We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience in Quito”
Review of Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Quito
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst experience in Quito”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed 4 hotels in Quito and Hotel Quito is the worst one! Not worth the money!

Everything in the room was very old and needed to be updated badly. The sheets were so cheap and old. Nothing was pleasent except the view.

They charged extra $4 for so called TASA and no other hotels did.

We tried the buffee breakfast and asked some hot water, no service people understand the English and brought a bottle of water and charged extra on top of the buffee breakfast!

Room Tip: Howerd Johnson is much much better one with similar price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ting s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    335
    148
    51
    29
See reviews for
101
181
70
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I have spend 2 night in the hotel.
No way to get a normal internet connection. WIFI is very unstable, impossible to work normally.
When you are working for business this is very difficult... The business center is not an option when you need to connect your computer to internet.

And of course the personal have no idea how to solve the problem, more away than "reset" server...

Denitively, I won't come back to this hotel for business.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

One of the better hotels in Quito, away from corporate blandness of hotel chains. A very nice hotel with its own garden, very well appointed gym (with classes), heated outdoor pool, excellent breakfast buffet (although a daylight robbery in Ecuador at USD25), restaurant overlooking the city and valleys, old fashioned and attentive service.

Will stay there again, but will have breakfast outside :-))))

Pros
Quaint
Good service
wonderful views over the valley
amazing views over the town and valley from the restaurant
nice pool
relaxing gardens
15 min walk from the church of Guapulo
Secure
in a residential area (fairly safe and quiet), next door to the residence of the US ambassador (added security)
good taxi rank just outside the hotel
15 min walk down to La Mariscal area

Cons
in a residential area, hard to find restaurants open on a Sunday!
away from the centre, always need a taxi, but then who does not in quito? and they are cheap

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the gardens, they are quieter, and the views are amazing avoid breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhGAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

a good place to stay in Ecuador at a fairly reasonable price. Decent location. Although there is a very good selection of food, the buffet lunch is grossly expensive for Ecuador.

Hint: taxis are a bit cheaper ($2 instead of $3) if you walk away from the hotel and get your own instead of having the hotel porter flag one for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worktotravel092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Beautiful hotel, clean and comfortable. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Service was good (room service better than restaurant). Breakfast was good with good views of the city from the restaurant. The pool was clean and warm, perfect for swimming even on cool nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEsquib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We have spent 2 weeks in Ecuador, first in the Galapagos, then trekking. Added an extra day to 'trek' in the city. Our taxi driver suggested we stay at the hotel Quito, enjoy the views and the spa. It has been a delight. At check in, the manager upgraded us to a junior suite!

The 7th floor restaurant has wonderful food and friendly, attentive staff.

The spa, gym and pool very nice way to relax after long days of trekking.

The best is the lady who runs the bookshop. I went down to buy a cookbook for Ecuadorian food, and in addition to recommending two great books, she told me her secret family recipee for Quinoa Soup.... It was delightful to sit and talk with her! Someone so loving and proud of her country, and friendly and charming with guests.

This was an illustration of all staff at the hotel!

Thank you for making the end of our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: All the rooms look good, e,ven the simple, the junior suite is great, especially as we had a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarbearpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Quito in March and it is a large basic hotel. It is clean and comfortable. We had two rooms. One was quite dated and had only one electrical outlet. The other had been recently renovated and was quite modern. Noise really carries between the rooms. The hotel is reasonably close (walking distance) to a few very nice restaurants. There is not much redeeming or disparaging about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francetraveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#10 of 110 in Quito
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
1.2 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 110 in Quito
1,377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quito

Property: Hotel Quito
Address: Gonzalez Suarez N27-142, Quito 170107, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the most exclusive residential and corporate area. With an incomparable view to the city or valley from every guestroom. The Hotel lays on a 7.5 Acres, superbly located on top of a hill, overlooking Quito's metropolis and volcanoes. Next door to the U.S. Ambassador's Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing