We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Sol de Quito Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol de Quito Hotel
Ranked #89 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We needed a place to stay for a couple of nights in between going to Cotopaxi and then to then Galapagos. We were taken aback with the decor--it is a bit outdated and funky (the mural in the dining area and the lady in the waiting area) but as we were there, the decor became charming. The room was very clean and while the beds were very firm....I slept wonderfully and the breakfast buffet was good.

The difficulty is that many drivers (friends and taxi drivers both) hadn't heard of the hotel and they were reluctant to leave us as it is a 'hike' from anywhere and there is not a lot around. Once indoors though--it is gated and seemed very safe.

The hotel did arrange a transfer from the airport for the others in our group and the driver arrived as scheduled (even with a change in flight) We then hired him to take us to Papallacta the next day (Sunday) and he did.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grimmyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Sol de Quito Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Convenient location to local attractions, great experience at this boutique hotel. Friendly staff, great value at this traditional Ecuatorian hotel just a few blocks from the Plaza Foch, just like Leidseplein in Amsterdam. I really enjoyed it and I will truly recommend it!

Room Tip: Please turn the chimeney every night!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipvce23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Funky small hotel outside of New Town with lots of charm. We stayed in the Quito Room which was a suite with the bathroom up a flight of stairs on a balcony. Very helpful staff who assisted me in recovering a lost vest and provided good recommendations for restaurants. We were able to walk most places and felt quite safe, even at night. The bed WAS very hard but provided a good nights sleep. Would stay here again - good value. One note of advice: the hotel said they would send a cab to meet us at the airport ($15) which they didn't; we caught a cab ourselves and it was $8 into town but the driver was unsure of the address - be sure to have it with you!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Flubberlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Sol de Quito really depends on what you are looking for. It is not in the central historic area, it is not in the middle of all the restaurants and hotels of la mariscal, but then that is the very thing that makes it a pleasant and quite place. I arrived late at the airport and wanted someplace not too far, but still with a sense of personality to know I had left the US and arrived in Ecuador the next moring. The Sol de Quito was perfect meet this criteria perfectly. It is also very close to one of the fixed bus routes that cost $0.25 to get straight down to the central historic district, so the quite, neighborhood is accessable to just about anywhere. The breakfast was great and I had some of the best fresh juice there than anywhere during my two week stay. The only problem I had was a constant "beeping" of the security system, but that may have just been the room, floor I was located.

Room Tip: Ask about the "beeping" and get away from it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The staff was prompt and courteous from the reservation stage to our time there. Good eggs with our breakfast. We will go back. We did find the pillows a little hard and large but other than that great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I have stayed at the hotel several times, they have a very friendly staff, free wifi, great breakfast. The rooms have recently been updated with softer, more comfortable beds and rooms but the hotel is still a bit outdated throughout their bathrooms and rooms, however they offer clean rooms, hairdryers, shampoo and other amenities.
Not a bad place at all for the money and close to the Mall "El Jardin" and Park "Carderon".

Room Tip: There are three levels and it is hard to tote bags up three levels, especially when traveling with m...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamacitababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel is basically a good hotel with a freindly staff. The rooms are quiet. The staff rinedly and attentive. Downsides are: the beds are hard as a rock (my left hip was actualy bruised when I left after sleeping on the bed for 3 nights). The pillows also are hard. The staff, while very frinedly, are not that knowledgable about things outside of Quito and even in Quito. If the beds/pilows were improved and the staff a bit more knowledgable, the ratings would easily improve.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fijimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
La Carolina Inn
La Carolina Inn
#62 of 112 in Quito
28 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.6 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lugano Hotel
Lugano Hotel
#50 of 112 in Quito
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Q Hotel
Casa Q Hotel
#25 of 112 in Quito
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol de Quito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol de Quito Hotel

Address: Alemania N 30-170 y Vancouver, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: £44 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol de Quito Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel is one of the most beautiful hotels of the city, very private and exclusive. It belongs to Santiago and Bernardo, who believe wholeheartedly in Ecuador who decided to remodel this building on December 2016. Today we operate a place of special charm full of quality service and personalized attention.The hotel is very quiet, confortable and very safe, and it's the only private and exclusive hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol de Quito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing