We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lodging w/ quirks”
Review of Posada Del Maple

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Del Maple
Ranked #35 of 247 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2005

Stayed here four nights, over the course of a couple weeks. Staff was very friendly and remembered us upon our several returns (don't forget to ask for your key deposit back the night prior to departure if you're leaving early in the morning and there's no one at the front desk!). We stayed in the mini-suite, which was basic, had a TV and a very large shower w/ good water pressure.

Speaking Spanish whould have been very helpful.

This is a typical backpacker's hostal, and the noise in the common areas can be loud at night, esp. if you have to catch a flight early the next morning. Breakfast was ample and varied (eggs, toast, fruit, pancakes, fresh juice, etc...). While we did not stay in them, many of the other rooms were not en suite, and were shared with others.

Contrary to another review here, the mini-suite was not up several levels (though the place is 3 stories tall and has only stairs); it was up one flight of perfectly serviceable outdoor stairs. And while the place in general was a little rustic and worn, it was more than you might expect in a hotel in a third world country.

Our last night in Quito, we were supposed to stay here, but there was a problem with our reservation. We were hustled over to their sister hostal (2 blocks away), called the Alcala. The Alcala was much quieter, although it was a little closer to the 'action' in that section of town (Mariscal/new town).

All in all, we were satisfied with PdM, and if you're a young backpacker type, it'll probably be right up your alley.

We paid $30/night, including breakfast and tax.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 170 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Antwerp, Belgium
16
Reviewed 6 October 2004

after having reserved the "mini suite" we were very disapointed to find a room barely deserving the name "room"; a building backwards in maintenance, narrow unsafe staircase leading to room, low ceilings resembling a coffin, horrible decoration. Worse was the service, or better said lack of it. Rude indifferent personel, no help at all, one can not even use the phone against payment to call a taxi. However having reserved space the first and last night of our stay, we felt we had to go back and honour the reservation as a courtesy however no pre payment had been asked. Our only request was to give us another room, one where we did not have to climb inconvenient stairs and passing numerous levels, because continueing our trip to Europe we had to leave at 3 AM in the morning with a lot of luggage and realizing that there would be no assistance at all. To us this seemed to be a reasonable request ( there was space available and we were also willing to leave and look for other lodging), to them it appeared to be a mayor problem and finally we left with the owner of the hotel literarily yelling and insulting us in public. We felt totally harrassed. It was our worst experience in Quito, the rest of our stay was very pleasant and to be repeated.
We fully understand that a low to average budget hotel does not cater to high quality wishes and do not expect that. But a friendly service and a smile do wonders. Total lack of profesionalism, hospitality and efficiency!! Be aware, inviting descriptions can end in a nightmare!!!!!!
And a good look from the outside doesn't tell anything from what you will find behind the doors.
A real low class place!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2004

Haven't been to Quito since 2000. I do remember this hotel as having very nice workers. Lots of stuff to do & see near Quito. (I lived in Ecuador for some time.)


Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: primer piso al frente tienen balcon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavo Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gustavo170580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Posada Del Maple, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cunxita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Posada Del Maple, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanchonegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Posada Del Maple, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal Zentrum
Hostal Zentrum
#36 of 112 in Quito
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#34 of 112 in Quito
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alcala
Hostal Alcala
#27 of 247 in Quito
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Foch
Hotel Casa Foch
#34 of 247 in Quito
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aleida's Hostal
Aleida's Hostal
#10 of 285 in Quito
151 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hosteria Rosa Blanca
Hosteria Rosa Blanca
#2 of 6 in Puembo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Maple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Maple

Address: Juan Rodriguez E8-49 y 6 de Diciembre | La Mariscal, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £19 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Del Maple 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the best and quite street of La Mariscal District,the touristic heart of Quito, close to everything you will required. We have:sharing dorms, sharing bath room and private bath rooms with TV sat. All include a great bufet breakfast.Communal services:sitting rooms, patios,terraces,kitchen with free hot beberages. Free internet and WiFi, free luggage storage and use of safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Posada Del Maple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing