We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular Hotel in the Capital”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Quito
Ranked #28 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Regular Hotel in the Capital”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here on our first and last nights in Ecuador - so pretty much a good place to sleep. It's a pretty large hotel - you can end up down some long halls. You can walk to a few places nearby for eating or shopping, but in general will take a cab to places of interest.

The second time we were there we arrived mid-afternoon on a sunny day and our room was on the sunny side and was very hot. Air Conditioning isn't common in Ecuador - but they brought us a fan and we opened the sliding glass door so that as the sun set (which is always around 6:30) the room cooled down nicely. There was also a pretty good sized wedding going on - which is why they couldn't just move us to a different room - but we didn't hear anyone making too much noise or anything.

The restaurant is on the top floor - so a nice view - and good omelets and breakfast buffet. Our last night we were thinking about a quick bite to eat - the restaurant seemed pretty high scale, so we went across the street instead.

Room Tip: Better to not be on the side that's sunny in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    321
    145
    49
    30
See reviews for
94
173
67
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here on 2 different occasions. The hotel is modern looking and has seven floors. The rooms aren't large, but they were comfortable and clean. We swam in the swimming pool which was also clean and very warm. I could see a nice gym/workout room by the pool, but I didn't use it. We ate several times on the restaurant on the 7th floor. The dinner we had was delicious and very reasonably priced. We were able to get wifi in both of the rooms that we stayed in, although some people had difficulty. The wifi worked well in the lobby for everyone. It isn't anything fancy or special, but I think it was a good night's stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. First impressions were promising, there is a nice pool, and nice views from the restaurant. This hotel has no air conditioning, my 6th floor room was hot and uncomfortable, when I complained I was told to open the window, however there is heavy traffic around this hotel which brings both noise and pollution. The next day the hotel moved my room to a 3rd floor pool facing room which was cooler, however the bath plug did not work and internet reception was appalling, and it was very poor during my stay throughout the hotel. The restaurant has strict rules about wearing shoes for dinner despite the fact that the hotel accomodates adventure tour groups heading to the Galapagos Islands and gladly takes their money. The location is poor, it isnt in the old town, it isnt in the new town, just on a hill, with its views and nothing else except disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncanbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed for 3 nights.
The internet access is awful, a big concern for a business trip.
I had to ask for a room with ethernet connection, because the wifi was unreliable.
The first room I got was facing the parking lot, a very sad view.
The second one was facing the valley and Guapulo, and was an amazing panorama.
The restaurant it's so-so, and expensive, but has an amazing view of the city.
There's no mini bar in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Guapulo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renderjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 short nights a week apart so didn't really get to enjoy it. Heard the breakfast on the 7th floor was wonderful but had to leave early so they provided a boxed breakfast that was really good. Tried walking in the area but didn't find anything interesting. Colonial City centre is quite a long way away, maybe 45 minutes walk. View from our window overlooked the valley and the garden area around the outside pool looked well kept. Room was OK but reminded me of something from the eastern block. Staff very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsupremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on business, the hotel was perfectly fine, the wifi access was a little sketchy at moments but generally it worked. Really enjoyed the pool, bit of a workout in the gym (at 2850 metres!) and there were daily yoga/taibo classes which looked fun. LOVED the breakfast, with views from the 7th floor. Took advantage of the 5$ manicure both on arrival and before departure! (we returned for our last night of the trip before flying back to the UK).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLysandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

The view from the hotel really is spectacular, especially from the hotel restaurant. Everything was also very well kept and clean. My only criticisms are related to the customer service. For a hotel of this calibre you'd expect a much higher level of friendliness and courtesy. The front end staff often seemed visibly annoyed when you approached them with a question and were not fluent in Spanish. For a hotel that clearly accommodates a large business-like clientele I was surprised by the limited diversity in languages spoken by staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view because it is so spectacular.The higher the better. Make sure the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Andy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.7 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quito

Property: Hotel Quito
Address: Gonzalez Suarez N27-142, Quito 2500, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the most exclusive residential and corporate area. With an incomparable view to the city or valley from every guestroom. The Hotel lays on a 7.5 Acres, superbly located on top of a hill, overlooking Quito's metropolis and volcanoes. Next door to the U.S. Ambassador's Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing