We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Plaza Internacional
Ranked #78 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Like home”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Nice hotel, cheap and good environment. Its a very comfortable and roomy hostel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    12
    14
    2
See reviews for
15
16
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I stayed at this hostal for three weeks in June and early July. The rooms were cleaned daily and the staff was very friendly. I became friends with the staff and met people from around the world during my stay. The hotel is also next to the National Symphony's practice space so there is 24 hour security for them that helped me feel a little safer.

The decor leaves something to be desired, but the room was small, clean, and private. The wifi is only in the lobby area so I requested to be moved to the room closest to the lobby. The room was much noisier because of the student travelers coming through all times of night, but I needed the internet. I left my ipad in the room almost daily, sometimes left it out charging and it never got stolen along with some money being kept in my drawer in the room.

If I go back , I will definitely revisit this hostel. I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semtingwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed here for 10 nights over 3 weeks and were able to negotiate a great rate - do email the hotel directly to get the best rate.

The location of this hotel is great - 5 blocks/ 15 mins from the main tourist square in Quito, Plaza Foch. A good night´s sleep is hard to come by in this noisy city, so it´s worth staying a little distance from Plaza Foch. The hotel is also 2 blocks/ 5 mins from Avenue Amazonas, a main throughfare with lots of restaurants, pharmacies, clothes shops etc. It costs about $1.50 in peak season to get from the hotel to Plaza Foch by taxi - we would not recommend walking after about 7pm.

The hotel decor is dated and you may be appalled when you first look at the room. However, it is incredible value. Most double rooms come with a double and single bed, and are large. The bathrooms have EXCELLENT hot showers (let the water run) - water pressure is high. Beds are clean and comfortable. TV has only Spanish channels so bring some books - the hotel also does a book exchange. The rooms above reception (103, 104) are pictured on the website and are better decor but noisier. The rooms at the back of the hotel are worse decor but quieter.

The staff at the hotel are brilliant - friendly, helpful, available 24/7 and speak good English. They man the safe ($5 per stay) and know the local area well. They can also coordinate local trips for you.

For food in Plaza Foch, we liked Mama Clorinda which does traditional Ecuadorian food (try the humitas and quimbolitas!), as well as spaghetti/ pasta. Coffee Tree is great for people watching and does a great Musli breakfast. Red Hot Chilli Peppers (Mexican) and Boca Del Lobo are slightly more expensive but Western-style smart restaurants; both trendy.

For tourist attractions, we recommend Cotopaxi mountain biking tour with The Flying Dutchman - DO NOT USE HAPPY GRINGO. Happy Gringo invests in s smart office and bilingual staff, but their prices are at least $10 more than the going rate and they outsource all tours to local providers (like Flying Dutchman, 2 doors down from Happy Gringo, anyway). Mitad del Mundo is also fun on a hot day - beautiful views of Quito, and a kitsch celebration of Ecuador. Do also visit the covered markets off Avenue Amazonas.

We found Quito very quiet off season, but it became vibrant and busy in mid-June - we hear it stays that way through to September.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CompulsiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed two nights at the Plaza in February 2010. It is a converted old mansion and is worn but very clean. We found folks staying long term and just overnight. The staff is great and speaks fair English. Hot water is slow in coming but plentiful when it gets there. The hotel is close (3-4 blocks) from the center shopping and nightlife area of the Marsical area. There is a McDonalds 1 block away in case you get the urge. On weekends there is a great arts and crafts market at the park across from the McDonalds. No AC but you need covers most of the time at night because of the altitude. They do have an elevator although we did not use it. Breakfast was included with our double room with bath for only $36. We had a room on the front and they tend to be a bit noisy with traffic from the (sirens) boulevard a block away and from a dog in the area that had to have the last word every time some other dog barked. But overall, a great little spot. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlinPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

We stayed here for a total of 4 nights. The staff is very friendly and very helpful, and speaks enough English to help those with no Spanish get by. Breakfast is included, and consisted of an ample portion of eggs, freshly made fruit juice ("jugo"), bread with preserves, and Ecuadorian coffee (a little very strong coffee mixed with a lot of milk). Tea is available.

The hotel is old, and the condition of the rooms vary. Some beds are comfortable, some are not. There is definitely an "old and worn" look to the place, and the carpets are dirty.

Rooms are noisy, but that's likely to be true in any Quito hotel other than the most expensive.

In July, 2008, we paid $45 a night, including the breakfast.

We would recommend this as an inexpensive place to stay, but those wanting more comfortable surroundings should plan on spending more money elsewhere.

  • Liked — location, price, friendliness and helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — condition and cleanliness of rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wagmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#88 of 114 in Quito
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inca Imperial
Hotel Inca Imperial
#64 of 114 in Quito
35 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Cartuja
Hotel La Cartuja
#42 of 114 in Quito
173 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western CPlaza Hotel
0.8 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 114 in Quito
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Internacional

Property: Hotel Plaza Internacional
Address: Leonidas Plaza N 19-50, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Internacional 3*
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing