We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Antinea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antinea
Ranked #39 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
248 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Good location. Fair value. Terrible rooms and worse breakfast. We booked two nights, just to check it out. Having done that, just let me say that I wouldn't stay here again if you were paying.

Their free breakfast is coffee and two croissants.

Could be a great spot with minimal effort but evidently they are not willing to change the status quo.

The hotel is located in "Backpacker Central" and is probably their target audience.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkhinnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    50
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
40
52
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Nice location aprox 20mins from the airport. Veronica arranged my transport to the hotel and the driver was there waiting when my plane arrived. The room was clean, the bed was so comfortable. I felt like I was staying at a friends house. A great place to stay if you are looking for a more personal experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Recently, I stayed 8 nights at this delightful "boutique" hotel. An old-world charm and graciousness is infused in every part of this hotel - from the the welcoming lobby with fireplace to the comfortable beamed-ceiling room to the garden-like atmosphere of the breakfast room. I had a delightful room, with live plants and a small terrace overlooking the street and felt a part of the city.
The staff - Veronica, Gallo, Rosita, Nelson, Louis - that I met were considerate, polite, helpful and made me feel at home - important as I was traveling alone.
Veronica arranged an airport pick-up for me, arranged a tour of the Mitad del Mundo, answered all my questions and arranged a car to drop me off at the airport. I felt I was leaving home when I left - next day I was a little homesick for the Antinea

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mjhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

It is not a typical hotel with long corridors ,hundreds of rooms, thousands of people etc. Is is a very cosy, beautiful place with very nice rooms/appartments. We stayed in two diffrerent appartments - both very big, very nicely furnitured. This is a small building so the atmosphere is very nice, we could feel almost like at home. Veronica - a fanstastic, very nice lady in the reception , helps in everything .,The hotel organizes also daily tours (private) in Quito and other places ( Otavalo,Mindo<Cotopaxi) with the very attractive price.
I strongly recommend it !!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We recently stayed at the Hotel at the beginning and end of our trip in Ecuador. The rooms are enourmous; service excellent. The location is also wonderful. Located near Plaza Foch, there are at least a dozen interesting restaurants a few blocks away. It is a wonderful garden townhouse and we were glad we found it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

This hotel is clean, sapcious, in a great neighborhood for walking to restaurants. The staff was freindl and helpful. We had the palacial suite that sleeps 6. Fare from the airport is five US dollars, making this hotel accesible, comfortable, very elegant for the rice

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryLinens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

We are a family of five, traveling around the world. We have been staying at many different hotels, but Antinea was very special. We arrived in the airport, not knowing where to go, but in reply to an email they came and picked us up. The rooms very very special, old style with charming furniture, clean an spacious rooms and the whole place had a very special atmosphere. They served us breakfast with freshly pressed juice, eggs, bread and everything you could wish for. They gave us friendly advice on where to go and what to see, and they helped us arrange our trip around ecuador. Even after we left, they have still kept us in mind, and helped ud ship a box of souvenirs back to Denmark, a service you won´t find at any other ordinary hotels. I can only send my warmest recommendations of Hotel Antinea to anyone who may need a place to stay in Quito, it is a tranquil place in a hectic city, something out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lundshojgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#32 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#24 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#38 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antinea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antinea

Property: Antinea
Address: Juan Rodriquez E8-20 y Diego de Almagro, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Quito
#24 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antinea 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antinea Hotel in Quito is a French Boutique Hotel declared a Quito Cultural Heritage site offering suites, hotel rooms and furnished apartments. It's a little piece of France on Quito's most picturesque street. Antinea’s hotel rooms are unique, each one filled with charm. If you are planning on staying for a while, our furnished apartments are a perfect choice for your extended stay in Quito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antinea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antinea Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing