We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favour hotels”
Review of Los Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Alpes
Ranked #62 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I had feeling like I was at home, not hotel. The people were very nice and friendly with the smile always. I love all of stuffs inside that hotel. They looked very cute and Ecuadorian: paintings, classical small clocks, dishes on the wall, fireplace.....many many things. The position is also good. Just takes some minutes to walk to the park and market.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tran_Thuy144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great find! Excellent location. Reasonably priced. The staff were ready to find us taxis, restaurants and directions. No restaurant though, no fitness area, no pool. Much more homey than the nearby Hilton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Los Alpes is a friendly little hotel a few blocks from the artisans market. There's plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a very inexpensive 2-hour full-service laundry a couple of blocks away. The staff is friendly and helpful and the lobby looked very comfortable. The rooms are old but have a lot of character. We asked for a four-bedder which turned out to be a two-bedroom suite and therefore very good value. There's a huge collection of curios and antiques (starting from the piano, telephone switchboard and cash register in the lobby) that we loved, but could be overwhelming to some.

Overall, would recommend the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashok-Seenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a nice and quiet hotel. Their owners are very helpful and accommodating. The house is like a grandmother Latin-American house, full of antiques and wood furniture. All the rooms that I slept in were comfortable (I stayed a coupe of times within the same trip), good hot water. The last floor rooms do not get good wifi connection. The breakfast was simple, eggs, toasts, coffee or tea, and juice; but it was nice.
Overall the hotel was very quiet, you can get good night sleep.
It is not a fancy hotel but it is really clean and I felt like home. Would come back again,

Room Tip: The last floor rooms do not get good wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This family-run hotel has been meticulously decorated with tons of knick-knacks and interesting items. Located in what must have once been an old stately home, it has the feel of a bed and breakfast, with plenty of common areas and deep sofas to relax in. The service was wonderful, and the breakfast (included in the price) was good. The location is excellent, and it's within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and sights. The rooms were large and comfortable, although it's probably been a while since the amenities were updated. So if you want a luxury experience, this wouldn't be the place for you...but if you want to feel like you're staying in Quito with old friends or long-lost family, this is an excellent choice!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank MzunguWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights (couple). Good location but over priced. Friendly staff & good breakfast. Room clean although cracked bathroom tiles & sink plus many insects in towels and small bathroom. However, at checkout a further 30% added to our bill which we'd paid via hotel.com website in advance - adding this in, expensive for our budget. $60+ taxes; for that price could have got nicer facilities!!! (esp. considering we paid just $12 at a guesthouse at our next destination)

Room Tip: Ask to see it first & check bathroom as well as the towels and laundry!!! After finding insects...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The hotel staff is friendly and the price seemed to be average for Quito (which seems on the expensive side).

When you walk through the door you see lots of curios and knick-knacks with an open fire and a bar area. The disappointment started as we set foot on the stairs and tripped over the carpet which seemed to be more than 20 years old. This impression extended to our room where the matress, sheets, towels and bathroom tiling were also of a similar vintage. The floor boards squeaked, the shower dribbled and the electrics were not the safest and there was building work going on next door (which they could have warned us about). To be fair I have to say the room was quite a good size and clean and the hotel was convenient for the Mariscal but only during the day. After dark you have to take a taxi everywhere.

I am surprised that they are still charging this sort of money for this accommodation. It seems as if the hotel was once very unique and had a serious attraction value but it seems like nothing has been renewed for 20 years yet they still think they can charge a higher price for something that once was. To offer a comparison, we stayed at the Eugenia hotel for almost the same price and things were cleaner, more amenities, up-to-date, more professional - ie a different class altogether. I therefore question whether this hotel is charging the right price hence the two stars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cartuja
Hotel La Cartuja
#46 of 113 in Quito
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#10 of 113 in Quito
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Art Hotel Silberstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#61 of 113 in Quito
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 113 in Quito
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#43 of 113 in Quito
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Alpes

Address: Tamayo 233 y Jorge Washington, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £48 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Alpes has been providing a warm welcome in the heart of Quito for thirty years. The hotel is in an excellent location for tourists and business travellers alike. Breakfast is included and there is free access to the internet using the hotel's computers as well as by a wireless connection. All rooms have a television and a telephone as well as an en-suite bathroom or shower. The communal areas include a sunny balcony with views across the city and a seating area next to the restaurant where our guests can warm themselves by a real fire in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Alpes Quito
Los Alpes Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing