We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #23 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Located just outside the historic City Center, the hotel is wonderful example of how to convert an historic hacienda into a modern boutique hotel. As previously noted, it is about equal distance from the center of the historic center and Mariscal Sucre. It's about one hour from the new airport; take a taxi it's about $26. The spacious rooms include an extremely comfortable bed, an outstanding shower and first class service. Be advised that if arriving in the evening, because of the small number of rooms, dinner is only available if ordered by 6:00 PM to be served between 6:30 PM and 9:00 PM.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor off the entrance overlooking the street. We had no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vw97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear vw97,

I wish to thank you very much for your constructive comments in regards to your stay with us. That was extremely kind of you. We sincerely hope that your unbiased view will be recognized by future interested clients wanting to stay at our property.

With kind regards, on behalf of the entire staff, I remain, yours truly Pahola Haro, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I just returned from 3 1/2 weeks in Ecuador, including the Galapagos Island and a trip to the Amazon Rainforest at Sacha Lodge. We used Mansion del Angel as our home base and where there at the beginning, middle of the trip between adventures, and at the conclusion. The hotel, its rooms, food services, especially dinner, were all excellent, but what really made this place special for us was the staff and their level of service above and beyond the call of duty. They arranged transfers to and from the Quito Airport, restaurants, and points of interest. They put us in touch with incredible drivers and guides who helped make our day trips out of Quito unforgettable and so very memorable. 10-15 minute short walks got us to where we wanted to go or a short taxi ride for only $2 or $3 US. It is difficult to just mention a few, but Monica Vena was especially helpful and resourceful, always with a cheerful attitude! Andreas was also especially helpful and had many great suggestions for our various day trips in and around Quito. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Kent C,

You made our day with such fine comments in regards to your recent stay with us and while the entire staff was beaming when learning about your assessment of Mansion del Angel, in particular Monica and Andres are above their heads having been mentioned so very kindly. On behalf of all of them I am grateful and thank you very much for your kindness and it certainly would be our pleasure to welcome you back on another visit to Ecuador. Enjoy the rest of the year wherever your travel take you and God Bless. Pahola Haro, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We enjoyed the grand building, the very comfortable suite, the garden, great breakfast and the service, as many other already wrote. it seems that the main issue with this hotel is the location and the distance to either the old city or the new one.
We found the location very acceptable, and only a 10-15 minutes easy walk to the main attractions, and considering the fact that Quito is not the safest city in the world, during daylight it felt very safe.
Our only advice is that when in Quito , use taxis (Official only) after dark.

Room Tip: Old world charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Doron53,

With great pleasure do I wish to reponsd to your kind and honest comments which we received through TripAdvisor today. Thank you very much indeed. I realice it is difficult to ask for opinions, which can be so different from each other on the same subject. But to take time out to do so is highly appreciated by all of us who cater to you, our guests. Thanks again and have a lovely year in front of you. Best regards Pahola Haro, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is located in an old colonial Mansion. It is a nice facility. The rooms are just ok though if you compare them to other boutique hotels. Location is not good. A lot of traffic, far from Quito highlights, and really scary at night. 200 USD a night is way overpriced. You can stay in better hotel at a less depressing location for the same price (or less).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Charles7,

I am hereby confirming the receipt of your comments which you placed with TripAdvisor on March 15, 2014, while your visit actually took place in July 2013, more than eight months ago. But I wish to compliment you for being a Top Contributor, having visited 47 cities and having written 62 reviews within a couple of years, so it is understandable that it took time to remember your stay with us.

However, since YOU– the client – made your impressions public, - I – on behalf of Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel wish to have the same privilege to respond to some of your queries which I believe could be somewhat misunderstood by a new client, interested to visit our small property.

LOCATION: During the past half a year the local Government has taken steps to improve on the neighborhood; half a block up from our property the city will soon inaugurate a theater, which has been under reconstruction for several years. Not even a block away the city has built a huge Convention Center for multiple use. And while the surroundings due to traffic at times can be noisy, other parts of Quito show identical and unfortunately unavoidable levels.

HIGHLIGHTS: We are located within walking distance through the Alameda Park ( a national landmark ) in 10 to 15 minutes to Downtown Quito, the Historical District; we are two blocks away from the Congress Building (currently under re-construction) but once finished later this year it will be situated within a newly designed park with shops, restaurants etc.; within 7 minutes by taxi one reaches the modern part of the city, the so-called Mariscal District with restaurants, bars and nightclubs. And several museums are located there as well.

SCARY AT NIGHT: like in most cities all over the entire world, a visitor should ignore walking around at night in a strange place. Thankfully, Quito offers the cheapest available taxis in the country and we always recommend our clients to take a taxi when venturing outside the hotel premises instead of taking it upon themselves to walk.

RATES: Our prices for a standard room start at US$ 150 per night and include Full American Breakfast, Complimentary Afternoon Tea, a daily City Tourism Tax and 22% taxes as per Government Regulation. Through the internet you booked such an accommodation (US$ 122.95 plus 22% taxes). I have to agree with you paying US$ 200 for such a room would be overpriced.

I thank you for your time and wish you well.

Best regards
Pahola Haro
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed in Quito for 2 nights after a marvelous week in the Galapagos. It's a bit of a hike from the airport and the area can get a little sketchy after dark so you need to be very vigilant and cautious wherever you are,... take a taxi to and from anywhere in the evening to be safe.

This boutique hotel was a little gem, much like staying in a museum. Our room (#101) was equipped with enormous high ceilings, a beautiful poster bed, and comfortable seating area. The bathroom is sufficient, and it was lined with fresh rose petals upon our arrival. The staff was friendly and helpful in managing our needs and providing recommendations as requested. The spa was a huge bonus which we thoroughly enjoyed. Be sure to relax in the garden and say hello to "Princessa" - the cute and friendly dog on property.

It's a quick 10 minute walk to the museums and theater area - but do so only in the daylight. Otherwise, a cheap taxi ride will suffice. The breakfast on site is sufficient, and the fresh fruit was excellent. Most staff are fluent in English, so if you do not know the language you won't have much difficulty.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Dana617,

It was with pleasure to read your constructive comments in regards to your recent stay with us and the entire staff wants to thank you for your kind words. Princessa, in particular wishes to thank you and she is very proud to be a member of the complex. Thanks again and have a wonderful 2014 wherever you visit.
Kindest regards from all of us, Pahola, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Posh and luxury colonial style "castle". Fantastic experience! Memory for lifetime. Antique furniture, attention to interior details, nice well-trained stuff. A bit away from the tourist center, but taxi costs nothing. Very-very much recommended! Hotel has nice garden with flowers and plants, spa. Breakfast is wonderfully served, stuff speaks good English.

Room Tip: Very much recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VVShev2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear VVShev2014,

On behalf of the entire staff I take great pleasure in thanking you for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay at Mansion del Angel. You came a long way to find the CASTLE of your lifetime and each one of us is so pleased that we contributed to a lovely stay. Thank you very much indeed. Kindest regards from Pahola Haro, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed as a couple in Mainson del Angel for two nights in December 2013.

The hotel is a truely exquisit piece of colonial architecture with a rich history. It fits perfectly into the cities historical center which is a taxi ride away.

The staff is very friendly, service overall is just excellent.

In terms of noise, it was rather less the street or dogs that we noticed but the loud telephone at the basement's reception desk that you could hear up until our room in the evening.

The restaurant offers an ok breakfast and very good dinner. Ask for their original Ecuadorian recommended dishes.

Overall, great place if you want to spend some more money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Philip S,

We very much appreciated your comments as to your stay in December and are very happy that your overall stay was positive and pleasant. In regards to the noisy telephone which you are referring to we have taken measurements to reduce the ringing tone in order to provide an enjoyable sleep quality which for certain our guests deserve. We wish you and your family a most happy, healthy and prosperous New Year 2014. Kind regards, Pahola Haro, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 113 in Quito
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 113 in Quito
1,241 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#31 of 113 in Quito
306 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 113 in Quito
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#13 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £91 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing