We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Quito
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a very nice place to start and end our couple weeks of adventure travel. Definitely a soft landing. The rooms are extremely clean, updated, and pretty. This may be an odd thing to highlight, but the soaps and lotions were the nicest smelling of anywhere we stayed. :) It's pretty international, so there's not a ton of "local character" to it; you could be anywhere in the world. But it's very nice and I have no complaints.

I think the further you walk from the lobby, the newer and more updated the rooms. Service is everything you'd hope for, and the staff at the front desk has no trouble speaking and understanding English (or your imperfect Spanish!). The restaurant is a touch pricey (by local standards) but the view is lovely and the food is very good. The breakfast buffet is vast and delicious.

The pool is just the right temperature and large enough that I often saw people doing laps in it. My favorite thing about the hotel is that it's enough of a local landmark that all the taxi drivers know where it is.

You won't find your stay disappointing, but you may be able to find a cheaper place that meets your needs.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room right under the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saireno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    318
    143
    48
    30
See reviews for
91
170
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived late at night. The staff was warm, welcoming and very helpful. Walking to our room (301) it felt like we were walking to Brazil (the furthest room from the lobby). The room was about what I'd expect from a three star hotel: dated, minimal but clean and very comfortable. As Americans wer're just used to different standard. All said, it's a nice hotel with an amazing breakfast (included)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wintermade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

As always in Ecuador, the staff and people were amazingly kind and helpful. I can't think of a single place in Ecuador where we have stayed where the staff weren't wonderful. Hotel Quito was no exception.

Unfortunately, we didn't love the hotel. The restaurant upstairs and the view is fantastic but our room was not nice at all.

While it was ok....I can't say that I would go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room on the pool side or you won't be able to sleep from all of the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OtavaloHerewecome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I travel on business to Quito every month from a few days to weeks at a time. Over the last year every time I stay at this hotel I enjoy the service and the food at "Techo del Mundo". The staff has always accomodated any request as a guest. I would highly recommend this hotel to any business or leisure traveler. This hotel is not as luxurious as the American chain hotels, but the price difference and value provided is well worth the stay. This hotel is named after the city of Quito itself and is ran by the government as a historic hotel, so it certainly operates to the highest International standards an experienced traveler would expect. I must recommend though that you ask upon your reservation or arrival for a newly remodelled room as the hotel still has a few outdated rooms left. Also keep in mind that there's no ATM in the hotel premises so I recommend you cash out at the airport. In terms of price and value for your money this is definetlively the best hotel deal in Quito- guaranteed! **Note to Ecuador travelers- most hotels and establishments in the country do not accept 50 or 100 dollar bills since the country does not regularly operate on these bills. I recommend bringing all 20s, and try to keep singles handy as taxis and souvenir vendors don't carry that much change at times!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank c108r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very nice 4.5star in my opinion - it is getting a little dated. I believe still one of the best hotels in Quito (I can't comment on that, as I haven't stayed anywhere else in Quito) The rooms were nice, reasonable size, bathrooms a little small. The breakfast was fabulous - lots of selections, but it did always seem to be very busy.
Location is convenient, we walked everywhere (probably a good 20 min walk downtown - down a hill, but you need to walk back up the hill to get back to the hotel).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BE2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

One of the best hotels I've ever been. went with my dad, little brother and a friend. the food, the breakfast ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! delicious. the rooms with a great view. little problems with the wifi always but you dont need internet when your are in that beauty of hotel haha. never went to the pool because we were always on tours all day, but it looks like a pool you HAVE TO get in!! Im glad i went there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is still one of the most elegant and emblematic of the city. Nice atmosphere, food and service. The rooms are spacious and have great view of the city. The pool and gym, just great. Business are for events and conferences. Staff is very profesional and friendly

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#26 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quito

Property: Hotel Quito
Address: Gonzalez Suarez N27-142, Quito 2500, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the most exclusive residential and corporate area. With an incomparable view to the city or valley from every guestroom. The Hotel lays on a 7.5 Acres, superbly located on top of a hill, overlooking Quito's metropolis and volcanoes. Next door to the U.S. Ambassador's Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing