We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Basic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Rio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Ranked #28 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Good Basic Hotel”
Reviewed 5 September 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Rio Amazonas before and after our trip to the Galapagos. We found the staff to be very helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable.
Nice touches were the bathrooms, safe in the room, the full cable service on TV and free Internet service in the lobby. They stored our extra luggage at no charge while we were on our trip. The breakfast in the "Canoa" attached to the hotel was limited, but tasty.
This hotel is certainly in the centre of the action and can be a bit noisy as the week-end approaches but we felt the experience was more authentic than one of the American chain hotels with out enduring too much culture shock.
We had no problems with the taxis that the hotel staff called for us.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The Noise
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank D60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 13 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and review, we will take these into concideration for our future guests satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    120
    49
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
63
30
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We stayed here in Nov 2006. Hotel is nice, business class hotel. Clean efficient. Amazing breakfast in the restaurant next door and always cookies/coffee/tea in the lobby.

Rooms were clean, and fairly "American style". Tvs, large beds, bathrooms with shampoo etc. Lobby staff were helpful and took messages for us regarding our tours etc (we were going to Galapagos).

But the noise at night... You'd have to be a pretty sound sleeper. We tried two rooms, one at the back and one at the front. The back has the nightclubs from a popular party street. The front has the road noise and taxis. We actually found the front alittle bit better. This could all be fixed with better windows.

Location was good. We enjoyed walking the streets and even walked into the historic district (maybe 40 minute walk). There is an absolutely awesome little Indian restaurant a few doors down. We had the most delicious meals for about $3 and and maybe $1 more for "the big beer" Ecuadorian Pilsener. Spices are Indian style, so the vindaloo is super hot.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 19 May 2016
Thank you for your comments.

we will make sure to get everything fixed for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2007

This is a nice hotel I used for several days in Quito on part of a Galapagos trip. Hotel is clean, with nice employees in, from what I could tell, a safe part of town. Only problem I had was that 100% of the time when I use the yellow taxis parked outside the lobby I was overcharged. If you need a taxi just walk 50 feet to the corner and hail one on the street and for some reason the fare (meter on or not) will be much lower.
There are dozens of tour offices and travel agencies within a block of the hotel to help you book day trips to places like the Otavalo market, Cotopaxi volcano or to the Galapagos islands.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Taxi ripoff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Moonpieh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 5 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, we guarantee our commitment in improving day in and day out our quality service and infrastructure in order to achieve the highest quality standards that this city can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2007

We had two nights stay and the standard of room and service in the hotel was good. However, there is a night club either in or next to the hotel from which the sound of music (?) was extremely loud and went on both nights until 3.00am. I was kept awake until it stopped. For that reason alone I would not wish to stay there again.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Arnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 5 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, we guarantee our commitment in improving day in and day out our quality service and infrastructure in order to achieve the highest quality standards that this city can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2006

This is in my view THE place to stay in Quito. I was staying at the Hilton because LP guidebooks said the Hilton was in the center of everything. Well it is not. This hotel is! It is right at the foot of the street where all the cool restaurants, discos, internet cafes are located. It is only about two km from the Hilton but after dark the street connection the two becomes no mans land and you cannot walk it. At the hotel Amazonias you can walk literally across the street and you are on a crowded street full of nightlife which goes to the wee hours of the evening. I loved it because it was so convenient. However, since it is in the middle of everything it can be a bit noisy in you room at night but if you wan peace and quiet go to the Hilton where you may get more quiet. Everything in the hotel was three star. The service was good and I have absolutely no complaints about the place. I would highly recommend it. PS. It is about half the price of the Hilton too.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — No complaints at all.
  • Tips/Secrets — Down the street there is a custom boot maker where for $85 you can get custom riding, cowboy boots made which would cost you $2,000 in the US.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Taniquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this review, 5 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, we guarantee our commitment in improving day in and day out our quality service and infrastructure in order to achieve the highest quality standards that this city can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.1 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#33 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#15 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Amazonas

Property: Hotel Rio Amazonas
Address: Cordero 1342 & Ave. Amazonas, Quito 170517, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Amazonas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best and most centric area of the city, The Hotel Rio Amazonas is the best option for lodging. be it that you are traveling for business of pleasure we are alwasy here to serve you. Visit our property that through constant remodeling promotes smart environmental safety practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Amazonas Internacional Quito
Rio Amazonas Internacional Hotel
Hotel Rio Amazonas Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing