We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst part of our Ecuador trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #18 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
qwanta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst part of our Ecuador trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hotel Mansion del Angel stood out as a sore spot on an otherwise spectacular trip to Ecuador. We booked the hotel because it was the #1 rated hotel on Tripadvisor at the time we made our booking and we wanted to stay in an old colonial mansion. This was our base in Quito for multiple trips (Amazon, Galapagos, Andes)

Among many things wrong with the hotel (1) not centrally located, which made it difficult for cab drivers to find (2) the doors were locked when we arrived from the airport past midnight, and we had to keep ringing the bell for over 30min before someone woke up (3) rude reception staff who refused to settle our prior to the day of departure, and held us up for 15min when we were leaving (4) the shower area was not properly sealed and we had an overflowing bathroom every time we took a shower (5) the view from our room was straight into the shabby house next door (6) breakfast that was mediocre at best (7) room with a creaky floor, an old bed and thin walls (8) music from both inside and outside the hotel could be heard in the room (9) spotty internet coverage - we had to sit in the lobby area to connect (10) a safety locker that was not functional (11) quite expensive for what we got.

On the plus side, they did store our luggage between our trips, called cabs when we requested them and recommended a reasonably good restaurant. Can't really think of much else that is nice. I find it unbelievable how so many people give such high ratings to this place - every other place we stayed in Ecuador as well as every other "colonial" house we stayed in other parts of the world were much nicer!

I rely on TripAdvisor extensively, but this is a case where it let me down badly. I am glad to see that the rating dropped from #1 to #7 now, and I hope my review will serve as a warning to future TripAdvisor members who are considering this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank qwanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Qwanta,

We are disappointed that your stay on various dates in the latter part of December 2011 and early January of 2012 at Mansion del Angel was not up to your expectations. Naturally, we wish to extend our apologies. We fully understand that the first impression is generally the most lasting. Consequently, when you were not given the usual warm welcome which one expects to receive upon arrival and particularly after 1 AM, you made a valid point. Unfortunately, other inconveniences contributed to your dislike of the property. In addition, during the days of your stay the Municipal Authorities were working day and night in order to better the access street to our property and that involved a lot of undesirable noise.

What I do not comprehend is the fact that if indeed you were so disappointed with Mansion del Angel, its environment, poor service and staff why you remained after your first two nights for three different additional stays ? We would have completely understood your desire to depart and obviously would not have objected. And should you have made your complaints known to the staff while you were there, steps could have been taken to improve your experience immediately.

However, being a well seasoned world traveler relying on TripAdvisor, you must know that ratings are extended by YOU, THE CLIENT, without the influence of the establishment or TA. There had to be a reason that former clients extended their unbiased rating to TripAdvisor so it is most unfortunate that you now blame TA for having let you down badly, according to your own words.

We are aware of the fact that it is impossible to please everyone, but let me assure you that all of us at Mansion del Angel have the earnest desire to provide the best possible service, to improve ourselves where we have failed and hope that future clients will not be intimidated by your warning but make their own conclusions. Thank you for your attention.

Pahola Haro
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    67
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
50
189
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I travel to Ecuador almost every year to enjoy its culture, outdoor adventures and ease of travel, including its use of the U.S. dollar as its official currency. Almost without exception, travelers must overnight in Quito as they make their way to and from the Galapagos, the rain forest, or my favorite small hotel in the world, La Mirage, located 2 hours north of Quito in Cotacachi.

Mansion del Angel and La Mirage have the same owner, which is evident in the same attention to detail, excellent service and exquisite interior and exterior decor.

The Mansion welcomes you with an impressive facade which attracts sightseers. Inside its locked front gate is a quiet oasis with many amenities. I usually just want to relax after a long flight from my home or a visit to some remote camp or village. The new spa is a welcome addition; it is painted chocolate brown to visually advertise its spa treatments that incorporate chocolate and lavender in its offerings. Do try one; Christina is charming and eager to please. A chocolate theme pervades the entire hotel, since the cocoa bean is believed to be rich in proteins, antioxidants and minerals.

As I have toured Quito on previous trips, I am content to have dinner delivered to my room rather than going out. On my last visit, I ordered during check-in, and a delicious meal of salmon and risotto was delivered at the precise time that I requested.

The public areas reflect what this mansion looked like during its heyday; the second floor common room, the living area of the original owner, is especially colorful and elegant. There are 15 rooms of varying size and rate, which includes a full breakfast served in a room filled with a jungle of foliage and caged songbirds. Nearby, a computer is accessible to guests.

Though the Mansion has a website for information, Latin America Reservations Center (larc1.com) handles bookings for them and a few other upscale hotels and resorts in South America. I have used them for all of my 4 trips to Ecuador and can recommend Judy at LARC without exception.

Room Tip: Room 205 is a splendid suite, though the bathroom is sized more in keeping with those of a century a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear client

On behalf of the owner and the employees of both properties I take immense pleasure wanting to thank you for the fine comments which you have adorned Mansion del Angel as well as La Mirage with. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you very much indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a lovely hotel that is centrally located to great shops, restaurants, and the historical district. We selected this hotel based on other reviews, and we were certainly not disappointed. The hotel was our Quito base as we traveled to two lodges in the Amazon. The staff was very friendly, and the accommodations were fantastic. Our room was large with a spacious bathroom. We looked forward to returning to this hotel from the jungle to simply enjoy the hot shower. We were able to leave our luggage at hotel which enabled us to travel with just the essential items we needed in the Amazon. We had an early morning departure for home, and they arranged for us to have a small early breakfast which we really appreciated. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Kathy H.

On behalf of all of us at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel we appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again on another visit to Ecuador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel was a big old mansion formerly owned by an Ecuadorian elite family. It's entirely decorated with antique furniture, and it was lovely sleeping in a four poster bed. The staff even place hot water bottles into the beds just before bedtime so you sleep under blissfully warm bedsheets. The feeling in this hotel was a bit like being at rich grandma's house rather than a hotel. One thing I found a bit strange was the fascination with chocolate here - from the smell of chocolate potpourri when you enter the front door, to chocolate shampoo and soaps in the rooms, chocolate laden services in the on-premises spa, to a chocolate angel on your pillow at night. It wouldn't be good for anyone with scent sensitivities.

Breakfast left a bit to be desired, the fruit wasn't quite fresh, however, the eggs and bacon were well prepared to request. Meals are served in the main level atrium where there is an abundance of tropical plants and birds in birdcages.

Although it was an interesting experience staying there, we probably wouldn't go back a second time. That goes for Quito in general - it is not a safe city to walk in and we were recommended to take a taxi absolutely everywhere, no matter how short the distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renaissancewoman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We selected Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel as #1 Trip Advisor hotel recommendation. It is a very nice hotel with wonderful individually decorated rooms, very good staff and a great restaurant. It is located between the old town and La Mariscal, a very easy taxi ride to either, and most likely quieter than either. There is no elevator and many stairs but the only problem would have been at check-in and they quickly carried our bags up from the street and up to our room. We did not walk around the neighborhood (not much to see) and the hotel gate is always locked, but the staff quickly opens the door when you buzz in ( we had to wait once but it was mid-afternoon. You might have your taxi call on the way there at night). Dinner selections have to be ordered in advance but both breakfasts and dinners were excellent. We had a great New Year's Eve dinner at the Hotel.

Take the tour organized by the information center on the main square and guided by a uniformed police(wo)man. Inexpensive ($15) and excellent. Phone #: [--].

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired_and_Going
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a former colonial residence in a quiet part of Quito with its own small garden. They have retained all these big rooms full of rich decor and belle epoche gradeaur. The style and the condition of the hotel are impeccable! This hotel could be easily be a member of such unique hotel chains as Small Luxury Hotels or Relais & Chateaux Hotels. For picky travellers this is the only luxury hotel in old Quito (all other hotels are really beyond comparison). However when you choose this hotel you must be prepared for some inconveniences: 1) the hotel IS NOT right in the historical centre, it takes about 15 minutes walk to get into the old quarters; 2) they do not have a restaurant in the hotel, so if you plan to have a lunch or a dinner in you room, just be prepared to to order from a menu of one of the central restaurants (though it's very good one) and wait for a long time; 3) as it often happens to the historic hotels, Mansion del Angel can not boast with good sound-proof.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AroundGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2011 and could not speak more highly of the hotel, the service and environs. We were upgraded to a suite which was just divine, the bathroom had rose petals scattered around and bed was four poster, we were extremely comfortable - delighted to find a hot water bottle in our bed at the end of the day. The welcome was great and it was no problem to do our pile of laundry at short notice. We also ate at the restaurant also - exceptional food and service. I highly recommend this hotel and at about 95 USD felt it was extremely good value. An awesome end to the Galapagos Island trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldlywisenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
2.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Property: Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#9 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#13 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing