We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great views”
Review of Swissotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Quito
Ranked #11 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great views”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrived in Quito late at night and were pleased to have been upgraded to the executive floor. The room was spacious and very clean. Woke to great views over the Andes and a substantial breakfast spread. Staff very helpful. Close to supermarket and shopping area and a number of nice restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Higher floors better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfnut3977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director Comercial at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest


Thank you for your comments, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Come back soon.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    288
    64
    30
    25
See reviews for
124
241
55
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great breakfast buffet! Do not use their ATM machine. Something is wrong with it. I entered my pin and the amount but didn't give me my money. I thought the machine was broken, however the funds were taken out of my account. I flew back to the US and call the hotel. They claim no responsibility and made me wait a long time to transfer me to the "security department".

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director Comercial at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Jade

It´s sad to know that you had this problem in our hotel, we know the discomfort this must cause.

However, Swissotel has no responsibility to internal cash machines but we apologize for this bad experience.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

First off, we had to request many keys to our room for every time we left, the key would not work when we returned. Our daughter came with us, we requested her a private room and they put her on another floor, not on ours which was VERY inconvenient for us, for she was on the 8th floor and we were on the seventh. It was unknowing at the time that we could not get to her room at all. I do not like the key system in the hotel. Sorry
Also, one of the main reason we wanted to stay there was for the Swiss Restaurant on property which said on the menu they served several cheese dishes naming one our daughter loved on our trip to Switzerland. When we got there, the restaurant was CLOSED! VERY disappointing for her and us too. We so looked forward to a little "Switzerland" in Quito which did not happen at all in this hotel! There's nothing Swiss about this hotel!
We ordered room service late one night and it was so good! Very friendly personal that delivered it so late at night.
Nice rooms, nice bathroom facilities, very friendly staff, concierges were very helpful with arranging tours, places to eat out side the hotel, just all types of information. I did not like that you could not purchase stamps at the desk. We had to rely on the shops in the hotel and they were not open at the times available to us. Our tours started at 9AM and were not over until late in the day.
Our view from our room was delightful. It really gave you an idea of the layout of Quito. We could walk easily to a nice grocery store, shops, restaurants, and a nice cultural market just a block away. One of the best "hands on" markets we came across on our visit.
All in all, the hotel was very nice. Just a few complaints, sorry. We were only here for 2 nights so maybe we did not give this place a chance to prove itself.

Room Tip: I would stay here again but might check around to see if there is another hotel with a little more S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Nancy


Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your opinion.

We are very sorry because our Swiss Restaurant Les Alpes was closed, we were making some repairs on your visit. Probably some day you can come back and try our swiss menu.

Also we will work on our key room system to give our guests a best service.

Has been a pleasure to serve you.




Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
573 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Though we stayed here because of a business trip, this proved to be a convenient location for us for local sight seeing and shopping also. We had a third floor suite with a great bed, though we could here the street noise some. Would think that could be avoided on higher floor. Staff throughout hotel was attentive and friendly. The breakfast buffet is one of the best we've experienced with a wide variety of hot choices, including made to order eggs, plus many cold choices like meats, cheeses, breads, fresh fruits, yogurts, etc. Try the hot chocolate here: it's excellent!
There are some nice, higher quality local shops within the hotel. Grocery store around the corner. Many restaurants on sight and within walking distance. Washington open markets about 10 blocks away, as well as a cultural museum and park.

Room Tip: I'm assuming less noticeable street noise on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director Comercial at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your opinion to keep giving our guests the best service.

It has been a pleasure serving you.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

i highly recommend swissotel. the staff is so nice and helpful, when you ask for something it is always yes. i really enjoyed my stay here in quito here thanks to swissotel after a terrible stay at marriott. the room is very good and i was upgraded for 1 stay in apartment which was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director Comercial at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Louis


Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your opinion.

Its has been pleasure serving you. Come back soon!


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This MAY not be a ritzy hotel, but it's a GEM.
This location was close to everything I needed.

The staff is awesome, courteous and professional. The language wasn't a barrier nor did it create one.

US currency accepted - lots of US coins available.

May less for a whole lot more, and then some.
Variety of food offered was resort-style - main course; salads; cheese & fruits; desserts.

We stayed at the E Level and Fernando V. was exceptional. His knowledge and helpfulness was handy for me while I was trying to visit everything under the sun.

Room Tip: I liked the higher level floors because they were quieter with a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirlanne_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director Comercial at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Shirlanne


Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your opinion.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons Bc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here two nights when we arrived in Ecuador and one night after a Galapagos visit. The hotel was clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfasts were wonderful. Hotel staff was great, especially after our final day and we returned to the lobby in the evening for an airport pickup for a midnight flight and our tour operator never showed. Staff made calls to the tour operator and explained our predicament in Spanish. Fortunately we could print a boarding pass so that the tour operator couldn't argue times. In the end, the hotel staff arranged a taxi, and thanks to their help we caught our flight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripster08_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director Comercial at Swissotel Quito, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest

It has been a pleasure helping you, we hope you come back soon.


Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 114 in Quito
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
2.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Quito

Property: Swissotel Quito
Address: De Octubre 1820 Ave. & Luis Cordero Street 12 | La Floresta Zone, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Quito
#9 Spa Hotel in Quito
#11 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Quito is a luxury hotel conveniently located in the commercial and residential area of Quito. The hotel is within easy access to the Old Town and to the airport. Known as the kindest hotel of Latin America, Swissotel Quito is recognised for the finest service in the city. Six excellent restaurants offer a wide variety of international cuisine. From Mediterranean, Swiss, Japanese and sumptuous buffets, there is menu to suit every taste at Swissôtel Quito. The hotel’s Amrita Spa is the perfect place for relaxation or lively workout. Facilities include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, fitness centre, squash, and racquet and tennis courts. Swissotel Quito offers the largest and most modern convention centre in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Quito Hotel Quito
Swissotel Hotel Quito
Quito Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing