We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"good location, clean rooms, average service"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fuente de Piedra II Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fuente de Piedra II Hostal
Ranked #132 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"good location, clean rooms, average service"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed three nights during May & June 2012 - there were not very many foreign tourists around during this time. The hotel definitely had character, the rooms were spacious, clean, there was a television (though I didn't turn it on) and we appreciated the free internet. The breakfast was average - nothing special, but enough to start the day.

There was always a security guard by the front door. I felt comfortable walking around during the day - it was approximately 20 to 30 mins to walk to the historical center and no more than 10 mins to Plaza Foch in the newer area, where all the bars and restaurants are located. At night the area got a little "shady" i.e. prostitutes across the street two nights in a row, and some "strange folk" walking down some of the streets nearby, which made us feel a little uncomfortable.

The staff there spoke a little English, were quite friendly, but I didn't find them to be very knowledgeable or helpful regarding tourist information and getting around. My biggest disappointed was when I asked if they'd call us a cab to go to the bus terminal, and they called us a non-registered, non-metered taxi which took a REALLY long route there and charged us about double or more what it should have cost...I thought we could at least trust the hotel to call us a proper taxi...anyway, we probably should have sent it away, found our own, and I'm sure it would have helped if our Spanish were better!

Room Tip: fyi - No elevator. Main floor near the meeting room was a little on the noisy side. Upper floors s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7dancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Manager at Fuente de Piedra II Hostal, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us through the Trip Advisor website. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the incident that you experienced regarding with the taxi at the time you were leaving our hostel, we have taken the required measures to not allow this kind of incidents happen again.

Once again, we want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion with respect to our services. This is an invaluable tool we use to improve our quality in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,
Carlos Sarango
Manager at hotel Fuente de Piedra II, Quito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
22
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Nice Hotel/Hostal in Marescal, Quito. Near (3 mins walk) to Plaza Foch and the great variety of restaurants and bars, while being far enough away to allow an undisturbed nights sleep. Staff were very friendly and very keen to assist in any way they can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with external windows - some rooms windows open into internal areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a pleasant room but be warned that there is no elevator. However, the security guard will carry your bags up and down. All of the staff are very friendly.

They seem to be in the midst of upgrading the hotel.

This hotel is in the Mariscal district which is usually very busy with stores, restaurants, and clubs. But, we stayed there on a Sunday night and the area was deserted. The hotel staff and an area bodega both warned us about walking around after dark. We did so anyway--we were cautious but didn't saty out long.

Best for young people.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I arrived in Quito in mid January 2012 from Washington State USA. I was meeting my father and brother who live in Argentina and due to flight delays arrived at the hotel before my father who's name it was under. I am only partially bilingual and after the flight was certainly not on my A-game but the staff at the counter worked with me to find the reservation and let me in the room with no problem. Our room, a triple was clean spacious (for Quito) and the internet connections was strong (for Quito.) The location is slightly less desireable than other hotels in the area including Fuente de Piedra I but we had no problems walking to and from the hotel in the day or at night as three adult men. After a couple days we switched to the Fuente de Piedra I and kinda regretted it due to smaller rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinsua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed here for three nights.. and used it as a stopover for our onward trips to the Galapagos and the rain forest. It was recommended to us by Denisse from Surtrek. Well, we weren't disappointed. The location is excellent.. very close to restaurants, bars and the handicraft market. Marcello (the manager) was great. On the last day, given that we had time only from 12pm onwards, he arranged for a cab to show us around Quito. Obviously, the guided tour (for a day) would be have been much better, but for 1/4th the cost of the guided tour, we could see quite a bit of quito in 6 hours, Really good value for money. The breakfast is good and the security is tight. Overall, we quite enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: It can be a bit noisy in the night, a suggestion would be to take a room (not facing the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhurrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here for a week - choosing the hotel based on price and included breakfast after considering several larger chain hotels. Most rooms have multiple beds - since the hotel us used by many groups on their stopover to the Galapagos or other parts of Ecuador. We seemed to be the only rooms that were there for a full week.
Beds were comfortable, hot water usually good unless a large group had just arrived and all took showers at same time.
Breakfast was good with coffee, juice, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, eggs, etc every morning. Even the mornings that we left early for tours - they gave use coffee and rolls which was greatly appreciated.
Location is very good - on main street in Mariscal, just a few blocks from restaurants, loads of hostels and some shops.
Bus to old city is only 3 blocks away - (25 cents each way). Taxis were easy to get and cheap - just make sure to ask first how much it will be. Manager and front desk staff were very helpful with tour information and suggestions for what to do. Excellent 24 hour security with guard at the door. Maid service was fine - don't' expect 5-star service from this friendly small hotel, but you'll probably gladly exchange this for the great price. One issue may be street noise, but this is an issue at almost any hotel in Mariscal - so bring some earplugs if this is an issue... I got used to it in a few minutes and slept fine.

Room Tip: Some rooms have 'internal windows' that open to the hallways. The staff usually saves these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

To be clear, I stayed at Hotel Fuente de Piedra 1 (not 2). I read some good reviews and the price was right, so I decided to check it out. I was not disappointed! The hotel is small and tastefully decorated. It has a beautiful courtyard with a soothing fountain that is a wonderful backdrop to enjoy free breakfast. The beds and pillows were comfy, though the rooms are not exactly soundproof, so bring your earplugs. The best part was the staff: Veronica and Wilson rocked! They were both incredibly pleasant and helpful with arranging transportation, suggesting restaurants, organizing take-out meals, providing much desired tea to a weary traveler and helping with any other questions that I had. It is rare to find such helpful hotel staff and these two individuals were the best I've ever come across! They made me feel very comfortable and at home. Much appreciated! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayakqueen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Eugenia Hotel
Eugenia Hotel
#47 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#40 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuente de Piedra II Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuente de Piedra II Hostal

Property: Fuente de Piedra II Hostal
Address: Juan Leon Mera, N23-21 and Baquedano, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuente de Piedra II Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuente de Piedra II, built in 2000, is a colonial style hostel located in the heart of La Mariscal, the most traditional, commercial and touristic zone of Quito where you can find banks, restaurants, bars, discotheques and other attractions that the night life of the city offers us. It is the ambition to host our guests in our hostel, our home. Fuente de Piedra II features the authenticity and diversity of Ecuador with a heart for quality and a home feeling in every aspect ranging from accommodation to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fuente de Piedra II Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuente De Piedra Ii Hostal Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing