We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but hard beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Ranked #23 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but hard beds”
Reviewed 25 February 2010

The hotel is located in a nice part of town, it has a beautiful large lobby, a nice restaurant, casino and business center. We were upgraded for being travel agents to a suite, ample but bed mattress was too hard and bathroom was clean but dated.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexToma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    210
    61
    22
    24
See reviews for
57
103
26
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights while doing business in Quito. Overall, I liked it and would stay again. Having said this, you should prepare yourself when you get to the hotel. I was lucky as my Ecuadorian colleague checked me in. He asked for top floor facing a school. I had room 1103.

The room itself is very nice. I had 2 double beds that's really comfortable. You also get free wireless internet with good speed and the lightening in the room is fine.

However, I gave this star only 3 stars because there were minor annoyances.

1. Air control setting has 2 buttons: "hot" or "cold". You can't adjust the temperature, therefore you don't know what temperature is hot or cold. In the "cold" setting I couldn't get my room cooler than 25C. I called the front desk & they sent a mechanic right away. He turned off the "cold" button and turned it back on. He then said wait 10 minutes. I told him I've had the "cold" button on for an hour already. However, I waited. After another hour, they sent a translator and the same mechanic back. The said they'll adjust the temperature to 23C, but the reality is in room 1103 you can't adjust the temperature. It was better to turn the air control off. Alternatively, there is a window you can open a little. This was nice as you can get fresh air.

2. While I was on the quiet side of the hotel and on 11th floor, the hotel is close to the airport and you'll hear them fly by.

3. Bathroom water pressure is really poor.
- When you turn the sink faucet on, it was like a sprinkler system. However, there's only 12 little sprinkles, but the pressure is high and when you wash anything, you end up spraying water all over the place.
- Shower facet was more like a trickle. I suppose they're trying to conserve water so if I look at it that way, I guess I can't complain too much. Overall, the bathroom is clean and good size.

4. Breakfast is excellent. There's good selection of fruit and juice. However, I agree with other reviewers that it can get a bit crowded. The hotel actually has another eating area across the hall from where the main buffet and eating area is. Even though the room where the buffet was full, the other room was almost empty. I don't think people knew there was another room as strangers were sharing tables to eat.

Since this was a business trip, I didn't venture out so I can't comment on that. However, the hotel is good and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjspurling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Good rooms, friendly service - all you'd expect from a business-type hotel. Two drawbacks though. On both nights I've stayed it's been noisy (there's a concert going on in the park outside right now) and the second complaint is that if the hotel is fairly full the breakfast facilities are inadequate. Queued sixteen minutes the first morning and seven minutes the second for breakfast. The location isn't bad other than it's quite a long way north of the old city which is the usual tourist destination.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichPickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I stayed at this hotel on four separate occasions during my 3 weeks in Ecuador. The rooms are large and comfortable and there is free wireless internet. It's only a short stroll down to Quito's major shoppping complex, Quicentre, which is handy for both shopping and budget eating.
A large buffet breakfast was also included and there were also other facilities, like the gym if you wished.
One time I did get a noisy room (the disco) but then the next time I came I asked for a quiet room and got a suite.
The staff were always friendly, and I frequently used the storage facilities

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misspopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed here top-and-tailing a Galapagos trip. It is more swish than we are used to, but tha'ts OK for the experience. The staff were excellent, as was the food. The location is a bit out of the way, but it is close to the Botanic Garden and Herpetarium and park, and taxis are cheap. It also seems to have a tower of rooms that face the flight-path, so on our second visit we were woken by planes going past our window. The second room also seemed to have no air-con control (no air-con?), but you couldnt leave the windows open because of the noise. The first room facing the school was great. Our friends had to asked to be moved from their room because of the noise from the discos downstairs, so if you get a noisy room just ask for a quiet one - there are some. We probably wouldn't go back, but not because it's bad, it's just not us. We preferred the Old Town at 1/3rd the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here before and after our trip to the Galapagos. What an absolutely perfect way to begin and end our trip of a lifetime.
We still can't believe how inexpensive this beautiful hotel is for how much it offers. The rooms are very spacious and incredibly comfortable. The service was wonderful. The concierge recommended Quito restaurants that still remain some of our favorite places to eat in the world. My husband and I travel quite a bit and forget most hotels we stay in unless they were extremely bad or extremely great. The Hotel Dann Carlton in Quito is one of those rare exceptionally great hotels that we have no reservations in recommending.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubaimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We stayed at the Dann Carlton for one night at the start of Friendly Planet's Exotic Equador tour and for two nights at the end. We had the same room on both stays. It turned out to be a smoking room, but the windows were open on arrival and the room had very little odor. For those real sensative to smoke it might have been a problem, but we were OK with it.

The room and hotel were clean, the breakfast was good and the staff friendly. We used the business center to print our boarding passes for our flight out of Miami and had a little trouble figuring out the printer--the front desk was quick to assist and solve the problem.

As mentioned in other reviews, there is aircraft noise, but most flights are done by 11 PM. Otherwise the hotel was quiet. We were very satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.2 mi away
Lugano Hotel
Lugano Hotel
#47 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dann Carlton Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Carlton Quito

Property: Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Address: Av. Republica de El Salvador N 34-377 | Av. República de El Salvador N34-377, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dann Carlton Quito 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!Cool, elegant and classic! Quito is the capital of Ecuador has the largest and best-preserved historic center in Latin America; it´s the second highest capital in the world with an elevation of 2,850m above sea level. Its heritage treasure houses Churches, Museums and Cultural Centers. The Hotel is located in the heart of the financial and business center. It is close to the main shopping centers such as Quicentro, United Nations Avenue, Atahualpa Olympic Stadium and just two blocks from La Carolina´s Park. The hotel has 210 rooms, swimming pool, gym, restaurant, bar and 12 meeting rooms for corporate and social events with capacity up to 1100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dann Carlton Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing