We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Quito”
Review of Hotel La Cartuja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Cartuja
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Pacifica, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Quito”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

La Cartuja staff were friendly and helpful, even having a snack for us when we arrived at 1 AM from a full day of travel. The hotel has a lovely court yard for relaxing. Breakfast is delicious. The eating area was perfect for playing cards with friends in the evening. While near a busy intersection, the hotel was amazingly quiet and secluded.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    74
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
50
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very nice small hotel located in a quiet street. The rooms are well sized, very clean and comfortable. The service staff were very friendly and helpful. They also spoke English.

The location is also very convenient - centrally located close to the new town but only a 20 min walk from the old town.

The only small complaint i have is that the room i stayed in was quite close to the reception area and during the night could hear everyone coming and leaving. However, overall it was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here in the Fall of 2012 as part of our wedding "Honey Moon". This was arranged for us by GAP Adventures and it turned out to be a great choice.
The service was very friendly, we could barely speak Spanish and the hotel staff did a fantastic job of communicating in our language (English) it was highly appreciated.
We were accurately directed to a number of locations of interest that were really helpful for our short stay here.
Breakfast served here was nothing super-fantastic but it was very agreeable.
The rooms were well appointed, comfortable and warm.
The location is central enough to easily access (via cab usually) lots of great aspects of the City.
We highly recommend this hotel for its value, modesty and honesty.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Clean, spacious rooms. Wi-fi available at the reception area and in the tiny garden, where you can relax after the day of sightseeing. Hot water available 24 hours a day. Continental breakfast is also available. The staff is really helpful and nice, everybody speaks good English, so if you do not speak Spanish, it is a good choice. Location is really nice, near the park El Ejido, 10 minutes walk to Plaza Foch, 20 minutes to the old town. It is also allowed to leave you luggage in the storage room if you want to make 1-2 day trips to nearby towns. I enjoyed my stay and can recommend this hotel as a good price-quality choice in Quito.

Room Tip: The room number six with a street view is really nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Charming atmosphere, Centrally located, Good breakfast, helpful friendly staff. Impeccably clean rooms and facilities. Good security. Some staff were not the most proficient in English (mt home language) but this aside, we all made due and worked it out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank breiner14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fausto S, Owner at Hotel La Cartuja, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in the La Cartuja Hotel, we are committed to satisfy every single need from our guests and use these feedback to improve our services.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

According to our tour guide there are much cheaper places to stay but La Cartuja was clean and has a great location (less than a block to the national museum, not too far to Old Town-a $2 taxi ride! And we walked back and forth to Plaza Foch which seems to be THE place to hang out in Quito). I wouldn't walk around the area at night if I was alone, but taxis are so cheap it's not a big concern. They were unhelpful about extending our check out time to 3:00, we paid an extra $10 for the late check out so we could shower before heading to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hotel staff were extremely helpful in finding transportation for our family of five. They contacted a driver with a van for us because we couldnt use a regular taxi with only four seats. The staff happily went above and beyond.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Barnard Hotel
Barnard Hotel
#40 of 111 in Quito
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#41 of 111 in Quito
142 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#16 of 111 in Quito
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cartuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cartuja

Property: Hotel La Cartuja
Address: Leonidas Plaza 170 y 18 de Septiembre, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Cartuja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Cartuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cartuja Hotel
La Cartuja Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing