We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean comfortable room at reasonable price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rincon Escandinavo

Rincon Escandinavo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rincon Escandinavo
Ranked #84 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable room at reasonable price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in November while attending Spanish Language Class nearby. Based on other internet reports, we were concerned about crime and muggings before we came and found the area to be reasonably well populated during thre day and early evenings and did not feel threatened during our stay. However we did exercise caution and used taxi's at night. Hotel staff was helpful and pleasant. Seemed to be a well run hotel. Good location for walking to nearby attractions, businesses and entertainment centers. Breakfast was basic buffet; eggs, juice, coffee and breads. prepared by non-chef staff. Room was SMALL, Bathroom SMALLER, but clean and functional with cable TV & WiFi. Bed was comfortable with european comforter bedding. Staff was helpful but with limited english skills. We would return here again for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captmike04530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
9
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

I stayed here for total of four nights at the start and end of my trip to Galapagos.

This really friendly hotel is located in a quite street close enough to the main hubs and eateries without needing a taxi. If you're unable to walk for more than 15 minutes you might want to pay $1 for a taxi to see the main attractions of Quito and for shopping or sightseeing but I was more than happy to walk.

My room was beautifully clean with a free multi channel satellite TV should you want it. Internet access wasn't available when I was there due to a slow connection but there are so many other cheaper places to use the internet within a few minutes walk it's not an issue.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and though English isn't spoken here as usual in Ecuador, they're very happy to try and communicate.

I loved my room on my last night with a wondeful view of the mountains, the early breakfasts, the restaurant food and the friendly service from the staff.

I didn't like the room I stayed in on my first three nights but only because it had no window and was open at the top of the adjoining wall with a gap of about 15 cm all along through to the next room so noise transfer was a tad annoying.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentish_made
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

Wonderful, helpful people. Perfectly adequate but uninspired breakfast included. Convenient location, near the bustle of Mariscal but not in it, close to EcoVia (25 cents takes you to the Centro Historico). And of course the bizarre charm of seeing posters of Stockholm on the walls when you're visiting Ecuador.

My only beef is with some of the rooms. In seven nights I saw five different rooms, for various reasons. The big problem is noise. In general, the walls are thin, and air shafts sometimes seem to channel and amplify sounds from far away. And then, one night my neighbors partied boisterously til 2 AM. Asking them to be quiet had no effect. The staff, apparently unwilling to confront them (despite a posted quiet-after-10, no alcohol policy), were happy to let me just crash in a more distant room. So some points for trying to help.

A smaller problem is general maintenance. One room had something wrong with the TV. Another's shower head blew off when I turned on the shower. Most have no windows; one's air shaft seemed to be shared with a kitchen, so reeked of hot vegetable oil in the early morning.

My favorite room was 203. Lovely, with a balcony, real air, and a view of the mountains. 107 is not bad. 305 is charming but has no phone if you care. Avoid room 103 at all costs: bad smells, bad lighting, explosive shower, and the only cockroach...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epistemologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

Wonderfull atention, good prices and the standar of the rooms was good.
I love the people who runs this hotel, so nice and kind with me and my son.
Many rekomendetions we will come back the next year.
Mia and family-

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miafiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto ontario canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2006

We happened on the Rincon by accident and were treated like Royalty. The people that run that hotel were just amazing. My brother and I were given the room at a very low cost and they went out of their way to make us safe and secure. I can't say enough about the people that work there and the owner/manager. If you want to feel comfortable and safe when in a foreign county this is the place to stay. It's not the most modern and it's doesn't have all the attractions but the people are the best.

  • Liked — the people
  • Disliked — lack of extras ie: pool
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Garbageguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
Alston Inn Hotel
Alston Inn Hotel
#56 of 114 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal de la Mancha
Hostal de la Mancha
#71 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#97 of 114 in Quito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#51 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon Escandinavo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon Escandinavo

Property: Rincon Escandinavo
Address: Leonidas Plaza N24-306 y Baquerizo Moreno, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rincon Escandinavo 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rincon Escandinavo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Escandinavo Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing