We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and classy hotel”
Review of Swissotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Quito
Ranked #15 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Reputedly the "best hotel in Ecuador" - well, we found this hotel to be of excellent quality on all fronts, Rooms, Service and Food.
My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights b&b. Our first 3 nights were at the beginning of our holiday to Ecuador (and the Galapagos Islands). Our room 901 was quite spacious with twin double beds, free wifi, nice bathroom, mini bar etc, etc. Breakfast could be described as a superior buffet arrangement with a great choice of fruits (some familiar, some not !), breads, cooked selection, yoghurts and cereals. What ever your choice, you were not disappointed.
For dinner, we tried the 'La Locanda' on-site restaurant and found this to be very good and the food well-presented.
On another evening we tried the 'Time Out' sports bar/brasserie and found the menu had plenty of choice (even for vegetarians !!).

Our final night at Swissotel was at the end of our holiday and we had a nice surprise of being upgraded to a Junior suite (on the 9th floor). This suite again had twin double beds, sitting area, bathroom with separate WC, and all the extras you would expect - very nice. Shame it was only for one night !!

Swissotel is an excellent hotel on many levels.

Room Tip: The higher floors at the rear will generally be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcticExplorer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

I was booked into another hotel in Quito which was horrendous, so I checked out and tried the Marriott but they were full, and eventually I found the Swissotel! And thank goodness I did. I was so frazzled by the time I got there at 11pm, they even gave me an upgrade. Fantastic hotel in Quito, wide choice of restaurants, great indoor/outdoor pool, reasonable gym, amazing staff in particular Francisco on reception and Roberto the doorman. This hotel is great for the business or leisure traveler. The rooms are spacious, well equipped, internet is included. The only observation I would make is that the bathrooms are a bit old-fashioned and you still have to clamber into the bath to take a shower. But overall, this hotel is as good as it gets in Quito.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the front, it's quieter (i.e. you don't hear the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertiebertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Swiss hotel in Quito might not be the most modern hotel but it is certainly worth good marks for :
-full blown buffet breakfast ( not just hot water and old bread) is available from 5 am , so if you have to catch an early flight or plan an early start to the volcanoes road you will not leave hungry .
Addition ally the breakfast is Swiss inspired with a fine variety of good breads, pastries , fruits ... Cheese are the weak part , probably because local offering is not so great .
- access for wheel chairs is provided in most parts of the hotel .
- an impressive collection of Chilean born painter Catasse ( Carlos Tapia Sepulveda ) throughout the hotel ; probably the largest private collection of this artist who lived most of his adult life painting in Ecuador .
- a few samples of Guayasamin's paintings , but there you have better go to Guayasamin own places in Quito , where he used to live and work ( including "chapel of mankind") which deserve at least Half a day visit .

What I would improve :
-windows isolation , as the old style single glass panel let in quite a lot of noise from the street .
- the excessively hot temperature from the tap . It is quite dangerous and there is a serious risk of burning oneself ( the hotel has put some signs to escape any responsibility in case of accident with this almost boiling water ...)
- clearer explanations when one arrives on how to use the remote control for the twin curtains ..
- control the number of people from the city who use the gym as their club and therefore make it crowded and sometimes challenging to find a machine available .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LePapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion and suggestions about our Hotel, we will consider all of them to improve our services.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I received amazing service at Swissotel! When our travel agent messed up our trip and gave us incorrect numbers, the concierge found the correct numbers for me, dialed for me, and made sure I had everything I needed. And, the bellhop made sure to ask the taxi drivers how much trips would be ahead of time so I didn't get ripped off.
The room was also great! And dinner was yummy. And the breakfast buffet was fantastic! (They even put it out for our big group at 4 am) I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to going to a lodge in the rainforest and we're lucky enough to be in a junior suite. Room was large with a seating area and on a higher floor. Service was excellent and the breakfast was substantial and having stayed at another hotel in Quito, I feel we were spoilt from a service perspective! It is a bit out of the way from the centre but it comes down to what you want from a hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Penfold13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were made to feel very welcome upon arrival and check in was quick and courteous. Our room was very comfortable and had a nice view over the city. The meals included in our package were very good and served in a lovely room with a great view. All in all a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandbender2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed in the Swissotel in Quito for one night and had no complaints. The staff were very friendly and check-in went smoothly. When we checked out the hotel had no problem storing our luggage until we were ready to depart Quito. The rooms were well appointed and the facilities were nice, though I would have expected a bit more luxurious considering the price people pay to stay here. The location was very central in that we could walk to a local grocery store and in fact we walked all the way into the old town of Quito. If your not a walker though this would probably rate too far. The hotel is located on a busy street, but what street isn't busy in Quito!. Overall this was a nice hotel and I had no complaints. I would definitely considering staying here again, provided I received a good promo deal as I wouldn't pay full price for these accomodations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buggedeyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.8 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#21 of 113 in Quito
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Quito

Address: De Octubre 1820 Ave. & Luis Cordero Street 12 | La Floresta Zone, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Quito
#5 Business Hotel in Quito
#9 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £100 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Quito is a luxury hotel conveniently located in the commercial and residential area of Quito. The hotel is within easy access to the Old Town and to the airport. Known as the kindest hotel of Latin America, Swissotel Quito is recognised for the finest service in the city. Four excellent restaurants offer a wide variety of international cuisine. From Mediterranean, Japanese and sumptuous buffets, there is menu to suit every taste at Swissôtel Quito. The hotel’s Amrita Spa is the perfect place for relaxation or lively workout. Facilities include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, fitness centre, squash, and racquet and tennis courts. Swissotel Quito offers the largest and most modern convention centre in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swissotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Quito Hotel Quito
Swissotel Hotel Quito
Quito Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing