We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel - Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel - Loved it”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2011 and could not speak more highly of the hotel, the service and environs. We were upgraded to a suite which was just divine, the bathroom had rose petals scattered around and bed was four poster, we were extremely comfortable - delighted to find a hot water bottle in our bed at the end of the day. The welcome was great and it was no problem to do our pile of laundry at short notice. We also ate at the restaurant also - exceptional food and service. I highly recommend this hotel and at about 95 USD felt it was extremely good value. An awesome end to the Galapagos Island trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldlywisenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    70
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
54
202
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa monica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here 2 times unfortunately, on my trip due to the fact I was unable to cancel the second time booked. I was able to cancel my 3rd plan to stay here and loved my hotel in the Historical Center and was sad I wasn't there all 3 times in Quito. First of all we were attacked out side the hotel when we returned at 10 pm, mainly because no one answered the buzzer. It is gated because it is in a sketchy part of town. The next time they charged me for the welcome juice...and they did not have any coffee at 5:45 as I requested since we had to leave for the airport for an early departure to the Galapagos. The hotel is expensive, for no heat and it was cold...they put a hot water bottle in your bed. and the room downstair #105 is noisy all the time.
yes it is cute....but do you only want cute ...don't book because of the photos

Room Tip: Do not stay in 105, noisy and very cold because of the large window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marilyn sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bretagne
Level 6 Contributor
645 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Mansion del Angel is not a boutique hotel, it is pretentious and has no charm. It could be nice as the rooms are big and well decorated,altho the light is awful and rooms are cold.
The worse part is the service as there is none! We arrived at 9.30 pm, there was no help with the luggage ( there are about 20 steep steps to go up to the hotel's reception), and we did not feel welcome. When we asked if we could have some dinner we were told no, no room service, no recommendation for a place around outside; as we were leaving the next morning at 6.30 am we asked for a wake up call and breakfast but were told there is no breakfast before 7 am! they just dont care! The neighborhood is also not great and there was construction on the Mansion street.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marin ca
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here before and after going to the Galapagos. Although the inside of the hotel is lovely with all the grandeur of an old mansion, once you are outside its massive gate the neighborhood is not so nice. You cannot tell this from the hotel photos. The front hotel photo is shot looking up from a super busy and very noisy street (be sure not to get the room on the street side). The street has a lot of graffiti, a lot of traffic and is definitely not walker friendly. Getting to most places of interest would require walking through some unsafe neighborhoods and parks. I would have preferred to stay in a more charming neighborhood where we could walk to dinner. I would not feel safe walking at night anywhere around the hotel. That said the hotel itself was very cool with fabulous grand bedrooms and a lovely garden in the back. Breakfast is very good and served in a little breakfast nook with birds chirping form their cages.

Room Tip: Street rooms are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodmere, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed at the Mansion del Angel before and after our trip to the Galapagos Islands. Everything at this boutique colonial styled hotel was perfect. I had heard reports that there was no heat which worried me but with the electric blankets, there was no problem. By morning time the room was heated from the sun streaming in. The service was excellent. The staff made all arrangements for us from taxis to where to tour in our one day in Quito. Very short taxi ride from hotel to the old or "new" town. We missed tea on the day we arrived from the Galapagos but the staff agreed to start tea all over again upstairs just for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelwoodmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

There are lots of places in the north of Quito that will charge you much more than Mansion del Angel--but you've stayed in places like this before in every other country you've visited. The Mansion del Angel is an authentic colonial-era home converted to guest rooms and offers a unique experience and exceptional service. The staff are courteous and helpful without being pushy, and the ambience is unmatched.

If you're the kind of traveler who thinks that luxury means "brand new" then this place isn't for you...be willing to accept that a colonial-era home may have a squeak in the floor or an antique but beautiful lamp. If that fits your idea of luxury, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimothyEvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sain remy de Provence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Perfect place to stay
Nice welcome
Beautiful furniture
Large room we have an upgrade to a suite
Superb garden with Spa
Nice breakfast
Everything was perfect except the cold in thé room
It was freezing in Quito 10 deg and rain and nô heating
But we havé survived

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitouprov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#1 of 110 in Quito
674 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 110 in Quito
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
10.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Property: Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#11 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#13 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing