We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT experience”
Review of Posada Del Maple

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Del Maple
Ranked #31 of 229 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Granby, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“GREAT experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in Quito for about a week and spent time in three different hostels. The Posada del Maple was far and away the best. Reasonable prices for bunks and shared rooms. A good breakfast that is made fresh to your order. Multiple community rooms both inside and out, some small and intimate, and some big enough for large groups to gather. Located on a shady, tree-lined street that is in a quite corner of Gringo Town and only blocks away from the nearest transit stop. I would not even continue looking for a better hostel in Quito, as Posada Del Maple has everything I'm looking for.

Room Tip: Street side is better than the back alley, and they have a few rooms with private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    69
    33
    6
    13
See reviews for
13
55
47
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I made a reservation at the Posada del Maple, and arrived at around 6PM to check in. The woman at the desk said that they were full. Our reservation was going to another hotel -- Hotel Alcala, which is a few blocks away. She did not apologize and this seemed like it was a normal occurrence for her. I then read on Hostelbookers that this happens all the time to those who make reservations at Posada del Maple.

I asked repeatedly that the new hotel was exactly the same as Posada del Maple, and she said yes. Same price, same breakfast, same rooms. Same.

She called a car to take us to the other hotel, and the car driver asked us to pay him... which seemed strange since we already paid for a taxi to Posada del Maple and were only leaving there since they messed up our reservation. We told him to go back to Posada del Maple and ask them.

The woman at Hotel Alcala knew nothing about why we were there or our reservation with Posada del Maple. When it came time to check out, Hotel Alcala expected us to pay their higher room rate instead of the rate we reserved at Posada del Maple...

Basically, do not trust that you will have a room at Posada del Maple if you make a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kokusai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela G, Owner at Posada Del Maple, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
I am Manuela, hostel's owner. I am very sorry for causing you any problem. I found out about what had happened to look for not repit the mistake. You reserved by Booking and it does not garanty the reserve since it is not directly connected with us, but we should help you to reserve somewhere else in the same level of quality and rates. We do send you to our other hostel, Alcala that has similar services and rates in ensuite rooms.
After this problem we start to use a new sistem to process all reservations that come from booking, hostelworld and similars, to garanty not to have double reserves.
We usually are full and it has being complicate to manage this type of reservations but we hope with this new program it will be solve.
Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife stayed with a group and she was very happy with the B&B and location. Very clean, the wifi worked well and the B&B is in a decent neighborhood.
If you are traveling in a group this would definitely be a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is your typical hostel, nothing fancy. My family found it a very good for the price. We've stayed here a couple of times over the past year in various rooms. Some of the rooms are better than others, the best are on the third floor with private baths. We thought these were the best, but be warned they all have slanted roofs so watch your head if you're tall. We found them charming but others may not like that. The rooms with shared bath are okay but the shared bathroom on the second floor is very worn and sad looking. The positives: great location, free breakfast (basics), clean bathrooms, multiple areas downstairs to relax, free computer with internet, friendly staff, good towels (not the paper thin kind). The negatives: free wifi only sporadically works on the first floor, the floors are squeaky (bring ear plugs), no heat or air conditioning, the furniture on the main floor is pretty worn, you can only pay bill in cash. If you need good free wifi go to the Magic Bean a couple of blocks away they have decent menu and outside bar for coffee drinks on the go, but service can be slow. Also, there are a couple of English bookstores nearby where you can trade in your books (paperback) and get new ones which is a great thing when traveling! Forgot the names by they are only a block or two of the main square.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms on the third floor with the slanted ceilings, if you are okay with character. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clevelandtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

For the price, this is a very decent place. Quiet, yet close to all the trendy restaurants and clubs. Clean, the staff is nice, breakfast is included, Wi-Fi, a sprawling set of sitting and living rooms where you can relax with a book or chat with friends. The bed was good too, I had no problem sleeping.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are darker and noisier, some have mold problems--but they have the best Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Pros:
1. Decent Place for a great price
2. Discounted price if you volunteer with Jatun Sacha Foundation!! (which is a great opportunity)
3. Relatively quiet and few blocks from the main street
4. very Nice people
5. Delicious morning breakfast

Cons:
1. Dont expect it to be a 4 or 5 star hotel
2. Old furniture, beds, toilets etc

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbrdarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The personnel is helpless, they give you the wrong information about busses and schedules, internet DOESN'T WORK, rooms are barely OK, bathrooms are badly cleaned.
Incompetent, dirty and bad wifi. CRAP!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuela G, Propietario at Posada Del Maple, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Google Translation
Me he tomado algunos días para responder ya que la situación fue extrema. El hostal es conocido en el mundo de los viajeros internacionales desde hace más de 22 años y ha sido ampliamente recomendado a través de los años, de tal forma que hemos crecido desde 3 habitaciones a 18 y, personas cecanas tienen 4 hostales que nacieron por nuestra demanda. Nuestras instalaciones mejoran permanentemente porque yo soy viajera y respondo a lo que veo se puede necesitar o mejorar después de cada experiencia nueva. Lamentablemente no se puede complacer a todos y, aunque durante los 22 años de existencia hemos tenido algunos problemas (algunos por situaciones ajenas a nuestra responsabilidad), podemos contar con los dedos de una mano los similares al ocurrido con la señora que escribe la queja. El hostal cuenta con servicio de 2 cabinas de internet y zona wifi, lo que implicó inversión y significa un alto gasto mensual, pero es imposible garantizar el servicio de un proveedor. La pasajera empezó el reclamo porque ese momento (según ella,ya que otros pasajeros dijeron lo contrario) no había servico de wi fi, para luego protestar por todo, entre eso la información sobre buses al aeropuerto (aunque la información está expuesta claramente en carteles en sitios estratégicos). Después agredió a la empleada de turno al extremo de casi llegar a la violencia física. pOr el escándalo acudió el gerente y en respuesta a sus gritos y amenaza de que se iría a otro hostal y exigir la devolución de su pago total de su estadía (3 días), el gerente pidió se le devuelva el importe del día y le pidió abandonar el hostal, lo que llevó tiempo y más agresión. Lo extraño es que la señora había llegado el 1 de abril y se alojó sin ningún problema y con buena actitud, retornó el 5 y recien el 6 a las 8 pm con una actitud totalmemente fuera de lo aceptable, se dió el suceso. Debo aclarar que para poder retornar a la calma y que la señora abandone nuestras instalaciones, se le devolvió el importe completo del día 6, aunque eran las 8 pm y había pagado con tarjeta, por lo que no solo perdimos el día de hospedaje sino el IVA y la comisión que cobra la tarjeta,
Como propietaria del hostal rechazo la agresión y falta de respeto a cualquier miembro del personal, más aun a Judith que ha trabajado con nosotros desde la apertura y ha probado su compromiso con su trabajo y responsabilidades por más de 22 años.
Aprovecho para expresar mi disconformidad sobre el que las personas puedan exponer temas como estos sin firma ni nombre. Por supuesto, sé el nombre de la pasajera pero no he querido escribirlo por principio ético, sin embargo creo que los propietarios y administradores de los negocios deberíamos tener la posibilidad de exponer el nombre y datos completos de este tipo de personas para alertar a otros de negocios similares.
Manuela Gallegos, propietaria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
L'Auberge INN
L'Auberge INN
#24 of 229 in Quito
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#43 of 256 in Quito
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alcala
Hostal Alcala
#32 of 229 in Quito
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Andino
Hotel Andino
#26 of 229 in Quito
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#35 of 229 in Quito
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 256 in Quito
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Maple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Maple

Property: Posada Del Maple
Address: Juan Rodriguez E8-49 y 6 de Diciembre | La Mariscal, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Del Maple 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the best and quite street of La Mariscal District,the touristic heart of Quito, close to everything you will required. We have:sharing dorms, sharing bath room and private bath rooms with TV sat. All include a great bufet breakfast.Communal services:sitting rooms, patios,terraces,kitchen with free hot beberages. Free internet and WiFi, free luggage storage and use of safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Posada Del Maple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing