this Swissotel to be quite a mixed bag, with the pros and cons summarized below:

Pros
Large and well-equipped gym, pool, and spa area
Friendly and attentive staff
Excellent turn-down service
Updated Executive Floor rooms
Quito Deli within hotel offering quick breakfast and lunch options

Cons
Mediocre location for tourists and leisure travelers
Dated and dingy rooms on standard floors
Spa area not particularly clean for a luxury hotel
Extremely slow check-out processes
Considerable exterior noise on lower floors

I would only return to the Swissotel if I purchase Executive accomodations or if they renovate the regular rooms, which, as stated by another recent reviewer, are tired and dated. I was disappointed by the amount of grime and stains in the regular rooms, more due to age than housekeeping standards. If you travel with high standards, I'd strongly suggest booking the Executive Floor, as the rooms are far more pleasant.

Old Quito is extremely charming and the best of many great meals I enjoyed in Quito were at Casa Gangotena and Carmine's...both highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TurtleCreekTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Swissotel Hotel in Quito is a very well managed and friendly establishment. We spent one night here as part of a package to the Galapagos. Beds were great. Standard room large with an amazing view (even on a lower floor) to the beautiful mountains and city. We received a welcome drink upon arrival and were able to store one of our bags in their storage area before we set out for our Galapagos cruise. With no extra charge, even though we weren't returning to that same hotel after the cruise. Finally, breakfast was outstanding. Overall, after arriving from a 19-hour flight, this Swissotel fit the bill.

I would suggest that if you are staying for longer than a night or two, base yourselves in Quito's historic center. Very colorful, seemed safe and much more interesting than what you get in the newer neighborhoods. On our way back from the cruise, we spent two nights in the Historic Center and well worth it.

Room Tip: take a room facing the mountains
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiggyRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Swissotel Quito for three nights prior to a trip to the Galapagos and it was quite nice. Our room was large and lovely with an amazing view of the city and the distant snow-capped volcano, Cotopaxi. When we checked in, there was music playing in the room and a beautiful rose on the bed along with chocolates. Each evening, we received a different color rose - red, yellow and finally peach. Though the bed was rather hard, we still slept well. And the bathroom was stocked with nice toiletries and super fluffy towels. There is no WiFi in the room but it can be accessed for free in the lobby. Breakfast was buffet style and loaded with options that catered to both Ecuadoran and American palates. Lots of fresh fruit and fruit juices as well as a variety of freshly baked breads. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jewelsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed for one night as part of a large tour group - and based on this experience: good hotel. We were randomly upgraded to a large suite. Lots of space. Comfy bed. Thanks hotel!
The older style TVs were unusual, but had excellent channel choices. In fact, I watched an NFL playoff game on ESPN Deportes.
The rooms are getting close to "need to update" status. Our room was certainly clean, but updates are needed. Everywhere.
The hotel was jammed with our 200 person tour group and the elevators seemed to take forever. Also, I never got the hang of the room card swipe system to get from elevator cars to hotel floors.
The restaurant was large. We had a super breakfast buffet as part of the room price.
Overall, nice - nothing special.

Room Tip: High floor would seem best
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalvestonJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Swissôtel in Quito is a nice hotel and very friendly. However, if you are not there on a package, you will find their charges for Internet steep, as well as the breakfast buffet being a bit overprice. The staff is very helpful and for the eight days I was there, turndown service included a rose and a chocolate.

A couple of things kept this from being a five star experience. First, even though the buffet opens at 6 AM, they were never quite set up by then, which meant those who had to be there by six had to ask for serving utensils. However, once up and fully running, the buffet is really a good place for breakfast.

On another issue, I was there for a conference, and thirty people with confirmed reservations arrived at 1:00 AM before the conference and.... no rooms. Not a happy crew.

I also ended up stuck in an elevator for about a minute before it started moving again. Nobody answered the buzzer. I was wondering if I would miss my plane.

Check out is also rather slow after being in hotels where the receipt is under the door in the morning. It's still a manual process here and it's just slow.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews