We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our weekend trip”
Review of Hotel Rio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Ranked #30 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for our weekend trip”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel was exactly what we wanted. Friendly, helpful staff, good restaurant, and a clean comfortable room. The staff was also very knowledgeable about local destinations, and having a travel agent right beside the lobby made it that much easier. I would definitely stay here again. Close to downtown and many shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffAllen105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 5 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, we guarantee our commitment in improving day in and day out our quality service and infrastructure in order to achieve the highest quality standards that this city can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    121
    49
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
63
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, centrally located. Breakfast was included which help to start the day. If you do not mind walking there are several sites to visit. Lots of restaurants around to sample. Word of caution, watch your valuables when walking around at night. One of our party had their phone lifted one evening. Not the hotels fault, as you would visiting any city, be aware of your surroundings.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lik2div
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rlecaros, Manager at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your visit to our Hotel, we are sorry that you had a bad experience when walking on the city. We try to talk to all our guests to make sure that they know the safests and most consurred places to walk. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 night prior to a Galápagos tour. I believe it's upscale for the area. Stag were ok, not super friendly but spoke decent English. The air con in our room didn't work too well but we couldn't be bothered to ask for help as we weren't in the room much, showers were over the bath and water pressure was so so but it was hot so I was happy. Wifi for free and big rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redribbons112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rlecaros, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are trying very hard day in and day out to change the coorporate image of the hotel, as big change this takes sometime. we thank you for your pacience and hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here in April. The staff are mostly young and helpful, brilliant at reading maps inside down! Rooms have large single beds or large doubles. Size of room varies so check when making a booking. All rooms have a safe for valuables. Breakfast was extensive. There are roses everywhere ( they cast a dollar a bloom, apparently ) the restaurant I wouldn't recommend for an evening meal. There are other good eateries nearby.

Room Tip: Check first as rooms vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank april f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 2 February 2016
Google Translation
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is a decent hotel for tourists and even for business travelers. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean. The only thing that seriously bothered me was the excessive security with their wireless network. On my IPhone I had to enter the password on a special web-site every single time in order to connect. This does not make sense. Other than that it was ok. Beware, the area around the hotel can get noisy at night. Location is good if you want to visit La Mariscal, the tourist district of Quito, otherwise known as gringolandia.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_3713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 2 February 2016
Google Translation
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Nothing spectacular here. Probably when the old airport was operating, this would have been a good location. Now it is quite noisy, but interior rooms are quieter. Room was clean and A/C somewhat worked. Hot shower in the morning which can be a bit of a luxury item in the parts of Ecuador we visited. For the money, in this part of town, there isn't much else to compete with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 2 February 2016
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a group as our original hotel was fully booked. Really great rooms, with, tv and wifi. Food was great, breakfast buffet was open until 1030 so could get a lay in too!!! It's a short walk to the nightlife and restaurants. Never felt threatened when drinking and the local people were amazing in the bars. Also a short walk to parks with traditional markets, so an ideal place to stay.
We also came back here as was one of the only hotels to let you walk straight to a room late at night, only trouble expensive for people travelling, but came in for me in an emergency.

Staff were excellent and helped lots with booking taxis and city attractions, great place to stay

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 2 February 2016
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 112 in Quito
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 112 in Quito
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#33 of 112 in Quito
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#17 of 112 in Quito
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Zen
Best Western Hotel Zen
#24 of 112 in Quito
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Amazonas

Property: Hotel Rio Amazonas
Address: Cordero 1342 & Ave. Amazonas, Quito 170517, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Amazonas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best and most centric area of the city, The Hotel Rio Amazonas is the best option for lodging. be it that you are traveling for business of pleasure we are alwasy here to serve you. Visit our property that through constant remodeling promotes smart environmental safety practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Amazonas Internacional Quito
Rio Amazonas Internacional Hotel
Hotel Rio Amazonas Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing