We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money but bad service”
Review of Posada Del Maple

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Del Maple
Ranked #31 of 229 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good value for money but bad service”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed one night in a single bedroom with private bathroom

Pros
- Good location in a quiet street near a nightlife area (restaurants, bars...)
- Excellent value for money (i paid 9$)
- Fast wifi, hot shower, kitcher, TV room, free computer...
- Breakfast included (fresh juice, bread and jam, eggs, hot drink)

Cons
- Staff dont speak english
- The first day, the girl from the staff was really rude... I was coming back to the hostel after lunch and just after i went into the hostel, the girl was yelling " SHUT THE ENTRANCE DOOR" but this door was allready opened before me and even if it was not, you can ask the same thing in a polite way... The next day a friend was visiting me and just after we entered in the hostel, the same girl told us "NO VISITOR IN PRIVATE ROOM, ONLY IN COMMON AREA !"

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank CyrilMaraboO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    69
    33
    6
    13
See reviews for
13
55
47
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a great place to stay, with breakfast included, you can use the kitchen and it has wifi and also the location is perfect for tourists, close to lots of interesting places to visit. Simple but really good!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinadias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
At my desk
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our travels kept bringing us back to Quito and we keep going back to Posada del Maple. Comfortable, clean, well located rooms. Breakfast good and filling. Great staff, very willing to order taxis, give directions, help in any way. Great bag storage facilities. It's not 5 star but at $8 for a dorm room and $38 for a good sized double room with private bathroom it's excellent value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OttersTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I had stayed here in 2002 and wanted to come back because its a quite road but close to restaurants and not far from travel agents etc. The hostal hadn t changed and was clean, quiet, and as before there was use of kitchen and fridge. The breakfast was included in the price (double room 38$per night). The rooms were cleaned each day ...sometimes tidied too much for our liking and articles put away in places we couldn t find straight away! But the place is safe and although it is rather a youth hostal than a hotel the other clients were respectful of noise level and we enjoyed our stay. It was a rainy week and our clothes felt mostly damp but there were blankets for the beds so we were not cold. I would recommend for budget travellers!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We used Quito as our base for the surrounding activities (amazon trip, Otavalo market ect.) The main receptionist is so lovely!! She runs a tight ship and has no english but I still really enjoyed her service!
What I really liked about the hostel is that there is a basement to put your backpack and they take your name for it and there is also a safety deposit which we left laptops and phones behind in when we went on overnight trips.
Free brekkie of eggs toast juice and coffee every morning. Free wifi and big common areas.
Down point were that its a bit cold and the computers need updating. Also the bag lock up is only 10 until 9 but its because there are rooms near it and they dont want to disturb them.
Really enjoyed my stay and would reccomend it to people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
1,157 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

No heater! Bring warm pyjamas. Room 5 with private bath. Hot water!
Double bed and twin in small corner. Clean and comfortable. Some minor maintenance needed. Excellent location in Newtown. Close to the action, restaurants, bars, discos around the corner. You can walk to old town (done). But you may want to go by taxi. So much to see so little time.
airport pickup $25. Free Wifi, breakfast included. Egg, coffee, tea, juice, toast, jam. Several areas to relax also tv room. Room 5 has it.s own small tv with several English channels. And the most important, the price is right.
there are numerous hostels on the same street (500 yards). If you like staying at a hostel , this should be your 1st choice. Recommended MeuterMedia

Room Tip: Private room and bath no 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Super friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms - I stayed in the dorms. Good wifi. Delicious breakfast every morning. Plenty of space to hang out. Quiet, but central to all the nightlife of Mariscal.

Everything I needed for my stay in Quito.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexecali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
L'Auberge INN
L'Auberge INN
#23 of 229 in Quito
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#42 of 257 in Quito
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alcala
Hostal Alcala
#32 of 229 in Quito
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Andino
Hotel Andino
#25 of 229 in Quito
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#35 of 229 in Quito
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 257 in Quito
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Maple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Maple

Property: Posada Del Maple
Address: Juan Rodriguez E8-49 y 6 de Diciembre | La Mariscal, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Del Maple 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the best and quite street of La Mariscal District,the touristic heart of Quito, close to everything you will required. We have:sharing dorms, sharing bath room and private bath rooms with TV sat. All include a great bufet breakfast.Communal services:sitting rooms, patios,terraces,kitchen with free hot beberages. Free internet and WiFi, free luggage storage and use of safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Del Maple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing