We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hilton Colon Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Colon Quito
Ranked #20 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It is an older, but well kept hotel. Nice rooms. Gorgeous view. My father and I enjoyed our stay there.
Walking distance to some shopping and restaurants. Lots of international tourists can be found in the area. Accessible to taxis, but if you are trying to save some money, don't take one at the door of the hotel. If money is not an issue, ask the concierge to get you one.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelmayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColonQuito, Director Comercial at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

On behalf of Hilton Quito, we would like to thank you for your kind review. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.
As you may know, taxis arranged by the hotel can be more expensive but it assures us that they are safe and well equipped.
Thanks again for your comment, it will help us to improve our service.

Greetings from latitud 0°
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    487
    166
    61
    31
See reviews for
189
409
119
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here on Hilton points (Diamond status), but still had to pay minimum for upgrade ($33night) for upgrade to junior suite, which was similar to studio. $33 night for this room was a great deal, full view of city with mountains as backdrop, partitioned sitting area with giant desk, huge bathroom with whirlpool tub plus an extra 1/2 bath. Housekeeping staff was attentive and friendly. Concierges were also knowledgeable and helpful and terrific. Room service was good. Carlos (concierge) arranged a taxi to take us to Panecillo and then to the equator sites for $60 for the whole afternoon--a great deal and efficient way to cover these two landmarks. Front desk staff was responsive but not as enthusiastic as concierge. Gym was better than most hotel gyms with dry and wet saunas (not fancy, but working nonetheless). Executive lounge (Hilton Honors privilege) was a bonus for breakfast and espresso in the am; we didn't go any other time but could have. ONLY complaint is that the service in the Colon Cafe is non-existent and abysmal when present. Food there was fine once staff receives your order and once your food arrives, but the service was really not worth the wait or hassled. Overall, a great experience. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was called junior suite and was located in the executive tower. The executive tower was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebunnyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColonQuito, Director Comercial at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir,
On behalf of Hilton Quito, we would like to thank you for your kind review. We are greatfull that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to pass your suggestions to our staff in order to improve our service. They will feel motivated even more.
Thanks again for choosing Hilton Quito during your stay in our city.

Greetings from latitud 0°,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
257 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Colon has a very good location at the edge of Mariscal and only a short walk from old town. The hotel staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms spacious and well appointed with large comfortable beds, independent climate control and etc. At night the TV has numerous channels in English with Spanish subtitles. TV also has a wide selection of music channels to select from. Unless you are a big fan of breakfast I would not recommend the buffet. While it is very good the price is fairly high. A deli (Sal and Pimento) is associated with the hotel and has plenty of breakfast options

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColonQuito, Director Comercial at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. Due to the excellence of our gastronomy we have 6 different restaurants in the Hotel, the main restaurant is Café Colón with a wide variety of food and a great expossure of national and international food along the buffet. We can also offer other options like La Pinta, Kioto and Sal y Pimienta Deli.
Thanks again for choosing Hilton Quito.

Greetings from latitud 0°
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have been focusing my reviews on hotel gyms since I like to exercise off hours no matter I am at home or not. The gym from Hilton Colón Quito is a pretty standard one in comparison to other hotel gyms of same or lower cathegories. Aerobics apparel is of good quantity but that gym lacks variety and quantity of muscle building sets. Also, the area of the gym is small to accommodate the number of guests. As of the hotel in general, you will find everything characteristic to a Hilton house: very good food, comfortable accomodation and gentle staff. Breakfast served in Café Colón offers from standard fruit/bread/cold cuts and coffee to a variety of traditional Ecuatorian dishes. One might think it is weird to offer ceviche at breakfast but it is there if you feel like eating raw fish in the first hours of the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmami2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColonQuito, Director Comercial at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of Hilton Quito we would like to thank you for your kind review. We are grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Since we improve the gym equippment every year, we are taking note of your suggestions.

Thanks again for choosing Hilton Quito. We will be happy to be your host in your next stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights before, and 2 after, a trip to the Galapagos. Room was excellent, and staff courteous & helpful (even though we speak zero Spanish). Conveniently located (ie, inexpensive taxis to most areas) and taxis we hailed on the street all knew where "Hilton Colon" was for the return. 3 taxis to/from airport were $30 each - trip took ~35mins at midnight, but ~90-120mins when traffic was heavy (pretty much all other times). Hotel dining was pricey (fairly consistent with Hilton's around the world), at least compared to nearby restaurants. Only needed 20,000 Hilton Honors points per night - better $/point rate than most Hiltons. Do yourself a favor and ask the concierge about travel, including what/where/when is safe in the city. They arranged an English-speaking private driver/guide for the day (reserve early) and he drove us wherever we wanted ($140 for ~10 hours). Finally, my wife was ill on our last day, and staff was able and willing to give us a late checkout - GREATLY appreciated, making what would have been a miserable day into a bearable one. We were very happy we stayed there - thank you!

Room Tip: High floor (we were on 14th) in south side of tower gives great views overlooking a park and the his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astro-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColonQuito, Director Comercial at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of Hilton Quito, we would like to thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you had a lovely stayed with us. I will make sure to pass your comment to our staff, it will help to motivate them even more.
We hope your wife is getting better and that you both had a safe trip back home.
Feel welcome to Hilton, every time you come back to Quito.

Greetings from latitud 0°,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed on and off over a three week stay, while visiting the galapagos and a lodge in the amazon rain forest. Although we stayed on the first class yaugt jose, it was still lovely to return to the comfort and security of this Hilton hotel. Quito changes considerably after dark and did not feel so safe. Being in the comfort and safety of the Hilton was a good choice.in particular, after e basic conditions of a rainforest lodge, the hotel felt amazingly civilised!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTriptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColonQuito, Director Comercial at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

On behalf of Hilton Quito, we would like to thank you for your kind review. We are grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our commitment is to provide a confortable place to all our guests.

Thanks again and feel welcome to Hilton Quito every time you will come back to the city.

Greetings from latitud 0°
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The quality of this hotel is great. We found it super easy & affordable to get a taxi to/from the airport & tourist areas. The front desk staff were nice and very helpful if we had a question. One person in my group dropped their mobile phone in the elevator and it fell down the shaft...they quickly retrieved the phone without any fuss which we REALLY appreciated!! We briefly used a conference room for a meeting with G Adventures and I found that the facilities were very clean and well presented. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank churst214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#11 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colon Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colon Quito

Property: Hilton Colon Quito
Address: Avenida Amazonas N19-14 y Patria | Amazonas Av. N19-14 and Patria street, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Quito
#9 Family Hotel in Quito
#10 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#10 Business Hotel in Quito
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Colon Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Quito, the capital of Ecuador, the Hilton Colon is only 15 minutes away from Mariscal Sucre International Airport, and is surrounded by cultural, tourist, commercial and financial centers. Our excellent location is only minutes away from the old Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Colon Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colon Quito Hotel Quito
Hilton Hotel Quito
Hilton Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing