We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Antinea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antinea
Ranked #36 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Spent 1 night in room #11 - huge room with 2 double beds and a massive bathroom suite. Lots of old wood and great windows. Minibar was decently stocked. Price is great, rooms were clean. Bar on site would have been helpful. Had about 6 hours to burn between check out and our trip to the airport and they were more than willing to accommodate our bags. No worries about security here!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    50
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
40
52
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto-Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

it's on a quiet, maple tree-lined street and a short walk to innumerable restaurants, bars, and cafe's in the Mariscal district. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they fix any reported problem quickly and efficiently. Each room and suite is very different in size, shape, and decoration, but they are all comfortable and equipped with cable tv and excellent wi-fi reception. The reception area, a contiguous sitting room, and the breakfast area are all very attractive

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 133Ald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
417 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

I had planned to stay for four nights so I decided to call the hotel to see if they were prepared to give a further discount. I spoke to one of the hotel staff who quoted availability for three different price classes: approximately 72 dollars, 62 dollars and 55 dollars for the more basic rooms. He asked me to call the owner, Veronica Flores, the next day to see if she was prepared to give a hear about a discount. I called her less than 24 hours later. Not a friendly lady. She seemed annoyed at being asked about a reduced priced for a duration of more than one night. So annoyed was she that she bluntly said "we only offer discount from 30 days onwards". Oh well. never heard that one before. So she proceeded to quote the price of 82 dollars which obviously was more than ten percent above what her staff had quoted yesterday. I then quoted the prices of the previous day which she then brushed off saying none of them were available anymore. So in less than 24 hours they had all gone, had they? It is obvious she was not customer friendly so I politely hung up. I am glad I discovered so that I had the opportunity to take my transaction elsewere rather than spending four days with that attitude.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

This was my second time at this hotel and wasn't the least impressed. The hotel attempts to portray a sort of a French/ Victorian rustiness but it rubs off the wrong way unfortunately. Felt more like a run-down hotel. What is excellent is the location. The room did not have a hair-dryer, and upon request -was initially told that it was unavailable. They did manage to find one later, but it did not work. The administrative lady at the front desk -simply not into customer service. Made us feel a bit guilty for asking her questions about stuff around the hotel. The rest of the staff, however were very nice and the maid especially was excellent as well and extremely nice to all guests. Also -the carpets are aged and dirty so if you absolutely must stay here -be sure to pack some sandals.

Room Tip: Ask for room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royaldane375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Not impressed given what you get elsewhere in Ecuador (and to be honest: Quito is not that charming unless you like robbery and soulless capitals. Go to Cuenca instead if you like colonial towns and charm, or head for Banos). Location is alright, rooms are big, and the place has been decorated nicely (about 20-30 years ago, though fine). Staff is not too friendly (not motivated at all and just annoying really) and the bathrooms and furniture are really tacky (we had 2 rooms: old stuff, drippy plumbing, scruffy carpets and bathrooms in both). Water is not always hot: that's something they even sorted out to satisfaction in much more rural areas, so why not in Quito? Looks and feels like the 70s but doesn't charge 70s money for it.

Room Tip: Don't take the 'fancy' offerings: the apartments in the courtyard/upstairs are just as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diederik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed here several times recently and were very pleased with our experince at this hotel. The rooms were very nice and the food was very good. We particularly loked sitting outside in the patios after breakfast. It was very peaceful and relaxing. The staff were extremely helpful and made our stays very pleasant. For the price, this was a wonderful find.
Bill and Linda Ronald

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our family stayed for 5 days while visiting our daughter. The hotel was clean,quite,comfortable,and they graciously parked our rental car off the streets. This hotel had a lovely breakfast, continental, or eggs and ham. The staff was gracious with all of our needs. You are just a couple of blocks form Plaza Foch, Quito's hottest night spot full of restaurants and bars. We would stty again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#24 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#38 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antinea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antinea

Property: Antinea
Address: Juan Rodriquez E8-20 y Diego de Almagro, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Quito
#24 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antinea 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antinea Hotel in Quito is a French Boutique Hotel declared a Quito Cultural Heritage site offering suites, hotel rooms and furnished apartments. It's a little piece of France on Quito's most picturesque street. Antinea’s hotel rooms are unique, each one filled with charm. If you are planning on staying for a while, our furnished apartments are a perfect choice for your extended stay in Quito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antinea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antinea Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing