We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two separate stay, two separate experiences”
Review of Hilton Colon Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Colon Quito
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Two separate stay, two separate experiences”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Both stays were good. The first one was apparently an upgraded room as we had bathrobes, slippers, a jacuzzi tub, a desk, and two plasma screen tv's! Totally felt spoiled and pampered. The second stay was at the end of our trip and we were looking forward to another great room and ended up with a normal hotel room. The only complaint was that the restroom didn't smell very good at all. Not sure if it was a water problem or something lingering from a previous guest. Restaurant food was decent. Beds are very nice and comfortable. The doormen and concierge were extremely nice. The staff at the main desk are hit and miss as far as helpfulness. My best advice if you want internet is to ask for a "receipt for an internet day pass" otherwise they will try to sell you 30 minutes for $3. The receipt they give you is good for one day for one device. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    504
    171
    62
    33
See reviews for
194
423
122
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here on two occasions and found it to be comfortable with the staff helpful and almost everything to normal western standards.

What was disappointing was the lack of attention to details which I've unfortunately seen at other hiltons before. While staff quickly fixed the problems, it's disappointing to see basic checks being missed or incorrect info being provided like:
- downlights hanging loose in the bathroom
- newspapers not being delivered as requested
- signs in hotels pointing to the wrong direction for rooms
- televisions not working in rooms
- dirty coffee cups and juices being left lying in open areas for hours at a time
- staff charging for Internet access when it was complimentary

That said, the buffet was good, hot water was plenty and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our trip to Galapagos. The hotel is well located, clean and really nice. The massage at the spa was great and reasonable. Our room was really nice and had a fantastic view! The front desk was also so helpful with everything.
The concierge , Carlos was wonderful. He made great recommendations for dining. He even when with me to retrieve my Visa card that I left at the pharmacy across the street.

Jorge , the other concierge was terrible, quite an attitude !!! He sent us to a restaurant for lunch that was closed! He really should not be dealing with people because he seems to hate it.
Food in the hotel was ok not great. The buffets are well stocked and that is the way to go.

Room Tip: Carlos is the guy! Avoid Jorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LagunaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Hilton Colon for 6 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room, location, amenities and staff were all that you would expect from this hotel chain.

Unfortunatley I had some issues when trying to check out. After arriving back home I found out that my credit card had been cloned in Ecuador. As I only used my card in this hotel, I have reason to believe that the card was copied for other purposes during this time at the reception.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We made four separate stops at the Hilton Colon whilst commuting between The Galapagos, The Amazon and the mountains. On each visit we were warmly welcomed, all our questions answered and the same level of hospitality and regard was given, no matter how grubby or travel-weary we were. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is everything you need for your stay. The trip we were involved with (INCA) included additional access to the hallowed 17th Floor where there was internet access and free snacks and drinks.
The Hilton is very well placed for local amenities, the local market, cash machines, pharmacy and taxis. The staff care enough about guests' inexperience enough to advise on sensible safety around the city.
Thank you to all staff and management for making our visits a good experience.

Room Tip: High up is good, although sound-proofing seems effective at all levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestasever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Misinformation by the concierge put a damper on our stay. The rooms here are clean and decently sized, but our stay was marred by misinformation from the concierge. Just a couple of examples should suffice. There is a bazaar selling local products in the park across the street from the hotel. We inquired whether that bazaar was open every day; the response was that it was. Instead, we learned it is only open on weekends. Another instance-we took a taxi to the Telegraphique (a wonderful excursion by the way, but note that you are going to be traveling up to 13,500 feet). We were told that we would not have a problem getting a cab; we had a big problem and finally, contrary to all advice about Quito, hired a car that had no taxi labels whatever, because there seemed to be no other way to get back. . All worked well- but it would have been easy to ask the first cab to wait- $10 per hour- had we not been misadvised by the hotel. Incidentally at other hotels when we try to travel to a considerably higher altitude, the concierge has warned us about the medical issues involved; that was not done here. Finally, when we asked about the Casa de la Cultura which is within two blocks of the hotel, the concierge needed to check about it on the internet and, after giving us misinformation, ran down the street to correct his error.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,819 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 928 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Spent four nights here earlier this month before a trip to the Galapagos. Nice location next to the park in New Town. Easy access by $0.25 bus to Old Town for sightseeing. Safe area, lots of restaurants nearby in variety of price ranges.

Welcomed at check-in and was in room on executive level within a few minutes. Nicely appointed with bathrobe, coffee maker, upscale toiletries, and three bottles of water.

Executive level has complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres + alcoholic beverages. Attentive and helpful staff. If you're Gold/Diamond you can check in on 17th Floor before 8pm.

Last visit (Dec 2009) received fruit plate in room upon arrival; this time it was missing. Not sure if it was overlooked, but Diamond status hasn't changed.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park for views of Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.6 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#17 of 111 in Quito
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colon Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colon Quito

Property: Hilton Colon Quito
Address: Avenida Amazonas N19-14 | and Patria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Quito
#9 Family Hotel in Quito
#10 Business Hotel in Quito
#11 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Colon Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Quito, the capital of Ecuador, the Hilton Colon is only 15 minutes away from Mariscal Sucre International Airport, and is surrounded by cultural, tourist, commercial and financial centers. Our excellent location is only minutes away from the old Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Colon Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colon Quito Hotel Quito
Hilton Hotel Quito
Hilton Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing