We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk service need to be improved”
Review of Swissotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Quito
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Austell
2 reviews
“Front desk service need to be improved”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Front desk service need to be improved, they need to learn the magic words used in most of the high class hotels
the room are nice
the restaurants are nice
the location are really nice
nice choices for eat

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion and suggestions about our Hotel, we will consider all of them to improve our services.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    292
    66
    30
    25
See reviews for
127
243
58
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I just returned from a work trip to Quito and the reservation was made by my company. The hotel is in a good neighborhood with the possibility to walk to shops and restaurants. The staff is nice. The rooms are comfortable, but very dated. I especially resented the toilet that required me to bend down completely to push the flush button, which does not sound like a pleasant idea and it was not. The cleaning staff could use some additional training - the alarm clock rang at midnight the first night I stayed, so I disconnected it at that time to return to sleep (was not in the position to figure out that gadget at midnight). So the next morning the cleaning staff plugged the alarm back again, which I did not notice and thus was woken up at midnight again by the same alarm - very annoying. There also was a phone in the lobby by the elevators which rang both mornings that I stayed at this hotel - the first morning someone responded right away, but the second - it rang for good 2 minutes at about 6:30 AM. I am not sure at all why would a phone be ringing in the lobby and it was a surprise to the Front Desk too. I must comment that the breakfast was excellent - anything you can think of really was there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I'm writing this sitting in the reception of this hotel. This being my second stay within two weeks. I first visited the hotel to find that there was no booking made for me (not necessarily the fault of the hotel). As a single traveller who was obviously upset that to arrive in a strange country and find no transport or accommodation booked I was greeted with, 'we're full but if you pay $230 dollars we can find you a room'. I paid the due amount and asked (actually pleaded) with reception staff to inform me as soon as a member of the booking agency arrived at the hotel. This never happened so first thing in the morning I went back to reception and asked if anyone had arrived. I was advised that there was a note on my room for the agent to contact me, again no communication. I waited in reception and by chance met the agent who had no information about me either from the tour operator or hotel. Luckily he sorted the situation but had no apology from the hotel that my request had been ignored.

This is now my second stay at the end of my trip. As my flight is not due to leave until 21:30 the tour leader asked if they could extend my check out time. Again was told it will be looked into and I would be contacted, this didn't happen. I asked again this morning if I could extend my check out but was told the hotel was full. I have since spoken to people on the same flight as me and who checked in after me and they have a room extension. I have now been sitting in reception for 2 hours and have a further 3 1/2 hours to wait.

This hotel is great as long as nothing goes wrong, don't expect any kind of service. I get the impression that this hotel is so popular they have become arrogant about giving their customers good service. I will not be staying in a swissotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_spriggy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A beautiful hotel with all the amenities. Our room was enormous and the second bathroom was a complete surprise. The location was very convenient
to a trendy entertainment area of town. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.if you want to pamper yourself, this is a perfect spot.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindy443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

What a treat to walk into a hotel room, find a rose sitting on the bed, chocolates waiting to be devoured, taps that worked in the bathroom, good beds and not too noisy. We stayed at the hotel 3 different times while on our tour. The first time, we were at the hotel for 3 nights and each night were treated to the rose on the pillow and a chocolate to eat. We did have problems figuring out how to close the blind and another member of our tour group explained how to close it, but unfortunately not for the first night. The breakfast was excellent, and the lady cook who did the omelettes was very friendly and very helpful. She remembered us each time we came back to the hotel. You can get fresh squeezed orange juice, but it is not at the buffet, but instead brought around to the table. On our second visit to the hotel, after being at the Galapagos Islands, we were on the 6th floor. We did notice that this floor was noisier than the 7th which we had been on previously. Unfortunately for us, our neighbour next door must have fallen asleep with the TV on and we were kept awake having to listen to his TV for most of the night. On our third visit after being to the Amazon, we were on the ninth floor. Much quieter room as it faced the courtyard and gave us a fantastic view of the surrounding mountains. This room was the most tired of the three we stayed in and the bathroom tub and sinks could have done with being replaced as they were scratched and looked worse for wear. This was the one time where they forgot the rose and the chocolates and we had a very difficult time with our key cards trying to get to our floor. Once they were replaced they worked perfectly. We ate at the Sports Bar, Japanese restaurant and the Italian restaurant while staying there. We felt that the Sports Bar gave the best value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion and suggestions about our Hotel, we will consider all of them to improve our services.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Was nice, initially, to arrive at this hotel after a LONG 80 minute trip from the new Quito airport. However, I was soon uncomfortable with the surroundings, other guests and staff. It was all a little too upscale for me. Some staff were borderline condescending or snobby and one actually sighed audibly when I asked for assistance in the Business Center. The bellboy was almost incompetent when he tried to demonstrate the remote for the curtains and a few other room features – and we had a difficult time getting him to leave. However, the concierge went out of his way to confirm a day tour I had scheduled from home, but was unable to contact upon arrival.
Our room had been upgraded to a suite, which was clean, very comfortable and with tons of amenities, including roses left on the pillows. The view out the window was of a spectacular mountain side, but even on the 9th floor, traffic noise was apparent.
The hotel is across the street from a couple of nice restaurants, but try the Ecuadorian/Mediterranean restaurant in the hotel. I had the BEST soup I have ever had, there – the Brie and Caramelized Onion soup. Don’t miss the “complementary” breakfast buffet. It is the most extensive and delicious collection of breakfast food I have seen at a hotel.
The hotel also has a little mall of shops, with an ATM and reasonably priced café (with delicious French-style breads) on the ground floor. These close early – at 7PM, I believe. If you want to shop for a meal or other items, a LARGE, clean, busy grocery store is only a block down the street.
All the western style hotels are a great distance from the new airport these days, with only one route there. If there is a traffic accident or heavy rain, it can take 90 minutes to cover the distance. In July 2014 a northern route is scheduled to open and the airport transfer time should be improved.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandKLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Staff were very helpful. Excellent location. Great rooms well insulated from noise. However, the Price of a bottle of Evian at the mini bar and to launder a pair of pants are much too high compared to the local economy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 111 in Quito
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
2.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Quito

Property: Swissotel Quito
Address: De Octubre 1820 Ave. & Luis Cordero Street 12 | La Floresta Zone, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Quito
#5 Business Hotel in Quito
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Quito is a luxury hotel conveniently located in the commercial and residential area of Quito. The hotel is within easy access to the Old Town and to the airport. Known as the kindest hotel of Latin America, Swissotel Quito is recognised for the finest service in the city. Six excellent restaurants offer a wide variety of international cuisine. From Mediterranean, Swiss, Japanese and sumptuous buffets, there is menu to suit every taste at Swissôtel Quito. The hotel’s Amrita Spa is the perfect place for relaxation or lively workout. Facilities include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, fitness centre, squash, and racquet and tennis courts. Swissotel Quito offers the largest and most modern convention centre in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Quito Hotel Quito
Swissotel Hotel Quito
Quito Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing