We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely place with good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Cartuja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Cartuja
Ranked #38 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place with good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Clean, spacious rooms. Wi-fi available at the reception area and in the tiny garden, where you can relax after the day of sightseeing. Hot water available 24 hours a day. Continental breakfast is also available. The staff is really helpful and nice, everybody speaks good English, so if you do not speak Spanish, it is a good choice. Location is really nice, near the park El Ejido, 10 minutes walk to Plaza Foch, 20 minutes to the old town. It is also allowed to leave you luggage in the storage room if you want to make 1-2 day trips to nearby towns. I enjoyed my stay and can recommend this hotel as a good price-quality choice in Quito.

Room Tip: The room number six with a street view is really nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    69
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
49
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbus ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Charming atmosphere, Centrally located, Good breakfast, helpful friendly staff. Impeccably clean rooms and facilities. Good security. Some staff were not the most proficient in English (mt home language) but this aside, we all made due and worked it out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank breiner14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto S, Owner at Hotel La Cartuja, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in the La Cartuja Hotel, we are committed to satisfy every single need from our guests and use these feedback to improve our services.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

According to our tour guide there are much cheaper places to stay but La Cartuja was clean and has a great location (less than a block to the national museum, not too far to Old Town-a $2 taxi ride! And we walked back and forth to Plaza Foch which seems to be THE place to hang out in Quito). I wouldn't walk around the area at night if I was alone, but taxis are so cheap it's not a big concern. They were unhelpful about extending our check out time to 3:00, we paid an extra $10 for the late check out so we could shower before heading to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hotel staff were extremely helpful in finding transportation for our family of five. They contacted a driver with a van for us because we couldnt use a regular taxi with only four seats. The staff happily went above and beyond.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimmom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We recently spent four nights at LaCartuja and found the hotel totally acceptable in every way. The location is quiet and safe, our rooms were clean, the staff was always very helpful, and the simple but filling breakfast (included) adds to the value. It is not a luxury hotel but there are some charming touches, such as colonial furniture, attractive pictures, flowers in the courtyard, etc. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've encountered recently, and ample blankets are provided. (Few buildings are heated in Quito, even though it can be cool at night.) You can spend a lot more in Quito, but La Cartuja filled the bill perfectly for our family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor or around the courtyard are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel is clean and mostly quiet, located a few blocks from the main nightlife district and across the road form the South American explorers club.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, if basic. The hot water was reliable and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was basic, but pretty standard for South America. Wifi worked and there is a nice court yard to sit in and check your emails.

Not bad overall and the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Get one on the upper floor facing the courtyard for the best nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Rito, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff was wonderful. They went to pick us up at the airport even though their was aproblem iwth the plumbing and the hotel was temprarily closed. They offered advice on restaurants and toher that was very helpful. The hotel is very conventiently located in La Mariscal close to restaurants and shops. Our room was big enough to spread out all of our luggage.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TPBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.0 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#15 of 112 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional
0.6 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 112 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barnard Hotel
Barnard Hotel
#41 of 112 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#42 of 112 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cartuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cartuja

Property: Hotel La Cartuja
Address: Leonidas Plaza 170 y 18 de Septiembre, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Cartuja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Cartuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cartuja Hotel
La Cartuja Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing