We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with good rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal La Casona de Mario
Ranked #55 of 263 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location with good rates”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Myself and my partner thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.... We are travelling as a couple and stayed here for 5 days then left our bags in storage to visit ottovalo for a few days then came back here and stayed another 4 nights. It is a hostel converted from a house.... Kitchen with everything, great chill out area with great wifi, and movie channels in English. A great supermarket is literally around the corner and the tourist la mariscal area is a 10-15 min walk away with bars, travel agents, coffee shops and restaurants... The hostel feels like your staying in your own home... Great friendly dogs .... One always try's to sneak in our room for a morning cuddle :) would defiantly recommend for great rates for quito with a safe and quiet stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I exchanged several emails in English with the hostel. Our booking was confirmed as 2 ensuite rooms, one for parents and the other for young children. When we arrived after ringing for over 5 minutes (early evening), we were shown to a room with 2 sets of bunk beds with a bathroom (single toilet and shower) to share with 8 people. Quite a difference from the reserved 2 rooms with private baths. When we made a fuss, the owner without apology explained that he was giving good value for the location, and we should not expect anything more. In other words, even though we booked 2 doubles with ensuite baths, we should not expect these at the price quoted.

To their credit, they did send us to another guesthouse (at our own taxi cost), called L'Abeurge, which was cheaper and far superior to Hostel La Casona de Mario. It is for this reference we did not provide a lower rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank developer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I was going to stay here for a few weeks but after 4 days couldn't wait to leave and went someplace else. Have no idea why the proprietor is in this business but he should do something else. Could hardly eke out a smile (didn't) yet I had to walk through his personal kitchen to get to the communal one.
Though I communicated via email with his wife who does speak English, and let her know I am a solo traveler, I felt like an intruder. I was given a room with single bunk beds though I specifically requested a double bed. Then upon check out they pulled the ol',"oh the room costs more because you are a single" b.s. They knew this in advance and quoted me one thing and charged another. It wasn't a huge amount but it left another bad taste.

If you are hoping to get any help with activities, recommendations or socializing, this is NOT the place. There wasn't a single comfortable place to sit in the entire house. To be fair, they do have two lovely dogs if you need a canine fix. Also the place is a great location.Otherwise I would suggest going elsewhere, the atmosphere is gloomy and strange.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alpsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belsele, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

One of the best hostals we stayed in in South America during our four months travelling. The place is cheap and has everything you need such as an amazing living room, a kitchen and a supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einstein81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were going to stay in Quito for just one night, as we were going to the Amazon the following morning. We didn't want to spend much money for just one night & some prices in Quito are very high. We thought this hotel was quite good value & it's quite close to the airport, so it seemed like the perfect place. It was a bit like staying at someone's house, quite cosy & in a safe area. However, the room was freezing cold. When we went out for dinner we were shocked to see the prices of all the restaurants nearby! There a re a few posh hotels in the area (we didn't know that) so the owners of the restaurants really took profit! We even saw a restaurant from a chain: Lo Nuestro (specialised in Ecuadorian food). We had a look at the menu & the prices were nearly twice as much as the same restaurant in Guayaquil! We ended up having a basic burger without any drinks & paid a lot. What a rip-off!

La Casona de Mario doesn't offer any food, although if you have time, you can cook, which will help if you don't want to splash the cash!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

La Casona de Mario is the best hostel we've stayed at in four months of travel through Central and South America. The rooms are spacious, the kitchen has every cooking utensil we've missed having in the last four months, the indoor and outdoor common areas are super comfortable and cool, and the house is decorated with amazing little touches. It honestly felt like a home. The location in the Floresta is beautiful and safe, and just a 10 minute walk to the more hopping but louder and more dangerous Mariscal Sucre. And the prices were great at $10 per person!

There are a couple of great, super cheap lunch places. The awesome bar/restaurant/music venue El Pobre Diablo and the art house movie theater Ocho Y Medio are just a couple of blocks away. Don't miss the Friday farmer's market right next door. There are loads of tasty, more upscale restaurants all around as well.

Mario was super helpful with any questions we had.The hostel attracts a crowd of respectful, non-late-night-partying young and older travellers from everywhere imaginable.We couldn't recommend this hostel enough. You will want to come back every time you visit Quito!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfingandtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We just returned from Ecuador after a month long trip. We stayed at Casona De Mario's 4 times as a stopover in between other parts of Ecuador. It is true, that they are probably "uninterested" for the most part(which could also be, in part, because our Spanish is not the best for conversing) but we still found them to be hospitable and helpful and they offered clean and comfortable acccommodations. The shuttle arrived as promised, the kitchen is well equipped, and it is a friendly, quiet and safe atmosphere. Nina and Mendietta (the dogs) were also great hosts. If ever in Quito again(and we hope we are!), we would most definately stay here again. Muchas Gracias, Brenda y Mario!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovinglifeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Cartuja
Hotel La Cartuja
#44 of 110 in Quito
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tambo Real Hotel
Tambo Real Hotel
#56 of 110 in Quito
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barnard Hotel
Barnard Hotel
#42 of 110 in Quito
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#10 of 110 in Quito
985 reviews
0.5 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#32 of 110 in Quito
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Casona de Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Casona de Mario

Property: Hostal La Casona de Mario
Address: Andalucia 213 y Galicia, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 263 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal La Casona de Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing