We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good option in Quito”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good option in Quito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Even knowing it's a little bit expensive, it's worth because it's situated in one of the best areas of Quito. You can walk surrounding the hotel (you'll have to take care of your belongings) and there are several restaurants and shopping centers, and just a few minutes walking from the hotel you can find a park where you can joggin.
Rooms are big and the installations are very good, there are a gym and a swimming pool on the top floor. The breakfast is very good, according to the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlamoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    210
    61
    22
    24
See reviews for
57
103
26
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel, after several days with a host family, we thought we were in heaven. It appeared we had to use valet parking, but we were not told there was a charge until later (it is $2 every time youpark your car). PLEASE TAKE NOTE: the entrance to self-parking is on luxembourgo, around the corner, and it is FREE! Check-in was at regular slow quito pace, but there was no mention of recommendations for dining, hours for restaurants, spa, pool, etc. The room was full of luxurious furniture and a comfortable bed. There was also a nice shower with hot water. At around 9:30, not that late, we asked the front desk girl for recommendations for dinner. She told us only fast food was open. FYI- we found a great restaurant, La Rustica, right around the corner, but she was absolutely clueless. We returned to rest in our nice room. However, that night, we realized there was no air conditioning, so we opened the windows only to allow tremendous amounts of cigarette smoke into the room, and not much cool air.

The next day around 5:30 in the evening on a Friday, we went to go swimming in the hotel pool and asked the front desk girl (same girl- we should've known!) who said the pool closes at 5:30. Today, when we went to the pool and the hours posted are mon-fri until 9:30, Saturday until 7:30, and Sunday until 4. No idea if they closed the pool for semana santa or Good Friday or if the girl was just again clueless, but either way, no explanation at the front desk. The pool itself was dirty (you need a swimming cap by the way or you will be kicked out of the pool as I was. they do sell them, but it is quite a racket!) and the jacuzzi smelled quite bad. There was gum on the patio, along with dirt and thrown away band-aids.

In the room, there was also no book with hotel info, no restaurant guide, no spa hours, etc. Lastly, we asked for no wake up call, and on the first day there, the only morning we could sleep in, the phone rang with an automated wake up call. We unplugged the phone every night afterwards. Also, the hotel cleaning service knocks very loudly beginning at 8am, so even if your "do not disturb" sign is on your door, you WILL hear the knocks on other doors. I do not recommend this hotel.

As for recommendations for the hotel itself, get some smarter people at the desk. I speak Spanish, so that was not the issue. And post hours of the pool and gym in each room. You might also consider putting a list of good restaurants in the area in a binder in each room. Not everyone wants to eat in the hotel every night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guidetoecuador, Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Customer:
With surprise and attention I´m reading your review from the last time you stayed with us. I must apologize first for the misunderstanding, we at the Hotel normally do not charge for valet parking for guests. In reference to a gastronomic guide for restaurants, bars and places, I´ll make sure to have this information visually and available to our guests.
In reference to the pool issues, unfortunately the schedule hours are slightly different at the SPA during Easter days, the area closes early than normally, however we did informed all our guests, I apologize if the information did not reach your hands.
Nevertheless, thank you very much for letting us know about the things that disappointed you during your last stay with us, I´m taking notes of some helpful things you mention so that will help me to improve our service level. We at the Dann Carlton Hotel deeply care about the comfort of our guests; I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
243 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Although our stay was short we had a comfortable stay at this hotel which is located in a central Quito area. The area is very walkable in an up scale part of town. The staff was friendly and made our stay worry free. Any traveler must remember that the new airport is now opened and it takes between 45 minutes to 2 hours (traffic) to get to and from, tell the hotel to adjust your needs accordingly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesscruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guidetoecuador, General Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Just a short note to thank you so much for your kind words in your last review for our Hotel, your words encourage us to permanently continue to find the excellence in service and make our guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We had the manager at another 5* hotel (that was already booked) call and book us a room at this hotel at a certain price. We were a family of four traveling. When we got to the front desk, the snooty receptionist looked at us and informed us that her manager had misquoted the price and that actually it would cost us $120 (additional). After at least 45 minutes of haggling and waiting for the manager to speak to the person who had originally made the reservation, they were willing to keep their word. The hotel itself is beautiful... clean, 5* quality, great location, etc. But the staff at the front desk gave poor, RUDE service. They were just trying to get more money out of the 'gringos' who showed up. Not that this matters - but this is a Colombian chain of hotel. If you go there -- print out your reservation with the price mentioned or get ready for price haggling .... NOT something you expect from such a caliber.... they desperately need some STAFF TRaining and development!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globalpeace99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here for two days while we prepared for a Galapagos cruise. The room was very nice and typical of business hotels. Nothing spectacular but very well appointed and comfortable. Many airline staff seemed to use this as a base, so we were pleased that they chose this hotel as well. it is located in the financial/business district and many guests fit the bill. the bar/restaurants were standard for a business hotel, nothing great.

Room Tip: try to get a higher floor, while the noise was not a problem for us, Quito never stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prlaf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guidetoecuador, General Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hello and thank you very much for posting your review, after staying with us at the Dann Carlton hotel, in Quito. We appreciate very much your opinion, it give us strength and motivation to continue improving our daily service to all our guests.
We hope to have you back in a near future.
Sincerely,
Dann Carlton Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

If you just need a place to sleep, the rooms are pretty typical of a business hotel: wireless Internet is good, no robes or other frills. Our small suite has good air conditioning: our son's room has none. But if you need it, service can be inconsistent to poor. I waited forever for coffee at the breakfast buffet, eventually going to the worker's station to serve myself. No concierge on Saturday. No free nottled water in the toom. No acess to a van for 5 people. When the concierge was here, she had no recommendation for a nail salon ( we're here for a wedding) other than to just go out on the street and look for one. Computers were down at the front desk when we arrived and still were down the next morning.

We've been lucky do far with the hot water in the bathrooms. Laundry and dry cleaning sent out at 11AM was back by 5PM on a week day.

In sum, we stay here for the hotel's proximity to our host's home, but I'm sure there are better hotels that are better values for a leisure traveler.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MillValleyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guidetoecuador, General Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know about the things that disappointed you during your last stay with us, I´m taking notes of some helpful things you mention so that will help me to improve our service level. We at the Dann Carlton Hotel deeply care about the comfort of our guests; I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
558 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in Quito which looks like it is new. Enjoyed my stay. Restaurant good for all meals and pretty well stocked bar. Good location and worth a visit. Beware of staying on 5th floor as gym is on 6th and they love noisy aerobics :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guidetoecuador, Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Just a short note to thank you so much for your kind words in your last review for our Hotel, your words encourage us to permanently continue to find the excellence in service and make our guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.2 mi away
Lugano Hotel
Lugano Hotel
#47 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dann Carlton Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Carlton Quito

Property: Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Address: Av. Republica de El Salvador N 34-377 | Av. República de El Salvador N34-377, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dann Carlton Quito 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!Serious, elegant and classic! Quito is the capital of Ecuador has the largest and best-preserved historic center in Latin America; it´s the second highest capital in the world with an elevation of 2,850m above sea level. Its heritage treasure houses Churches, Museums and Cultural Centers. The Hotel is located in the heart of the financial and business center. It is close to the main shopping centers such as Quicentro, United Nations Avenue, Atahualpa Olympic Stadium and just two blocks from La Carolina´s Park. The hotel has 210 rooms, swimming pool, gym, restaurant, bar and 12 meeting rooms for corporate and social events with capacity up to 1100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dann Carlton Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing