We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel. Bad Location. Overpriced.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Bad Location. Overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is located in an old colonial Mansion. It is a nice facility. The rooms are just ok though if you compare them to other boutique hotels. Location is not good. A lot of traffic, far from Quito highlights, and really scary at night. 200 USD a night is way overpriced. You can stay in better hotel at a less depressing location for the same price (or less).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Charles7,

I am hereby confirming the receipt of your comments which you placed with TripAdvisor on March 15, 2014, while your visit actually took place in July 2013, more than eight months ago. But I wish to compliment you for being a Top Contributor, having visited 47 cities and having written 62 reviews within a couple of years, so it is understandable that it took time to remember your stay with us.

However, since YOU– the client – made your impressions public, - I – on behalf of Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel wish to have the same privilege to respond to some of your queries which I believe could be somewhat misunderstood by a new client, interested to visit our small property.

LOCATION: During the past half a year the local Government has taken steps to improve on the neighborhood; half a block up from our property the city will soon inaugurate a theater, which has been under reconstruction for several years. Not even a block away the city has built a huge Convention Center for multiple use. And while the surroundings due to traffic at times can be noisy, other parts of Quito show identical and unfortunately unavoidable levels.

HIGHLIGHTS: We are located within walking distance through the Alameda Park ( a national landmark ) in 10 to 15 minutes to Downtown Quito, the Historical District; we are two blocks away from the Congress Building (currently under re-construction) but once finished later this year it will be situated within a newly designed park with shops, restaurants etc.; within 7 minutes by taxi one reaches the modern part of the city, the so-called Mariscal District with restaurants, bars and nightclubs. And several museums are located there as well.

SCARY AT NIGHT: like in most cities all over the entire world, a visitor should ignore walking around at night in a strange place. Thankfully, Quito offers the cheapest available taxis in the country and we always recommend our clients to take a taxi when venturing outside the hotel premises instead of taking it upon themselves to walk.

RATES: Our prices for a standard room start at US$ 150 per night and include Full American Breakfast, Complimentary Afternoon Tea, a daily City Tourism Tax and 22% taxes as per Government Regulation. Through the internet you booked such an accommodation (US$ 122.95 plus 22% taxes). I have to agree with you paying US$ 200 for such a room would be overpriced.

I thank you for your time and wish you well.

Best regards
Pahola Haro
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    67
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
49
186
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed in Quito for 2 nights after a marvelous week in the Galapagos. It's a bit of a hike from the airport and the area can get a little sketchy after dark so you need to be very vigilant and cautious wherever you are,... take a taxi to and from anywhere in the evening to be safe.

This boutique hotel was a little gem, much like staying in a museum. Our room (#101) was equipped with enormous high ceilings, a beautiful poster bed, and comfortable seating area. The bathroom is sufficient, and it was lined with fresh rose petals upon our arrival. The staff was friendly and helpful in managing our needs and providing recommendations as requested. The spa was a huge bonus which we thoroughly enjoyed. Be sure to relax in the garden and say hello to "Princessa" - the cute and friendly dog on property.

It's a quick 10 minute walk to the museums and theater area - but do so only in the daylight. Otherwise, a cheap taxi ride will suffice. The breakfast on site is sufficient, and the fresh fruit was excellent. Most staff are fluent in English, so if you do not know the language you won't have much difficulty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Dana617,

It was with pleasure to read your constructive comments in regards to your recent stay with us and the entire staff wants to thank you for your kind words. Princessa, in particular wishes to thank you and she is very proud to be a member of the complex. Thanks again and have a wonderful 2014 wherever you visit.
Kindest regards from all of us, Pahola, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Posh and luxury colonial style "castle". Fantastic experience! Memory for lifetime. Antique furniture, attention to interior details, nice well-trained stuff. A bit away from the tourist center, but taxi costs nothing. Very-very much recommended! Hotel has nice garden with flowers and plants, spa. Breakfast is wonderfully served, stuff speaks good English.

Room Tip: Very much recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VVShev2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear VVShev2014,

On behalf of the entire staff I take great pleasure in thanking you for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay at Mansion del Angel. You came a long way to find the CASTLE of your lifetime and each one of us is so pleased that we contributed to a lovely stay. Thank you very much indeed. Kindest regards from Pahola Haro, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed as a couple in Mainson del Angel for two nights in December 2013.

The hotel is a truely exquisit piece of colonial architecture with a rich history. It fits perfectly into the cities historical center which is a taxi ride away.

The staff is very friendly, service overall is just excellent.

In terms of noise, it was rather less the street or dogs that we noticed but the loud telephone at the basement's reception desk that you could hear up until our room in the evening.

The restaurant offers an ok breakfast and very good dinner. Ask for their original Ecuadorian recommended dishes.

Overall, great place if you want to spend some more money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Philip S,

We very much appreciated your comments as to your stay in December and are very happy that your overall stay was positive and pleasant. In regards to the noisy telephone which you are referring to we have taken measurements to reduce the ringing tone in order to provide an enjoyable sleep quality which for certain our guests deserve. We wish you and your family a most happy, healthy and prosperous New Year 2014. Kind regards, Pahola Haro, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and only 10 mins walk from the centre of the old town.

Lovely rooms and friendly staff and we owe them an apology for forgetting to return the travel adaptor they lent us!

If there was anything negative it was that they charged $70 for the airport pickup whereas a taxi or guide was only $35.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M and S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear M & S,

I take this opportunity to thank you very much indeed for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us and also wishing you a healthy, successful and wonderful HAPPY NEW YEAR 2014.

Best regards

Pahola Haro, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel would easily be over $500 per night anywhere in North America. We paid $150 per night for our first three nights thinking if we were going to have altitude sickness we wanted to be in a nice, clean, comfortable hotel. Luckily we were not more than very tired, but we loved this hotel so much.

First, the exterior is even more impressive than pictures can portrait. You feel regal entering the beautifully appointed lobby and it only continues up the stairs to the guest sitting and tea room into the guest rooms. Our room was not large, but was incredibly comfortable.
The service is outstanding. The male front desk clerk greeted us on arrival by first name. His english is perfect, which for our first few days was extremely helpful. Our first night we asked for a restaurant suggestion. Not only did he call for reservations and book a taxi, he also came down to the taxi with us when it arrived, communicated our destination with the driver, arranged for the driver to pick us up when we were finished, and negotiated the fare!
His restaurant suggestion turned out to be a spot famous for authentic food and music and we loved it.
Wjen we returned and climbed into bed... Surprise! 2 hot water bottles tucked into the bottom of the bed. Talk about feeling pampered!
Breakfast (included) was amazing. Eggs served and a nice buffet. Birds chirping away in a little area behind the buffet.
There is a gorgeous yard off the dining room that we loved as a relaxing oasis after a day out. Very quiet and private, nicely landscaped with a comfortable dining set.
I can't say enough about this hotel. It really was the absolute best hotel we've stayed at in any country.
They take service to back to an art form, and have the perfect hotel style era to pull it off.
Thanks for a wonderful few nights!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear mlh101,

That was a most appreciated Christmas Gift we were receiving a little while ago and on behalf of all of us who make MANSION DEL ANGEL I take great pleasure in sending you our best regards and a big THANK YOU for your kind report which you provided us and possible new interested guests with. We are sending you Season’s Greetings, a peaceful and successful 2014. Kindest regards, Pahola Haro, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We spent 3 night here and really enjoyed the beautiful deco everywhere. The attention to detail was impressive. We arrived late at night and got upgraded to suite with garden. The room was beautiful. Breakfasts were delicious and so was the dinner. They call it a bistro but the quality of food was of a good restaurant. We loved the chocolate smell everywhere. The staff go the extra mile. Location is perfect for visiting Quito.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archimedesrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Archimedesrules,

To you as well we are sending our best and most sincere wishes for a happy Christmas Season and a prosperous New Year. We do appreciate your kind comments in regards to your recent stay at Mansion del Angel and the entire staff joins me in wishing you all the best. We are happy to have been able to make your stay in Quito special. Thank you. Best regards, Pahola Haro, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Property: Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#9 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#13 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing