We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must visit - REALLY IMPRESSIVE”
Review of Guayasamin Museum

Guayasamin Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
Cultural Tour of Quito Including Artisan Chocolate Tasting
Ranked #6 of 206 things to do in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum features exhibits related to the Ecuadorian contemporary artist Oswaldo Guayasamín including posters, signed prints and colonial religious art.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“a must visit - REALLY IMPRESSIVE”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I am so glad I went to visit this place, it's the house where an ecuatorian artist used to live - it's a really impressive visit with great views of the city and an extremely interesting understanding of Guayasamin's life. If you have just one day in Quito, go see this!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jcpastore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    196
    31
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Level Contributor
454 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great house and museum”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A great arist and collection of his art and other items throughout his lifetime. The tours are all escorted throughout the house.The grounds are well kept and interesting. What I cant understand is how an aesthicist could have so many crufixes throughtout the house.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great artwork, beautiful home and grounds”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Don't miss this museum. Best museum we saw in Ecuador. The house contains a great collection of artwork - also the artwork of Guayasamin was incredible. It might not be everyone's style but I loved his work. The grounds and home were nice. Guide spoke English very well and was able to answer questi8ns. The Capilla that is next to his home is also wonderful and contains his very interesting artwork.
All in all, one of our favorite activities in Quito. The gift shop had beautiful items for purchase, although a bit expensive. FYI.. Museum entrance fees are inexpensive so even if art museums are not your favorite activity, go to this one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BBSF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“An interesting way to spend the afternoon”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

First, let it be known that my Quito guide refused to come into the museum with me. It was explained that the foundation is a fancy tax-shelter for an artist who championed the poor and  oppressed, but lived the lifestyle of a barron in his gorgeous Bellavista neighborhood in Quito. This man was a collector of pre-Colombian art among other things and the tour includes a look at his bedroom and closet, his painting studio, his art collections, and his own architectural masterwork next to the museum. It is a lot of bang for the buck. His house was pretty spectacular, his art was so-so, and the Capilla completed after his death is an interesting project.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
404 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Museum and Capilla are 1 property”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went on a Saturday that would have been his 95th birthday. The house was designed by him and there is a large, striking collection of Colonial art, pre-Columbian art and more of his personal collectibles. Our guide was very clear and took our small group through the house. Particularly liked his large studio with his paints and pallets still sitting there as if he just left. At the end of our tour our guide and invited us to stay for the festivities. We saw many of his family members and friends arriving and we stayed and watched for a while from the cafe. Great experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marynaturelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guayasamin Museum also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Guayasamin Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing