We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Hotel Sierra Madre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sierra Madre
Ranked #61 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Friendly staff went out of their way to assist with lost baggage (airline) and answer my questions. I was impressed with the facilities. Wifi, water dispensers fresh towels/linen and good food all appreciated. Far exceeded what I expected in this price range. Great location close to older area as well as conveniences. The service is what made it though as a lone female traveller. Would definitely stay there again if I go back to Quito.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katnz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel. It was well located as it was near Mariscal area and only a short taxi ride from the centre of town.The room had good space and a good bathroom, and its own bacony. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The decor of the hotel is rustic and characterful, with timber and/or cermic floors.Highly recommended for a budget option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DigbyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel two nights: one at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end. There was a room mix up both times because we paid for a room with a balcony and they originally put us in one without, but they did change it. Our view from the balcony was amazing! My boyfriend even went to the local shop and bought some beer and we just sat and admired the views after a long day of hiking and traveling. In the morning, the first thing I did was go out on the balcony and see the sleeping city.

The location is very close to Mariscal district, however it is a pretty young area and not really that interesting at night, unless you wanna eat burgers and drink for the same price you would in NY. (My boyfriend and I were looking for a more Ecuadorian influence)

The breakfast was good. We got the American breakfast and therefore, if we wante any of the cereal, cheese, or salami, we had to pay extra- it seemed rather silly, but whatever.

Overall it was really comfortable and we enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chimmerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Excellent service at the hotel, Santiago and the other employees were very helpful and made me feel like I was home. The food was good, and they had plenty of information about places to stay and visit in Quito. Of course I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Quito is not the safest, and the street this hotel on feels like most in the city, but the hotel is adorable, and the staff very friendly. They have signs explaining the hot water situation, and we got upgraded on our way out to the suite which has a GREAT view from the balcony. I would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RN2travel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night before our flight to Cuenca. The desk clerk spoke pretty good English and was very helpful. He was happy to call and book our hotel in Cuenca for us. We missed breakfast so can't vouch for that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatStLgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The room was really big for the price, the hotel works with your needs. Really clean rooms, hot shower. Wifi is excellent in the room. I recommend, very helpful and nice. Great hotel that's close enough to the airport. its near a mall with taxi. Can walk to mcdonalds and get a mcfiesta. Breakfast that's included is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#37 of 113 in Quito
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barnard
Hotel Barnard
#47 of 113 in Quito
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#35 of 113 in Quito
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#10 of 113 in Quito
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Zentrum
Hostal Zentrum
#32 of 113 in Quito
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Madre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Madre

Address: Veintimilla e9-33 y Luis Tamayo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: £46 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Madre 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sierra Madre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Madre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing