We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #22 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at this lovely place.
Service was wonderful and room was gorgeous.
The breakfast buffet is very nice and tea in the afternoon is a treat.
Fresh flowers in the room and very quiet.
The only complain was that on a rainy evening we decided to stay for dinner, the kitchen could not handle dinner for all the guests staying, so we had to wait for 1 hour and then had a very limited choice of food. Otherwise everything was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Zaugg,

First of all I like to thank you for taking your time to write your comments in regards to a recent stay at Mansion del Angel - despite the unfortunate and unwarranted mishap for the waiting time and the disappointing available dinner selection during a rainy night of your stay –

I am truly sorry that your expectations were not met and for this I please ask you to accept my most sincere apologies.

But certainly we do appreciate you reminding us that in the future we will have to be more careful and attentive when another unusual night is facing us. Thank you again.

Kind regards

Paula Haro
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed in the Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel at the end of October 2013. I'll state the facts, you draw the conclusions. We arrived in the early evening of the first night of our honeymoon and were given the front downstairs room. In that room, one can hear every phone call and front desk communication as well as every time a guest buzzes to get into the hotel (which is necessary each time a guest comes in and out). The shower leaked as it only has a one-half inch rim and takes time to heat up. The toilet also had problems flushing. And, most significantly, the safe did not work. We were told (after the employee fiddled with the safe and changed batteries) that the manager would have to fix it in the morning as she had the master key. So, when we went to dinner, we left our belongings and some cash with the front desk to put in their safe at the employee's suggestion. This hotel is ABSOLUTELY NOT located in a safe area and we were trying to be ultra cautious as Quito can be quite dangerous. We itemized everything we were leaving with the front desk clerk, including laptops and some cash. When we returned to the hotel, our package of goods was returned to us and everything was there. In the morning, not ever thinking people would descend on our room the minute we went for our complimentary breakfast, we were temporarily in the breakfast room before we had a chance to introduce ourselves to the hotel manager and to get the safe fixed. During that 10-15 minute period, we were approached by the "spa manager" who showed us a pamphlet on different spa options (was she trying to divert our attention? We'll never know for sure). When we got back to our room, $240 was missing from our belongings that had (including the amount of cash) been listed on our itemized list of belongings given to the front desk the night before. We then approached the hotel manager who is rude, abrupt and completely unconcerned with her guests well-being. I have been an attorney for over 20 years and prosecuted fraud cases and I can unconditionally opine that this lady knew precisely what was going on. At the very least, she displayed no interest whatsoever in helping us and only called the police after we threatened to do so. She simply dismissed our cocerns, called out all three staff members who claimed to have all cleaned our room together (including the spa manager who said it was "impossible" anyone had taken our cash). Tellingly, while all three of the on-duty staff (including the spa manager--but seriously, why would a spa manager be cleaning a room? Besides, she'd been out with us in the breakfast room for a good part of the time) claimed to have "cleaned" our room together, they actually forgot to CLEAN the room (that's right--the bathroom had not been cleaned at all!) Suffice it to say, we then spent the day at the tourist police lodging our complaint against the hotel and staff (we have all names and identification numbers and will continue to pursue this). To add insult to injury, this manager then tried to make a claim through booking.com (through which we'd booked the room) that we had been no-shows and charge our credit card $600 (the amount of 4 nights stay)!! My advice: stay far, far away from this place. The manager is absolutely bad news and I believe was even posting positive fake reviews online as there was one from a guest who was purportedly there while we were giving it very high reviews while we saw no such guest. Hopefully the tourist police will take appropriate action, but for now, our honeymoon was forever tarnished and our money gone. There was never so much as a single offer to make a real inquiry or apology of any sort--just rudeness and consistent claims it was "impossible" anyone had taken our money.

Room Tip: I say stay away from the place all together and by no means let them put you in the front room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

TO THE ATTENTION OF MARIA L.

I am afraid that it would not be possible to give a polite reply as we customarily do when receiving any kind of posted comments on TripAdvisor.

It appears obvious that your posted comments to booking.com (which in many ways vary from the version you are now writing to TripAdvisor) did not meet with your approval since booking.com according to their policy removed the comments of that specific review.

Your remarks are a massive attack on our integrity with concern to an alleged theft of money. They are UNTRUE, while the entire rest of the write-up is INACCURATE, DISCRIMINATORY, INSULTING and HUMILATING.

In the morning, after breakfast, you reported an alleged theft of US$ 120 missing from your room. Immediately, Management ( NOT YOU ) called the Tourism Police and requested their presence to investigate the issue since you reported to the hotel that that the safe was broken (comments made to booking.com) preventing you from using IT. You mentioned to one staff member that you did not understand why Mansion del Angel was making such a fuss calling the police for such an insignificant amount of money. You later claimed that the amount of lost money increased to more than US$ 240.00. You went so far as to say that it was a plot among the staff to steal from your room while you were having breakfast.

The previous evening after having checked in, you explained that the safe was unworkable and that you wanted it fixed. Since this was not possible, you immediately were offered to change to another accommodation which you refused. We still wonder why you did not accept this courtesy, especially since it was an upgrade.

We very strongly reject to your discriminating comments in regards to the manager, whom you call RUDE, ABSOLUTELY BAD NEWS, claiming her to be POSTING POSITIVE FAKE REVIEWS ONLINE. You furthermore are suggesting she was MAKING A CLAIM TO booking.com to cash in on your pre-payment while all she was doing was trying not to get the situation out of hand by calling the bank to request a refund for you. She immediately sent a mail to the local bank handling American Express asking them to proceed with the FULL REFUND OF US$ 600.00. You were handed a copy of the mail. Instead you claimed to booking.com that YOU WERE FIGHTING TO GET YOUR MONEY BACK. This is an outrageous lie.

We are requesting that TripAdvisor follows their own policy being Family Friendly by removing your horrendous comments since it is a

COMPLETE FABRICATION OF THE TRUTH, AND AN ATTEMPT TO DAMAGE OUR REPUTATION.

On behalf of Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Patricio Hidrovo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 4 nights here after our dive trip to the Galapagos. The service was great. We ate breakfast and dinner here every day. The food was very good and there was tea offered every day at 5pm. Turn down service is a must as you will find hot water bottles to warm the foot of the bed when you turn in!

Room Tip: It might be better to try to be on the second floor since you hear the phone and door bell on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear RunningKaren,

I wanted to thank you for having chosen Mansion del Angel and all of us here appreciate your kind comments as to your recent stay with us. Having come from a Diving trip where most probably the water was somewhat colder, we thought that the Hot water bottle would be a lovely reminder about your trip to the Galapagos. We wanted to thank you very much for your very appreciative words
and on another visit to Ecuador we might have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards from the entire team at Mansion del Angel. Pahola Haro, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If we return to Quito, we will return to the Mansion del Angel - what a jewel of a hotel. Located close to the Old Town, the Mansion del Angel is an exquisite boutique hotel, delightfully furnished with antiques and with a very attentive staff. From the moment you arrive and receive your face cloth to wash away the grime of travel to the canaries singing their hearts out in the dining area to tea served at 5 pm, our three visits to the Mansion del Angel felt like coming home. Before leaving for the Galapagos, our tour included one night at the Hilton Colon, which we moved to from the Manson del Angel. The Hilton is a fine hotel but a standard North American hotel, which just cannot compare with the character of the Mansion del Angel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I just finished my 2 day 3 night stay at the Hotel Mansion del Angel and I cannot stop smiling. What a wonderful boutique hotel located perfectly within walking distance to The Old City, and the Cultural Museums. The staff was attentive and professional, from the pick up at the airport to the hotel when I arrived in Quito, to the spa treatment, to the complimentary breakfast to the gourmet dinners. I did not take any tours as I like to explore on my own,
but from listening to the other guests the staff will arrange anywhere you prefer to go. A quiet garden to read and enjoy morning coffee, antiques throughout the property, and afternoon tea. I cannot say enough, I highly recommend this boutique hotel to anyone visiting Quito for a two or three night stay. Just lovely.
Oh, and the hot water bottles under the sheets at turn down service. Ha! Just perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear CB2,

For your very lovely and encouraging comments in regards to your recent stay with us, I like to take the opportunity on behalf of the entire staff to thank you very much indeed. It certainly would be a pleasure to welcome you back on a next trip to Quito and I assure you of our best attention to detail and service. We hope that you had an enjoyable time visiting Ecuador from where we are sending you our best wishes and regards. Kindly Pahola Haro, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Masion de Angel for 3 nights before our trip to Guayaquil. We booked the owner's suite which was spacious and elegant. The staff was all very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast and dinner are prepared by the staff and simple but adequate.It's not a place to stay if you are watching a tight budget or like being in the hub of activity but we love ambience and service and I think we hit the jackpot.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Will D,

We appreciate your valued and honest comments in regards to a recent stay at Mansion del Angel and on behalf of the entire staff I take pleasure to thank you very much indeed. We hope that you remaining visit to Ecuador will be enjoyable and that maybe on another occasion we will have the pleasure to welcome you back. Kindest regards, Pahola Haro, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were very well looked after during our stay here. It was our first port of call on arriving in Quito for a two week honeymoon. We were allocated a lovely room, the staff were exceptionally polite and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious (if not massively varied in terms of choice). I thought the place had a good deal of charm and it is well located between the old and new towns. When we returned to Quito halfway through our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a suite! It really was the nicest place we stayed whilst there and I would wholeheartedly recommend it as a cosy retreat from the busy city streets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Cloe T,

We are very happy that we in some small way contributed to make your Honeymoon in Ecuador pleasing and comfortable and I wish to take this opportunity to thank both of you for having chosen Mansion del Angel during a part of your vacation. ONCE AGAIN CONGRATULATIONS to the HONEYMOONERS !!
Cheers and our best wishes for a wonderful married life. Kindest regards on behalf of all of us at Mansion del Angel, Pahola, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 113 in Quito
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 113 in Quito
1,243 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#31 of 113 in Quito
306 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 113 in Quito
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#13 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £91 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing