We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and old fashioned service”
Review of Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Quito
Ranked #28 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2013

One of the better hotels in Quito, away from corporate blandness of hotel chains. A very nice hotel with its own garden, very well appointed gym (with classes), heated outdoor pool, excellent breakfast buffet (although a daylight robbery in Ecuador at USD25), restaurant overlooking the city and valleys, old fashioned and attentive service.

Will stay there again, but will have breakfast outside :-))))

Pros
Quaint
Good service
wonderful views over the valley
amazing views over the town and valley from the restaurant
nice pool
relaxing gardens
15 min walk from the church of Guapulo
Secure
in a residential area (fairly safe and quiet), next door to the residence of the US ambassador (added security)
good taxi rank just outside the hotel
15 min walk down to La Mariscal area

Cons
in a residential area, hard to find restaurants open on a Sunday!
away from the centre, always need a taxi, but then who does not in quito? and they are cheap

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the gardens, they are quieter, and the views are amazing avoid breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhGAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

a good place to stay in Ecuador at a fairly reasonable price. Decent location. Although there is a very good selection of food, the buffet lunch is grossly expensive for Ecuador.

Hint: taxis are a bit cheaper ($2 instead of $3) if you walk away from the hotel and get your own instead of having the hotel porter flag one for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worktotravel092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Beautiful hotel, clean and comfortable. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Service was good (room service better than restaurant). Breakfast was good with good views of the city from the restaurant. The pool was clean and warm, perfect for swimming even on cool nights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEsquib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We have spent 2 weeks in Ecuador, first in the Galapagos, then trekking. Added an extra day to 'trek' in the city. Our taxi driver suggested we stay at the hotel Quito, enjoy the views and the spa. It has been a delight. At check in, the manager upgraded us to a junior suite!

The 7th floor restaurant has wonderful food and friendly, attentive staff.

The spa, gym and pool very nice way to relax after long days of trekking.

The best is the lady who runs the bookshop. I went down to buy a cookbook for Ecuadorian food, and in addition to recommending two great books, she told me her secret family recipee for Quinoa Soup.... It was delightful to sit and talk with her! Someone so loving and proud of her country, and friendly and charming with guests.

This was an illustration of all staff at the hotel!

Thank you for making the end of our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: All the rooms look good, e,ven the simple, the junior suite is great, especially as we had a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarbearpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Quito in March and it is a large basic hotel. It is clean and comfortable. We had two rooms. One was quite dated and had only one electrical outlet. The other had been recently renovated and was quite modern. Noise really carries between the rooms. The hotel is reasonably close (walking distance) to a few very nice restaurants. There is not much redeeming or disparaging about this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francetraveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

we stayed at hotel quito a few weeks agomorior to our g adventures galapagos cruise. For an impersonal large 4 star hotelnwe found the rooms to be of a reasonable standard, clean bathrooms and a good breakfast. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed in this place as a weekend getaway. it was nice. The sunday buffet was good and it included drinks which is rear in Quito. We recommend it for the traveler wanting for confort at a reasonable price. I great view of Guapulo a scenic place of Quito.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
773 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#15 of 113 in Quito
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quito

Address: Gonzalez Suarez N27-142, Quito 170107, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: £73 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the most exclusive residential and corporate area. With an incomparable view to the city or valley from every guestroom. The Hotel lays on a 7.5 Acres, superbly located on top of a hill, overlooking Quito's metropolis and volcanoes. Next door to the U.S. Ambassador's Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing