We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Los Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Alpes
Ranked #61 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were there July 2012

It calls itself a hostel but it isn't. It's a nice bed and breakfast. Large rooms, very clean, a nice communal sitting area. Close enough to work to the old town and the sqaure with the bars and restaurants at night.

Not cheap but definately value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radley322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    47
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
47
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This family that runs this place is very nice ad helpful, without being intrusive. There was a very attractive young guy working there one morning. It has a cozy feeling and felt safe. The rooms could use some renovation and, bathrooms should be cleaner. There was no shower head, just water dripping out. I wish they'd have better breakfast options than scrambled eggs and white toast. They gave a 10% discount for paying cash and took a few more dollars off, but I think it's overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trebex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

In the first week of January 2012, I spent 4 nights at this quaint little hotel right in the heart of the city of Quito. The prices were very reasonable, the owners and help were very helpful and understanding, and the decor was pretty eclectic. Soon after arriving, I felt very comfortable sitting in the lounge by the fire, and asking the desk help for tips about the town. My Spanish language skills are muy mal, but they all spoke very intelligible English. Getting a taxi to anywhere in Quito is easy from here (and amazingly cheap - do not rent a car), and you are just a short walk from the amazing "Park of Little Trees", Cultural Museum, and several restaurants. The rooms were clean, historic looking, but could use a little updating. For me, they were just fine (Istayed twice in two different rooms).

It's not the Ritz, but it's comfortable, friendly, reasonable, and a safe haven. Overall I'd give it 3.5 stars, but that wasn't an option.

Room Tip: The front rooms on the street give you a good vantage point to watch the comings and going of the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesoundguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Nicely-located, friendly folks, great service, but I was not impressed with the room. The carpet and bathroom have not been updated in a very, very long time. The cleanliness aspects were lacking.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just returned from Quito. This hostal is in good location closed to Police station so always felt safe and lot of restaurants in walking distant. This place ( a house converted to hostal) was clean, well decor, comfortable and everyone that works there was really nice, friendly and helpful. Good hot shower and free hot breakfast (serve from 7am to 9am) and free 2 water bottles in room. There was no heater but the room was never really cold at night so provided blankets kept us comfy and no problem sleeping. We got a good quiet night sleeping. Can get wake up call and taxi to airport. Only thing was now the nearby was a new construction of higher building which in the future will block a good view of mountains from the room. But with their hospitality, location and reasonable price will return in the future.

Room Tip: You can ask them to show every available room before pick one..it's no problem with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooloffanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The decor is fairly weird however the hotel has anything one may need.
ONly reason not giving 5 stars is that we were promised a breakfast in the morning but only received some toast and tea because we had an early flight out of quito.
Also a bit pricey for what it is.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank omegakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2011

A rambling place with lots of photos, statues, etc. Our party of 5 was given plenty of space, and we left luggage there while we took a side trip. The owners were helpful and friendly. We ate at their restaurant one night, and it was not the cheapest meal we had in Quito, but it was the best. One thing to note: the nights get cool, but not cold, so few places turn on the heat. If you want warmth without the weight of wool blankets, bring your own down throw. This is true of a few places we stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms off the front street will probably be a little warmer, and quieter on some nights, but the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cartuja
Hotel La Cartuja
#42 of 112 in Quito
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#56 of 112 in Quito
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barnard Hotel
Barnard Hotel
#41 of 112 in Quito
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tambo Real Hotel
Tambo Real Hotel
#57 of 112 in Quito
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 6 De Diciembre
Hotel 6 De Diciembre
#78 of 112 in Quito
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Alpes

Property: Los Alpes
Address: Tamayo 233 y Jorge Washington, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Alpes has been providing a warm welcome in the heart of Quito for thirty years. The hotel is in an excellent location for tourists and business travellers alike. Breakfast is included and there is free access to the internet using the hotel's computers as well as by a wireless connection. All rooms have a television and a telephone as well as an en-suite bathroom or shower. The communal areas include a sunny balcony with views across the city and a seating area next to the restaurant where our guests can warm themselves by a real fire in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Alpes Quito
Los Alpes Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing