We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vistas, Comfort and Convivial”
Review of Hotel Sierra Madre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sierra Madre
Ranked #56 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Santa Fe, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vistas, Comfort and Convivial”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Thanks to the responsiveness of the staff at Hotel Sierra Madre our transition from the States to Ecuador was seamless. We appreciated a clean and ample room, with a lovely terrace to welcome the morning sun and the beginning of our venture in Quito. The breakfast is laid out in a lovely dining area with fresh huevos, in whatever style you want, immediately offered. We were very comfortable and appreciated the warm welcome and informative assistance of Daniella, a very caring and extending woman at the front desk. She made our stay particularly welcoming, just like family! My husband and I were extremely happy to have Sierra Madre as our affordable and convenient landing.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyLGoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    63
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
19
69
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A very interesting hotel, "Old World" charm, the staff were friendly and their English was much better than my Spanish, the room was clean and the hotel is on the main road from the airport and into the city with public transport close readily available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What could be a lovely hotel has been let to become run down. The carpets are worn and frayed, the basin in my bathroom was cracked and there were chips in the walls. The bathrooms are also tiny. Besides the deterioration in the physical building, everything else was great. The staff spoke good English and were very kind and helpful. The rooms were kept very clean and the beds had lovely thick blankets on. You can hear other guests in the passages outside your room. The restaurant served a delicious dinner, tasty juices for breakfast and lovely fresh bread rolls. The hotel is just outside the mariscal district and close to public transport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Hotel is well seated in Quito but, from our perpective, it might have seen its best days a few years ago. The room we stayed need urgent some renovation. We had to carry our luggage staires up and down, until we reached our room. We had dinner and this was perfect and prepared with love. Breakfast was ok,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had reason to stay in Quito 3 different times in 6 weeks and stayed at Hotel Sierra Madre all three times. It's very close to Plaza Foch and various interesting restaurants, stores and museums, but is relatively quiet! We stayed in another hotel close to Plaza Foch one night and it was so noisy we had to wear earplugs. We canceled our other nights there and moved back to Sierra Madre. The breakfast was simple, but nice and the staff was very willing to accommodate our needing to eat earlier than they were usually open. We enjoyed the ample dinners in the peaceful atmosphere. They were so big we could split one dinner.

Sierra Madre is family run and everyone working there is very friendly and helpful. The rooms come in various sizes and layout because it's in a refurbished Spanish Villa, which adds to it's charm. Everything was clean and comfortable and the Internet worked in all three rooms we were in. We plan to stay there again on future trips!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kacondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The staff was very helpful with my lost luggage (lost at the airport), thank you! They also called for the taxis, allowed me to print my boarding pass, small things that made my stay more enjoyable.
I've stayed there twice, the first room was good - clean, good size; the second room was excellent - beautiful view from the terrace.
The location is excellent, short walk to restaurants and bars area, short taxi ride to the old city. I've thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgdfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights (Fri-Sun) during recent visit. Enjoyed a 2nd floor room with double beds and a nice balcony facing Calle Veintimilla. The room was a decent size for 2 people for a few nights but the balcony provided a little extra al fresco space to unwind with a drink before dinner, read a book, or just take in the city views. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom also was clean but extremely small, so much so, that you almost needed to be a contortionist to use it. The hotel is a nicely restored colonial property with character and warm inviting colors. Being old and restored, it has the typical creaking floors and other sound transmissions but none of the guests during our stay were excessively noisy so that was not really an issue. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful and provided directions and recommendations for us. The hotel advertises that it is in a quiet neighborhood; however, Veintimilla is a large two-way street and has a bus route on it. There are also a couple of late night eateries closeby. Our room faced the street so it made more of a difference but other rooms in the back of the hotel probably don't experience any of the city sounds. The hotel is convenient walking distance to most of the offerings in Mariscal and is about 6 blocks from Plaza Foch. It is between Avenues 6 of December and 12 of October so you have easy access to the Ecovia line and the regular blue city buses. Overall, this is a nice option for those wanting to be close to all the action of Mariscal but far enough way to be removed from the main noise and crowds. I recommend checking it out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomasEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#36 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alston Inn Hotel
Alston Inn Hotel
#63 of 115 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.9 mi away
Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez
0.1 mi away
Hotel 6 De Diciembre
Hotel 6 De Diciembre
#77 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Madre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Madre

Property: Hotel Sierra Madre
Address: Veintimilla e9-33 y Luis Tamayo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Madre 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sierra Madre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Madre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing