We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Real Audiencia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Real Audiencia
Ranked #37 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed here after our trip to the Galapagos just before heading home. Small boutique hotel located in the historic centre. An older hotel - beds are fresh and clean, our bathroom was new but our daughters bathroom was quite old. No elevator so a bit difficult carrying heavy suitcases up and down although staff helped. The staff is very friendly and accomodating although the staff on our first night really didn't speak English at all - next days staff were more knowledgable.
Quito is a very large city and quite spread out so even though the hotel is well located expect to take cabs to many of the sites - not a problem as cabs are quite inexpensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryNiklesToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location...you can walk to all of Quito Old Town attractions. It has reliable service and a friendly and competent staff. We did need to show them how to reset the wireless router so the internet worked and there was an issue with changing channels on the TV...both of these were handled graciously. While the rooms are not fancy the location makes it a good choice and we will be back at the end of our trip for another couple nights. The restaurant was fine and service friendly. The included breakfast was also a good start to the day and the unlimited coffee was a treat.

Room Tip: Room 205 has a King Bed and a glimpse of the Plaza Grande....the street noise is definitely noticeab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svsilverfin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

For those interested in Quito's Old Town, I can recommend the Real Audiencia, where I stayed for several nights last November (2012). I found it to be an attractive, independent old hotel with a friendly staff, and a good location. It is just a few steps from a trolley stop, and not too far from La Ronda, a bohemian music-cafe scene, and the Old Town's only after-dark venue. My room, a single, was not exceptional in any way, but it was clean, and perfectly satisfactory. The hotel's pride is its restaurant (where a nice breakfast buffet is served), with big windows that overlook the Plaza Santo Domingo. My only complaint is a small one -- my television did not pick up any of the major English-language news channels, like BBC or CNN. (There was a BBC connection, but it was the rubbish channel.) However, since I don't travel to watch television, this is a minor complaint. Overall, I think this hotel is a good choice for the Old Town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorenzo_mtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed here for a few days to check out Quito before heading to the Galapagos Islands. We enjoyed our stay here because it was within walking distance to most things we wanted to see, being in the historic district. We did however have to take many cab rides to see some of the sites we wanted to see like Capillo del Hombre and el Panecillo. Quito is a big city, so you definitely can't walk to everything. That being said, we very much enjoyed the charm of the old city. A couple of things about this hotel aside from the great location: the rooms are kind of dark and could use some upgrading, perhaps you could find better quality rooms for the same price in gringolandia but then you sacrifice the old town charm; also, staying in old town there weren't great options for dinner particularly if you go out after 6pm when everything seems to be shutting down. If you're looking for a nice meal that is moderately priced ($20-30), we found this at Hotel Plaza Grande. The breakfast at Hotel Real Audiencia was adequate, but we really didn't enjoy the dinner we had there one night. The views form the breakfast room are beautiful as other reviewers have noted. We also found the front desk people to be pretty helpful. To sum it up: if you want to stay in Old Town for a reasonable price, this is your place but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BF731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Real Audencia (HRA) for 9 days in Nov 2012 and had a great experience. The front desk staff, English speakers, were incredibly helpful in getting tours set up, the cleaning staff keep everything in top order and all staff are pleasant and accommodating. My room #201 had a very comfortable king bed and overlooked the street. There was no problem with traffic or noise as the old city quiets down by midnight. One really nice feature was the safe deposit box for valuables. It is on the same system as a US safe deposit box which requires one personal key and one bank key to open so that neither can enter without the other. The Old City or Centro area is great for museums, restaurants and transportation. The HRA restaurant has a limited menu but the food was good and plentiful portions. The breakfast buffet which was included was the one area where they could use some work. They didn't replenish items once they ran out and it was the same everyday. Overall, I would definitely recommend HRA.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmOPKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Great hotel to base your stay in Quito from. Well located, staff very helpful, comfortable updated rooms. We stayed in regular room for 3 nights, left our bags and toured the countryside with Freedom Ecuador via motorcycle and returned to stay in corner suite (well worth it) for final two nights. Will stay here again when in Quito.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CladdaghBoatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This place is no bueno. The good is: the sheets were clean and the location isn't bad. The bad: Our room #210 had a picture window that faced into the hallway, that permitted light to flow through the curtains and onto the bed (my eyes), we were located next to a room, near the bed that had a door with glass above it, so the neighbors light and TV noise drifted in to the room, onto our bed, ears and eyes, all night. The bathroom shared a "window" with a different room and allowed all of the neighbors noise and scent to flow into our room. I never heard such noises coming from a human before this torturous evening spent in this room. The carpet is dirty. Our friends stayed in room #307 which was slightly better, b/c their neighbors weren't as loud as ours. What in the heck were those noises coming from their bathroom? I think that I am scarred.
Seriously, I should have just stayed out all night and drank, b/c I would have felt the same level of rest when I woke up

Room Tip: Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 113 in Quito
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#53 of 113 in Quito
55 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#15 of 113 in Quito
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 113 in Quito
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Audiencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Audiencia

Address: Bolivar Oe- 3-18 | Plaza de Santo Domingo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Quito
#29 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £38 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real Audiencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Real Audiencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Audiencia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing