We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid during the rainy season”
Review of Posada Del Maple

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Del Maple
Ranked #34 of 247 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very close to plaza Foch (where the night life happens), la Posada del Maple has the potential to be a charming place, with cute terraces in the back of the house. However, the coldness of Quito during the rainy days made it an unpleasant experience.  Although Posada del Maple had the basics--clean rooms and hot water--between having to wear a coat while in the lobby area (the only place where wifi was available) and even while in your  room, less than the basics for cooking your own meal (such as plates, cups, etc.) in the old, common kitchen, and the paint peeling off the walls...it made many of us find another place.  Perhaps the experience would have been different had the weather been warmer...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasoiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed here for four days and could have stayed longer. There is a very comfortable feeling in this large house. There is plenty of room and nobody needs to be crowded at any time. The breakfast (included) was very welcome in the morning, and there was a good kitchen to do your own cooking for later meals, although with the price of lunch about town ($2.50) there is really no need to cook. The staff here are very friendly and help full. I would certainly come here again.

Room Tip: There are so many to choose from that it is a case of make your mind up time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just a good place to stay in Quito, nice staffs, good breakfast, beautifull house with perfect Patio and terrasses, room ok....and close to everything. If you stay long time, you can easily feel "at home".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djukbaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in double room with shared bathroom. The room was clean and fine, but very cold, as there is no heating in the hostel and all the doors are left open day and night. It is in a good location for the new town, but everything else about hostel is very basic.

Unfortunately the bathrooms are a joke, 2 cubicles with shower and toilet, but the dividing wall is 4foot high, no privacy and they were not cleaned for the full 3 days we were there. The kitchen is useless, no cutlery, about 2 pots and 3 forks between the entire hostel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank emoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We went to this hostel in Quito after staying 2 nights in another hostel in the Mariscal area. It is a charming place, the same lady (poss. the owner) is present all day long and ready to answer your questions. the place is very nice as it is a historical building so it has many little rooms everywhere so it's easy to find a quiet place to relax. The shared bathrooms are clean, rooms are nice. Breakfast is also included in the price of the room so it makes it very valuable!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joaniejp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We moved to Posada del Maple because our previous hostel did not have space for us to stay longer. I had read they have problems with reservations, so I made sure to book online and call them to confirm. We had no problems when we arrived. We asked for a room with shared bathroom, and had a queen bed and an extra bunkbed to spread our things on (I love when that happend). The shared bathroom is not ideal, it is 2 stalls with a wall that doesn't go all the way to the ceiling, so you don't feel much privacy. However, out of the 8 nights total we were there, I think I only bumped into people once or twice in there. There are also two restrooms downstairs you can use if you need some privacy! We used the hostel to come and go from in between 2 day excursions, and they always stored our stuff and kept it safe. The breakfast is great, the coffee and tea station really made my morning! The wifi was generally good but one day it was out. Typical.
The one time I had a complaint was a night that I stayed in a dorm because my boyfriend and I were doing different things. The dorm was across the street in their sister hostel (Posada del jasmin), and I arrived around 10pm. She didn't have my reservation but had one bed left. The room had no ventilation, 8 beds, no floor space for luggage. It was stuffy and I hardly slept at all. Breakfast there is minimal compared to Maple also!
Oh and the location is fantastic! It's in the Zona Rosa, but on a random quiet street lined with beautiful trees. Compared to the other hostels in the area, it is much quieter but you are a safe walk away from all the parties! It's a gem for that.

Room Tip: Ask to be upstairs towards the back of the house. Don't do the dorms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namastekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms and it was a bit like staying in a treehouse, which I loved. It was upstairs with a private bathroom and private balcony/hammock - overlooked 2 courtyards. We found the staff - Mimi and Rosa - to both be very helpful with arranging taxis, etc. Once we were even very overcharged by a taxi driver who seemed to be taking advantage of us and Rosa got our money back! The breakfast is free people - lower your expectations - fresh juice, scrambled eggs, toast and fruit is reasonable for a hostel.
The downsides are that the wifi is spotty, the water pressure/hot water is poor and there is no safe in the room and the rooms aren't all very secure so you need to carry your valuables with you.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJohnson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#42 of 113 in Quito
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Zentrum
Hostal Zentrum
#34 of 113 in Quito
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 113 in Quito
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alcala
Hostal Alcala
#28 of 247 in Quito
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Penthouse Lodge
The Penthouse Lodge
#16 of 247 in Quito
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aleida's Hostal
Aleida's Hostal
#10 of 287 in Quito
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Maple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Maple

Address: Juan Rodriguez E8-49 y 6 de Diciembre | La Mariscal, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £19 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Del Maple 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the best and quite street of La Mariscal District,the touristic heart of Quito, close to everything you will required. We have:sharing dorms, sharing bath room and private bath rooms with TV sat. All include a great bufet breakfast.Communal services:sitting rooms, patios,terraces,kitchen with free hot beberages. Free internet and WiFi, free luggage storage and use of safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Posada Del Maple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing