We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable and disruptive stay caused belligerent guests and exacerbated by pathetic management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Miserable and disruptive stay caused belligerent guests and exacerbated by pathetic management”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I regret not paying closer attention to the Trip advisor reviews before booking my stay at the Dann Carlton Quito for the latter portion of my vacation in Ecuador.
I ‘d like to start by stating the Dann Carton is classified as a 5 star luxury hotel and I paid a $200 base rate which is considered extremely expensive in the Quito hotel market. I selected the property with the expectation that the company would provide me with a luxury experience and comfortable stay. Unfortunately, the hotel allowed an out of control private event to become so noisy and disruptive to have negative impact on a significant portion of its paying guests. I spent three hours going back and forth with the night manager asking him to enforce the hotels guest policies regarding noise complaints instead of sleeping. My experience was so outrageous and unacceptable that I feel compelled to warn other potential guests (both tourists and business travelers) before making the terrible mistake of booking this property.
The private event was for over 150 college graduates in the penthouse facility located on the 13th floor. At 10:30 PM, a DJ started the music at such a loud volume that I could not hear the TV in my room from 4 floors below the event room. I rode the elevator for a few minutes to locate the source of the noise and then contacted the front desk. I was promised a return call after making the report which was subsequently ignored. I went to the lobby to speak with the manager in person. I spoke with the night front desk manager, Mr. Manuel Diaz, and his associates Juan Pablo and Juan Andres. I asked the team to speak to the party coordinator and have them lower the music so I could sleep. I suggested that they might even determine an appropriate quiet down time so that me and other guests would be able to sleep. I suggested 11:30 PM or 12:00 AM as a reasonable time. Instead, Mr. Diaz wanted me to be accountable for the problem and requested me to pack and move at 11:15 PM so that he wouldn’t have to deal with the unpleasant task of confronting the hotel’s unruly event guests.
I refused the offer and told him it was unacceptable to me or any other paying guest to relocate at the hotel because of another guest’s unwillingness to respect the hotel noise policies. I asked him to accept responsibility and address the event coordinator and resolve the problem himself. I had Mr. Diaz and his associate come to my room to hear the problem firsthand. Both men acknowledged that my room noise was completely excessive and that they could feel the sound vibrations against the windows and walls. They stated the problem extended to all 32 guest rooms and public hallways located on floors 9 to 12, and we all acknowledged that the noise carried through to the lobby level when we rode the elevator together. While downstairs, both Mr. Diaz and his associates acknowledged that many complaints were phoned in from room guests throughout the evening. Mr. Diaz went upstairs and asked the event coordinator to lower the music, which they did immediately. He returned to my room and we agreed I could sleep now that the music was lowered. About 10 minutes later, the event guests willfully increased the volume even louder. Mr. Diaz and I spoke again, he went back upstairs and stated event coordinator didn’t care about the policy and she wanted to keep the volume louder regardless of the guest complaints. Mr. Diaz now stated that the he would monitor the party to keep the volume down. He stated that should the coordinator and guests continue to abuse the noise rules, he will exercise his authority as manager and shut the party music off. This promise was made at 12:00 AM. I gave him another half hour to address the unruly guests and fix the problem. Instead at our next conversation, Mr. Diaz confessed he choose to negotiate with the party coordinator and admitted he was intimidated by her and her group of 150 drunken graduates. Instead he posted a security guard at the event room that did nothing to abate the noise. Mr. Diaz ignored his managerial duty to enforce hotel policy and cancel the party. It was his responsibility to enforce the noise policy and create an environment that will allow guests to sleep in peace.
I don’t understand his refusal to fix the problem. If both he and the security team couldn’t handle the party, or if they were threatened in anyway by the drunken group, it was their responsibility to contact the police and have the group removed. Instead he allowed the noise to continue to the end of the event at 2:00 AM. When I confronted him at 1:20 AM, he was hiding in the front desk office and spoke through Juan Andres. I insisted that he come out of hiding and speak to me directly. I told his it was his ultimate responsibility to solve the problem and that I expected him to do so once and for all. He finally got on the walkie-talkie and signaled the security team to meet him on the 13th floor. In the meanwhile, I had the opportunity to speak with 4 staff members who told me this was an ongoing problem and that they all hold Mr. Diaz and the hotel management responsible for their unwillingness to enforce policy. Both front desk clerks admitted the noise was excessive and they received several complaints all night long. Both security guards stated to me that this always happens during events and that management refused to enforce noise complaints and they willfully make the paying room guests suffer and give preferential treatment to event guests. They all stated that this is an ongoing problem that has a serious impact on both guests and creates a negatively charged atmosphere in their workplace that doesn’t need to exist. I spoke with most of the guests on my floor as late at 2:00 am and they were unable to sleep as well and were outraged by the situation.
The bottom line is that he hotel should be in the catering business only. They prioritized the comfort of their event guests over the hotel guests and create a miserable guest experience for those sleeping at the hotel. They give a paltry excuse that because the city allows liquor to be served until 2:00 AM, renters using public facilities feel they can do whatever they want in that space. This reason is illogical since they are renting a private space.
Mr. Diaz made a conscious decision to sacrifice the comfort of 32 paying hotel guest rooms because he was unwilling to shut down the music on a group of drunken students. Apparently he is unable to handle the responsibilities of his job. Furthermore it is apparent that he has no support from the general management given the fact that these problems have been reported on Trip Advisor for a few years now. Dann Carlton is shameful to allow this kind of atmosphere in their workplace and they don’t deserve the support of their clientele should they choose to continue to operate in this manner.
In retrospect, I regret not paying close attention to the feedback of other reviewers which has been so valuable to meet when traveling for work and pleasure. After reviewing the member feedback, I saw extensive history of noise complaints with no remedy. It is clear that prospective guests should be fully aware that there is no guarantee of a peaceful stay at the Dann Carlton Quito location. I can’t believe a group drunken graduates was permitted to continue at excessive volume until 2 am in the morning while the property was sold out. Also of note, most guests were high paying tourists and corporate executives attending on site conferences. The guest roster included business travelers from globally recognized firms including Novartis, Glaxo Smith Kline, Pepsico, Claro Telecommunications, and Bureau Veritas Credit Services amongst others. In actuality, all guests were violated and denied the right to a proper night of sleep at the expense of a weak manager and a hotel that refuses to enforce simple policies of controlling unwanted behavior. It is clear the preference was to support and validate the behavior of rowdy party guests.
Nobody should be subjected to this kind of abuse when paying for a service. I stated my case here and I negotiated a $200 discount. Furthermore, I will forward this complaint to general manager Vladimir Carrera in Quito and the corporate team in Colombia. I hope that other guests were as forthright as I was and got a refund and got out of this nuthouse. Another event was planned for the next night again until 2:00 AM. As for the corporate guests, I am certain they will share their experiences with their own corporate events planners and recommend that this hotel be removed from their approved resource lists.
The whole experience was disgraceful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank biztraveller10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guidetoecuador, Gerente at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear guest and Trip Advisor team:
It is very difficult for me, as General Manager respond to this hard complaint, all I can say now is that we´re deeply sorry for the ungrateful experience you had, during that last night you spent with us, Ended we have social events happening every weekend at the Hotel, mostly this time of the year, because we refuse to take events on week days preventing from corporate accounts or regular guests to be annoyed by music or loud noises. I understand that you had no complaints of our service during the nights before, however I know is my responsibility the comfort and service during the stay of all our guests at all times and I’d like to firmly enforce this, because we do all our best efforts every day trying to satisfy our dear guests, so far I can proudly say, we´re in the right track. I cannot apologize for my night staff, who tried very hard to solve and settle things out with both parties, but I must apologize with you for not been able to end the problem, this experience gives me a great opportunity to evaluate and find different methods to avoid this kind of complaints in the future with other guests, fortunately we had no other complaints that night what so ever. I really look forward to have the chance to welcome you in your next visit to our City, there will be no room charges and this will enable us to demonstrate why so many customers come back to Dann Carlton Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    221
    68
    22
    24
See reviews for
63
108
29
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Having read a lot of the reviews, we kept our expectations in check, but were pleased to find a fairly well appointed hotel with helpful staff. While they don't have the rabid sense of urgency found in the States, they generally do want to help and do their best to meet any request you might have. I had trouble connecting to their WiFi, so they called their tech guy to get me set up. I had to wait 15 minutes or so, but he resolved the issue and I had no further problems. The breakfast buffet was immense and over whelming on the first day, but on the second morning, I was prepared for the abundance of selection and had a fantastic leisurely breakfast. The biggest downside of the hotel (for tourists) is its location. It's slightly outside both the new town and quite a distance from the old town. We walked it, but it might be a bit far for some people. Final point, they gave us an upgrade upon arrival and we finally got a king sized bed in a country that seems bereft of them...pure heaven!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danrobe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Located in the commercial district the immediate enviroment is very safe, the room was very comfortable & the breakfast was excellent. The club opposite was noisy when it closed late at night but other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for only one night, but I wish I had stayed longer. The room was clean, nice and spacious and the staff was very friendly.
One thing to consider is that hot water takes some time to reach the room so you have to be patient and let the water run for a couple of minutes until it is warm enough for a shower.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights after our trip to the Galapagos and found it to be a great place to stay in Quito. The lobby is very beautiful with a lot of nice flower arrangements. The room was also very nice - large and clean. It did have air conditioning and there were no problems with the water. The staff seemed friendly and professional. The breakfast was quite good and we had dinner there one night, which was delicious.

The neighbourhood was quite nice and felt safe (at least during the day when we were out). There is a lovely park just around the corner with paddle boats. It is about a 15 minute taxi ride to the historic district, so not within walking distance, but taking a taxi was not difficult or expensive.

I did think that the cost of bottled water (which I'd recommend drinking) was rather expensive but there are some stores and a Subway restaurant close by to buy your own. Also, we asked for a wake-up call the morning that we needed to leave very early for the airport and did not get it - good thing we had a back up alarm! However, the airport transfer was prompt and without incident. Although keep in mind the airport is now an hour away (or longer if traffic is bad).

I would definitely stay here again if I was in Quito.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAabG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guidetoecuador, General Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente:
He leido con detenimiento sus comentarios sobre su estadia en nuestro Hotel y tomare nota de sus sugerencias muy validas para no repertirlas en el futuro. Le agradecemos nos haya hecho llegar sus impresiones tanto del Hotel como de los alrededores, sin duda seran de mucha ayuda para otras personas tambien.
Esperamos que regrese muy pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Even knowing it's a little bit expensive, it's worth because it's situated in one of the best areas of Quito. You can walk surrounding the hotel (you'll have to take care of your belongings) and there are several restaurants and shopping centers, and just a few minutes walking from the hotel you can find a park where you can joggin.
Rooms are big and the installations are very good, there are a gym and a swimming pool on the top floor. The breakfast is very good, according to the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlamoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel, after several days with a host family, we thought we were in heaven. It appeared we had to use valet parking, but we were not told there was a charge until later (it is $2 every time youpark your car). PLEASE TAKE NOTE: the entrance to self-parking is on luxembourgo, around the corner, and it is FREE! Check-in was at regular slow quito pace, but there was no mention of recommendations for dining, hours for restaurants, spa, pool, etc. The room was full of luxurious furniture and a comfortable bed. There was also a nice shower with hot water. At around 9:30, not that late, we asked the front desk girl for recommendations for dinner. She told us only fast food was open. FYI- we found a great restaurant, La Rustica, right around the corner, but she was absolutely clueless. We returned to rest in our nice room. However, that night, we realized there was no air conditioning, so we opened the windows only to allow tremendous amounts of cigarette smoke into the room, and not much cool air.

The next day around 5:30 in the evening on a Friday, we went to go swimming in the hotel pool and asked the front desk girl (same girl- we should've known!) who said the pool closes at 5:30. Today, when we went to the pool and the hours posted are mon-fri until 9:30, Saturday until 7:30, and Sunday until 4. No idea if they closed the pool for semana santa or Good Friday or if the girl was just again clueless, but either way, no explanation at the front desk. The pool itself was dirty (you need a swimming cap by the way or you will be kicked out of the pool as I was. they do sell them, but it is quite a racket!) and the jacuzzi smelled quite bad. There was gum on the patio, along with dirt and thrown away band-aids.

In the room, there was also no book with hotel info, no restaurant guide, no spa hours, etc. Lastly, we asked for no wake up call, and on the first day there, the only morning we could sleep in, the phone rang with an automated wake up call. We unplugged the phone every night afterwards. Also, the hotel cleaning service knocks very loudly beginning at 8am, so even if your "do not disturb" sign is on your door, you WILL hear the knocks on other doors. I do not recommend this hotel.

As for recommendations for the hotel itself, get some smarter people at the desk. I speak Spanish, so that was not the issue. And post hours of the pool and gym in each room. You might also consider putting a list of good restaurants in the area in a binder in each room. Not everyone wants to eat in the hotel every night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guidetoecuador, Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Customer:
With surprise and attention I´m reading your review from the last time you stayed with us. I must apologize first for the misunderstanding, we at the Hotel normally do not charge for valet parking for guests. In reference to a gastronomic guide for restaurants, bars and places, I´ll make sure to have this information visually and available to our guests.
In reference to the pool issues, unfortunately the schedule hours are slightly different at the SPA during Easter days, the area closes early than normally, however we did informed all our guests, I apologize if the information did not reach your hands.
Nevertheless, thank you very much for letting us know about the things that disappointed you during your last stay with us, I´m taking notes of some helpful things you mention so that will help me to improve our service level. We at the Dann Carlton Hotel deeply care about the comfort of our guests; I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 111 in Quito
460 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#29 of 111 in Quito
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.0 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 111 in Quito
1,361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#7 of 111 in Quito
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dann Carlton Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Carlton Quito

Property: Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Address: Av. Republica de El Salvador N 34-377 | Av. República de El Salvador N34-377, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dann Carlton Quito 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!Cool, elegant and classic! Quito is the capital of Ecuador has the largest and best-preserved historic center in Latin America; it´s the second highest capital in the world with an elevation of 2,850m above sea level. Its heritage treasure houses Churches, Museums and Cultural Centers. The Hotel is located in the heart of the financial and business center. It is close to the main shopping centers such as Quicentro, United Nations Avenue, Atahualpa Olympic Stadium and just two blocks from La Carolina´s Park. The hotel has 210 rooms, swimming pool, gym, restaurant, bar and 12 meeting rooms for corporate and social events with capacity up to 1100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dann Carlton Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing