We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but could use a facelift”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Quito
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Sarasota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice but could use a facelift”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Ia a nice hotel but the rooms could use a little updating. We had trouble with the plumbing which required the maintenance crew to fix. also the safe in the room did not work. The halls are very dark and some are quite far from the main lobby. But on the plus side there is a lovely resturant on the 7th floor for breakfast with a beautiful of Quito. I did not find the employees at the front
desk to be over helpful or friendly. But overall it was a nice place. Not a 4 or 5 star hotel as advertised.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    321
    145
    49
    30
See reviews for
94
172
67
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights only but the hotel fulfilled all my needs. Good location, excellent breakfast, easy and quick check in and check out, quiet room, and amazing views.
I emailed the hotel in advance and asked for an updated room away from the elevator, and in a higher floor. My room was excellent but was really far away from the elevator...lol. There are long corridors so those who don't like to walk much should be aware of this.
There were numerous foreign tourists here, most of them on a trekking tour.
the only downside was the cable TV which didn't have any channels in English.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before our Galapagos cruise and one night after. This hotel is recommended by Klein Tours and is part of their package. The hotel has an impressive modern lobby. The rooms are dated, the linens are not top hotel standard There is no air conditioning in the rooms which made it stuffy at night. You can open the balcony door but the door bangs. The windows did not open in either room we had. The room and bathroom is clean but basic. The bathroom floods when you take a shower. The breakfast is good but don't bother getting a box breakfast if you leave early...stale cake bread roll with ham and cheese muesli bar bag of chips and an apple and small juice. The view from the restaurant is great. We ate in the restaurant and it's very average in quality. The wifi in this hotel was intermittent and one night they had major problems with the Internet. There is a business centre. The spa area and lift as well as other parts of the hotel smelt of petrol or some other chemical and is unpleasant and possibly toxic. It's also far away from the major areas and you need to take a taxi everywhere Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255060Charlie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Breakfast at Hotel Quito was awesome and the restaurant view of Quito was fantastic. The room was nice and had everything we needed. Some of the décor was a little dated by US standards but fully functional and clean. Staff were friendly and accommodating, and most were bilingual. There are three hotel computers in the business center for guests to use for printing plane tickets or surfing the web.

Tip: If going to downtown Quito, hail a cab a block from the hotel. You'll spend $3 instead of $5. On Sundays, the park beside the Mercado Artesanal is a great spot to hang with locals enjoying the day. That cab ride was only $2.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingDog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

As with the other reviews, the rooms are pretty basic and in need of an upgrade. The bathrooms are really old, the first room I was in the bathroom reminded me of a public restroom! The fact that there is no climate control other than an open window ( to very loud, constant traffic noise) was a total bummer as the rooms are very stuffy. Not a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I came here on honeymoon. They charged our card four times, leaving us without money for the remaining 2 weeks of honeymoon, ruining it.

A month later nothing has been done and they refuse to help. Despite providing them with auth codes on all the payments they took they still refuse to help.

Staff have single handedly refused to offer any useful help with this.

Staff in the hotel were rude and stuck up, especially in the restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarvisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was thee hotel our tour company used this trip. It had all of the expected to include TV in English and free wifi. Our breakfast buffet was included with the stay. Friendly staff assisted with making us comfortable. Near the US embassy if you need to do business there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.7 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quito

Property: Hotel Quito
Address: Gonzalez Suarez N27-142, Quito 2500, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the most exclusive residential and corporate area. With an incomparable view to the city or valley from every guestroom. The Hotel lays on a 7.5 Acres, superbly located on top of a hill, overlooking Quito's metropolis and volcanoes. Next door to the U.S. Ambassador's Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing