We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent restaurants”
Review of Swissotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Quito
Ranked #15 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Swissotel is in a great location if you want to be in the heart of things. You can walk to the Mariscal Sucre within ten minutes. The restaurant is also home to several very good restaurants. The price is a little on the higher end but it is well worth the extra money. The guest rooms are spacious and comfortable. The spa is excellent and if you charge the massage to your room you get a 20% discount. I will definitely consider staying here again my next trip to Quito.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheatly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed eight nights at the hotel - booked a standard room w/o breakfast and got a lower floor to the back where one can see the volcano, which is nice. However all the noisy air-conditioning units are in the back, including from the restaurants, which is too bad when wanting to open the window a bit and let the air come in. After bringing up the issue, we got a room two floors higher - did not fully resolve the issue ...
Otherwise, the staff was helpful and very courteous - the room on the higher floor was ok for the price
The hotel offers a great choice of restaurants (from Mexican to Swiss cuisine and also has a decent afternoon buffet in the Quito Café, especially good for international travelers whose stomach is not on the same time zone yet).

Room Tip: Definitely book/ask for a room on the back side when staying longer and on higher level (to avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We are very sorry for any inconvenience our discomfort in your stay with us. We will work on this issue so we wont have this problem again. On the other hand, we are glad to hear that our staff was helpful and that you enjoy are restaurants variety.
Hopefully we can host you again if you come back to Quito.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel late into the evening, upon check in our party was greeted with hot towels and refreshing glass of orange juice. The front desk was terrific and a breeze to upgrade to a suite with an amazing view of the Volcano. We left the curtains open all evening to take in the view of the city lights. Loved the room 1007 we had two double beds and had an extra bed rolled in. Even with that bed we still had plenty of room and did not feel overwhelmed with each other. This is truly a terrific hotel and will return when we come back for my cousins wedding. Only draw back was they had to confirm the third occupant at every meal. However, overall this is a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: 1007 is the best I could have asked for. You can activate the A/C with a flip of a switch which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiden35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The stay at swissotel quito is sooo wonderful, the quality of the premises, the roses, the service, the warm attitude of staff. Breakfast buffet is very varied and wih excellent choices. Do not miss the Japanese restaurent with great sushi bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank MIRTA945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Spent two nights here attending a conference in the hotel. While it needs a bit of a face-lift (the décor is very 70-ish) it is comfortable, has very forthcoming service, a decent breakfast that included some Ecuadorean specialities as well as the Birchermüesli required of a Swissôtel, a decent gym (heavily subscribed in the early morning!) and a small heated pool. Wifi was excellent and included in my very reasonable price. Only one criticism: my room, facing the road, suffered a lot of traffic noise. Probably best to choose a room facing away from the main road. Would return for sure.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank EVT-PQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Reputedly the "best hotel in Ecuador" - well, we found this hotel to be of excellent quality on all fronts, Rooms, Service and Food.
My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights b&b. Our first 3 nights were at the beginning of our holiday to Ecuador (and the Galapagos Islands). Our room 901 was quite spacious with twin double beds, free wifi, nice bathroom, mini bar etc, etc. Breakfast could be described as a superior buffet arrangement with a great choice of fruits (some familiar, some not !), breads, cooked selection, yoghurts and cereals. What ever your choice, you were not disappointed.
For dinner, we tried the 'La Locanda' on-site restaurant and found this to be very good and the food well-presented.
On another evening we tried the 'Time Out' sports bar/brasserie and found the menu had plenty of choice (even for vegetarians !!).

Our final night at Swissotel was at the end of our holiday and we had a nice surprise of being upgraded to a Junior suite (on the 9th floor). This suite again had twin double beds, sitting area, bathroom with separate WC, and all the extras you would expect - very nice. Shame it was only for one night !!

Swissotel is an excellent hotel on many levels.

Room Tip: The higher floors at the rear will generally be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcticExplorer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I was booked into another hotel in Quito which was horrendous, so I checked out and tried the Marriott but they were full, and eventually I found the Swissotel! And thank goodness I did. I was so frazzled by the time I got there at 11pm, they even gave me an upgrade. Fantastic hotel in Quito, wide choice of restaurants, great indoor/outdoor pool, reasonable gym, amazing staff in particular Francisco on reception and Roberto the doorman. This hotel is great for the business or leisure traveler. The rooms are spacious, well equipped, internet is included. The only observation I would make is that the bathrooms are a bit old-fashioned and you still have to clamber into the bath to take a shower. But overall, this hotel is as good as it gets in Quito.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the front, it's quieter (i.e. you don't hear the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertiebertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.8 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#22 of 116 in Quito
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#8 of 116 in Quito
570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#18 of 116 in Quito
801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Quito

Address: De Octubre 1820 Ave. & Luis Cordero Street 12 | La Floresta Zone, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Quito
#5 Business Hotel in Quito
#9 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £91 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Quito is a luxury hotel conveniently located in the commercial and residential area of Quito. The hotel is within easy access to the Old Town and to the airport. Known as the kindest hotel of Latin America, Swissotel Quito is recognised for the finest service in the city. Four excellent restaurants offer a wide variety of international cuisine. From Mediterranean, Japanese and sumptuous buffets, there is menu to suit every taste at Swissôtel Quito. The hotel’s Amrita Spa is the perfect place for relaxation or lively workout. Facilities include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, fitness centre, squash, and racquet and tennis courts. Swissotel Quito offers the largest and most modern convention centre in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swissotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Quito Hotel Quito
Swissotel Hotel Quito
Quito Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing