We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Quito
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here on 2 different occasions. The hotel is modern looking and has seven floors. The rooms aren't large, but they were comfortable and clean. We swam in the swimming pool which was also clean and very warm. I could see a nice gym/workout room by the pool, but I didn't use it. We ate several times on the restaurant on the 7th floor. The dinner we had was delicious and very reasonably priced. We were able to get wifi in both of the rooms that we stayed in, although some people had difficulty. The wifi worked well in the lobby for everyone. It isn't anything fancy or special, but I think it was a good night's stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    335
    148
    51
    29
See reviews for
101
181
70
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed for 3 nights.
The internet access is awful, a big concern for a business trip.
I had to ask for a room with ethernet connection, because the wifi was unreliable.
The first room I got was facing the parking lot, a very sad view.
The second one was facing the valley and Guapulo, and was an amazing panorama.
The restaurant it's so-so, and expensive, but has an amazing view of the city.
There's no mini bar in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Guapulo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renderjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 short nights a week apart so didn't really get to enjoy it. Heard the breakfast on the 7th floor was wonderful but had to leave early so they provided a boxed breakfast that was really good. Tried walking in the area but didn't find anything interesting. Colonial City centre is quite a long way away, maybe 45 minutes walk. View from our window overlooked the valley and the garden area around the outside pool looked well kept. Room was OK but reminded me of something from the eastern block. Staff very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsupremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on business, the hotel was perfectly fine, the wifi access was a little sketchy at moments but generally it worked. Really enjoyed the pool, bit of a workout in the gym (at 2850 metres!) and there were daily yoga/taibo classes which looked fun. LOVED the breakfast, with views from the 7th floor. Took advantage of the 5$ manicure both on arrival and before departure! (we returned for our last night of the trip before flying back to the UK).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLysandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The view from the hotel really is spectacular, especially from the hotel restaurant. Everything was also very well kept and clean. My only criticisms are related to the customer service. For a hotel of this calibre you'd expect a much higher level of friendliness and courtesy. The front end staff often seemed visibly annoyed when you approached them with a question and were not fluent in Spanish. For a hotel that clearly accommodates a large business-like clientele I was surprised by the limited diversity in languages spoken by staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view because it is so spectacular.The higher the better. Make sure the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Andy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We took advantage of their weekend $95 B & B deal for a special occasion dinner. The later was surprisingly excellent as was the service. The buffet breakfast was equally good. The pool, gym, gardens and views are a definite plus compared with other hotels. Short of pulling down this utilitarian 1960's structure, there's little more than can be done than keep the paintwork etc up to date. Our bedroom was clean, a reasonable size, with good sheets and towels, even if a bit dated.
For us, our stay was very pleasant

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirklycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Located in what was once Quito's poshest neighborhood, Gonzalez Suarez, the hotel is still a nice spot with great views. I would recommend asking for a view of the valley if you want to be on the quieter side-rooms on the city side have a lot of street noise from traffic below.

Having been in and out of here several times, I find the desk staff a bit stiff and unaccommodating. An attitude adjustment would definitely help make one's stay a bit more pleasant.

Wifi has been good and rooms are clean with plenty of space. While the bathrooms are nice, the fixtures are a bit outdated and they don't have hairdryers in the bathrooms. The safe deposit boxes in the rooms are great, as is the Sony flatscreen TV.

Most taxi cooperatives in Quito associated with hotels will gouge you. So either negotiate a price before stepping into the cab, or walk down the street a bit and haggle with a non-hotel associated cab driver to save on your fare.

Location is good for Quito and near several popular neighborhoods and tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a valley view for a quieter room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlarge4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.4 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#10 of 110 in Quito
985 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 110 in Quito
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
0.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 110 in Quito
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quito

Property: Hotel Quito
Address: Gonzalez Suarez N27-142, Quito 170107, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the most exclusive residential and corporate area. With an incomparable view to the city or valley from every guestroom. The Hotel lays on a 7.5 Acres, superbly located on top of a hill, overlooking Quito's metropolis and volcanoes. Next door to the U.S. Ambassador's Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing