We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #21 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2008

Stayed there on our way back from Galapagos. The place is BEAUTIFULLY decorated. The room full of rose petals and true roses everywhere on the premises. A nice breakfast in a cozy and sunny atmosphere (with two lovely canaries singing their heart out as you have your breakfast).
Exceptionally located ! Only two blocks away from the best places to be at night ! (Plaza Foch).
At the Mansion we asked for the tour service rendered by their private driver and really enjoyed the rides to Ottavalo, the night city tour, etc. Do not miss the Museo which is close to Mitad del Mundo, with nice experiments for the inquisitive minds !!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Viajera1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2008

We spent 3 nights and were very happy. Very friendly service. Good breakfast. No elevators, so taking luggage up to 3rd floor is a task at that altitude. Fortunately, the staff helped.

Good restaurants with walking distance. Evcen found a cheap laundry nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dileepb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

I selfishly hope eveyone does not discover this lovely little palace so I will be able to obtain space on my next trip; it is the best kept secret in Ecuador. Very well located, great security, friendly attentive staff and all at a most afforable price.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank poolman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

For $115 a night, I don't necessarily expect the Waldorf. But we are talking Ecuador here. With that kind of rate, you'd think the place would offer complimentary Internet access, free local phone calls, a decent breakfast, or at least dry off a few articles of wet clothing as a gesture of kindness. Nope. Expect to get charged for every single thing on top of your overpriced room rate. My advice: you can do better!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jameswardriley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

We were a group of 12 who were stopping in Quito before continuing on to the Galapagos. We arrived very late at night and were a bit put off by the narrow, uninviting street, but once the front gate was opened, we were amazed. The garden and entrance to the mansion is beautiful. We were greeted by a very friendly "host" who expedited our check-in, had bags delivered to all floors (3) and even brought glasses and ice for an impromptu cocktail gathering in one of the suites. Each room was unique in size and shape and furnished with antiques, comfortable beds, robes,bathroom amenities and strewn with rose pedals. Breakfast in the third floor, glass enclosed terrace was delicious and plentiful. The owner himself assisted us with taxis to the city center providing us with information on what to see and do. Our two day stay exceeded all expectations and gave us a grand start to a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MotherDuck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2008

This place is wonderful. The location is ideal, the staff is wonderful and the hotel is absolutely lovely. There were fresh roses in our room each time we stayed (six nights over a period of two weeks) there were also rose petals strewn about the bed and bathroom. There was a hot water bottle placed under the covers at the foot of the bed so that it was nice and toasty when we arrived to our room. Breakfast was good, service there was perfect. The staff was very helpful, a special "thank you" to Lupe and Javier. The hotel was virtually empty, which is bizarre given how wonderful it is. They stored our luggage while we were in the Galapagos and other parts of Ecuador. We simply left it in our room and it was there when we got back. We stayed in three different rooms during the course of our six nights and each one was just beautiful. Since we had not been to Ecuador before we considered one of the large chain hotels. After walking by those hotels we were delighted that we had chosen the warmth and style of the Mansion del Angel. This is one of those hotels you wish you could take with you to all of your travel destinations. The price for what you get is remarkably low. They got us a driver to go to Otavalo and Cotacachi and the vehicle was clean and safe and the driver was beyond helpful. We travel for pleasure on a pretty regular basis and we have never been as impressed with a hotel as we were with the Mansion del Angel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sebastianalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights. One night at the start of our honey moon, before the Galapogos and 3 nights after.

This hotel hits all the buttons of a classic boutqiue B&B - including the slightly musty smell of genuine family pieces collated over a period of time. The staff are very helpful organising cars to ferry us about on day trips and the hotel is in a great location.

Just to add to other reviews
- there is no lift but the staff carried all our bags even when we came back from the market [btw for English people it has 2 storeys not 3]. So carrying yourself up is not really a problem, despite the altitude issues
- breakfast is ordinary but more than adequate [typical European continental breakfast: ham cheese bread fruit eggs toast]
- hotel can be noisy due to dogs and cars. This is the downside of being within walking distance of all the new town bars and restaurants
- the main area for trendy wealthy locals to hang out appears to be the sqaure which is on the other side of the block, about a minutes gentle stroll from the hotel
- the back packer hang out is the next block over again. As a result you have access to all the good bars / restaurants plus tour guides etc
- Just off the square is what looks like a vodka bar it is the best restaurant we went to in Quito
- I sneaked a look in all the rooms. The 2 rooms on the 2nd [aka 3rd] floor are definelty the biggwst and nearest the breakfast coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HolidayNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 113 in Quito
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#19 of 113 in Quito
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 113 in Quito
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 113 in Quito
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#12 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#13 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £95 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing