We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quito”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cafe Cultura Boutique Hotel
Ranked #48 of 114 Hotels in Quito
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Quito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

A boutique hotel in good location.a 3 *hotel with every room individual decorated.wifi is free & incl.breakfast.restaurant also does lunch & dinner.there is a concierge & a library too .rooms are good size with adequate bathrooms & desk with chair.the staff-reception/restaurant/night staff are friendly & helpful & look after guests well.they make the guest feel @ home.a relaxing/tranquil environment.restaurant menu changes daily food is good quality & there is wine available

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    97
    49
    25
    16
See reviews for
52
124
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Un true Hotel Bourtique,

This unique and charmning place located in the centre of Quito is wonderfully decorated wiht very interting art made by local craftsman, tye plates ang glases are for sale at resonable prices.

Without exaggerating they have the most confortable beds in Ecuador by far, the food made wiht organic local products is tasty and healty a rare combination achive only by slow food proces.

The staf went out of there way to help me and my family to organize all we needed during our trip. We are going to be in Ecuador for 4 weekes and it greta to have a place like Cafe Cultura that really care about you.

The best Boutique Hotel in Ecuador by far.

Room Tip: Room 1 and room 3 are just incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at Cafe Cultura for 2 nights before our trip to Yasuni National Park and for one night when we returned. For 10$ we were able to store our suitcases there during our Yasuni trip. The rather small rooms are all painted with angels and flowers. I liked the coziness and relaxed atmosphere of the hotel. There is a lovely warm inviting lobby with leather sofas, a fireplace, and bits of antiques. Free coffee and tea are available around the clock. The hotel's restaurant served very nice food. Menu had several meat, fish, and chicken selections and several different salads. The unfortunates of the restaurant were its limited hours and lack of libations. We asked for red wine the first night and there was none. They were also short on white wine as well. The restaurant closes at 8pm. In general the staff were very good.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 and 17 are larger and have a sitting area. All rooms on first floor allow easy access to ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debralovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was my third visit to Cafe Cultura. I stay here because I've always liked its location, quirkiness and the laid-back, friendly atmosphere, as well as its reasonable price.

This is, however, not a luxury property by any means, so don't expect a lot of modern amenities. Rooms are quite varied, don't be afraid to ask for a different room if you're dissatisfied with the one you get. If they're not fully booked, Cafe Cultura is very flexible about reassigning rooms. Bathrooms can range from cramped to unbelievably spacious. Showers....,well, sometimes they work well, sometimes they don't. Breakfasts -- if you are on the American plan -- are basic, with the most outstanding feature being the fresh juice. Dined at Cafe Cultura only one night, food was good. Staff was mostly very helpful and friendly.

I recommend Cafe Cultura but it is not for those travelers who are used to (and prefer) American chain hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our problems with this hotel started even before we arrived. I contacted them prior to arrival to ask how to get from the bus terminal to the hotel and if we could leave our luggage with them if we arrived prior to check-in time. Although receipt of my message was acknowledged, I never got an answer. I would just write off that omission, as well as the unfriendly desk clerk (who never smiled, never welcomed us, didn’t wish us a pleasant stay, and basically just turned her back on us and went back to what she was doing) without mention, if it weren’t for all the other issues that followed.

This room (#10) is billed as a suite, at $149. Apparently it is considered a suite simply because it has a sitting area separated from the bedroom by a curtain. The sitting area, however, is practically nonfunctional. One piece of furniture, presumably intended for sitting, is a hard chest with no cushion. There is no coffee table upon which to set one’s laptop, coffee cup, wineglass, etc. We had to use the floor. There are no curtains on the windows that open onto the path from the garden to the lobby and dining room, so people walking by can look right in (and one nosy man did just crane his neck and stare in every time he went by). The wood floor in the sitting area is so creaky, we didn’t dare walk on it when one of us was sleeping (if one could even sleep!).

The bedroom was extremely dark, as was the entire unit. Three of four light fixtures were missing one of two bulbs (the fourth only required one bulb), so we have to assume this was intentional, and none of those three fixtures had globes on them, just one bare bulb each. It was sooooo dark! My husband stubbed his toe very severely on the fireplace hearth, because he couldn’t see it in the extremely dark room. The very small bathroom was equally dark. I hit my elbow on the door behind me while trying to put on my makeup by the light of one lightbulb six feet above my head. There was barely room to sit down on the toilet without falling backwards, the wall was so close to my knees. A larger person definitely would not fit in this bathroom at all.

There was indeed a fireplace, and wood had been provided, but there was no kindling or paper with which to start a fire, even though we did try.

We got next to no sleep for three nights. First, something kept turning on and off all night long, every minute or less, running for less than five seconds and turning off for less than a minute, all night long. Then, the staff (we assume, as we never heard this before we went to bed or after we got up, only in the middle of the night) was scraping furniture across the floor, banging on something, walking on the wood floor, etc. This was either next to us or above us. One night, they even clanged and banged the propane tanks, which apparently were also right next door to our room. Besides all this noise they could have done something about, there were also large noisy trucks stopping at the intersection where this hotel is located and then taking off again, all night long. I would imagine that this could be heard from any room in the hotel, although some (ours!) more so than others.

The restaurant, like many hotel restaurants, probably survives only because of its convenience. The first night, since it was convenient, we ate there, and they were out of fish (about a third of the offered entries) and wine. We stayed only because Andre, our server, was so darn cute and personable and spoke very good English. My pasta was adequate, and my husband’s chicken was good. A coupon for an “American breakfast” (two eggs, toast, jam, juice, and coffee) came with the room. It was the same breakfast every morning. The coupon value could not be applied to any other breakfast, most of which were at least $12. Why would you not want to allow your guests to spend more if they want?!

The second morning when we went in for breakfast, there was a large black dog in the dining room. This dog apparently belonged to the concierge, who, also, was so loud we could barely hear ourselves talk to order breakfast. We later had to skirt around this same big dog sitting scratching in the middle of the doorway to get out the front door. The next morning, it was sitting half in and half out of the kitchen. There were also people in the kitchen who didn’t belong there, with outerwear, backpacks,..... While the hotel seemed clean, I would definitely question how sanitary, especially in the kitchen.

At check-out, their equipment could not process my Visa Signature card, and only after I pretty much insisted, the desk clerk processed it manually and called for an authorization code. It took us a good half-hour to check out, and she never asked how everything was, which wasn’t at all surprising, everything else considered.

Yes, the hotel is charming to look at (although the touted garden leaves a lot to be desired), but it is definitely not a consideration when we go back to Quito.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juanita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have stayed in hotels or B and B's throughout the U.S. and Europe and this property is one of our favorites, although we only stayed there three nights. We could have stayed another night or two but our daughter, studying in Quito, had other plans for us, so we sadly had to leave Cafe' Cultura. The rooms are clean and spacious, the outside courtyard, library and lobby (More like a living room) were very relaxing. There will be some noise (depending where your room is) from people coming and going (Not often) but this would be expected in a building that is approx 125 years old (used as a private residence and French Culture Centre or Embassy). We would take the same room again. The Staff is friendly and helpful and if/when we visit Ecuador again, we WILL stay at Cafe' Cultura !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Going to Quito and want to avoid the chain hotels (Hilton, Marriott) and get the local flavor? Cafe Cultura would be an excellent choice. Friendly, helpful staff welcome you to this former ambassador's residence and the first boutique hotel in Quito. Fabulous wall decorations are everywhere and each room is different and beautiful. Very comfortable beds and terrific restaurant (be sure to try to hearty breakfasts and delicious dinners) on-site. Well located in a this rather confusing city (no 'square blocks' to be found and terrible public transit, BUT the cabs are cheap and easy). The hotel is not sparkling new, but is spotlessly clean. We would return again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side avoid street noise, but not a huge problem in any room. Suites are extra roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BearZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.6 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cartuja
Hotel La Cartuja
#41 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#33 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Cultura Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Cultura Boutique Hotel

Property: Cafe Cultura Boutique Hotel
Address: Robles 513 y Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cafe Cultura Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cafe Cultura Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Cultura Quito
Cafe Cultura Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing