We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal de La Rabida
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

A really nice friendly hostal with wonderful service. It's like staying in someones' home- light decor, clean and bright rooms, fresh drinking water each day. It's just a few minutes walk to some wonderful restaurants, although we did eat here one night and the food was very good. We would stay here again if we came back to Ecuador.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the hostal but we did not experience any street noise, most of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    142
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
84
206
67
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Frankly La Rábida is all about the enormously charismatic Brownie, but because I chose to stay here on the basis of the all-around strong reviews here I'll judge more comprehensively and say that it did not disappoint. All in all the place is super charming, and the nightly fire and cozy dinners (and Brownie) are the jewels of the experience. I won't belabor the point about the staff doing nearly anything for you, except to say that it's true. (Ok, I can't resist mentioning that the kitchen staff steamed my baggage-addled trousers for free on the morning of my first meeting.)

Before having visited, I was a bit perplexed by the descriptions of la Rábida as an 'oasis' from the 'stress' of Quito. (Seriously? Quito? Stressful?) Ok, so it's not Mumbai, but there is something oppressive about the cloud cover in winter (when I was there), the altitude that makes you think you're having a panic attack until you remember why your breathing is so rapid and the gridlocked -- tripadvisor censored me on that one -- traffic. So a glass of wine on the sofa in front of the fire at the end of the day -- and, of course, a highly welcome and illicit visit from Brownie, when he manages to slip in through the back door, is a very welcome evening scenario.

My only real complaint was the noise: in the main house you're really at the mercy of your neighbors' behavior. Walls are thin so sound travels...if the next door room gets in at 3am you will be up for their arrival whether you like it or not. But I did not downrate the place because (1) it's an old house and therefore unavoidable, and (2) the garden rooms built of masonry are just as comfortable and an easy alternative for the light sleepers amongst you.

Lastly, the neighborhood isn't amazing but very central and walkable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house, while charming, can be noisy if your neighbors are too. Rooms in the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gothamgourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here for five nights. Hard to fault the place for the price, clean, safe, friendly. What makes the Rabida stand out however is the staff, especially Gloria. She is a mine of good information, top tips and friendly advice, and is always cheerful.
The Rabida is in a good location, close to the Mariscal but not 'on top' of it. There are good bars and restaurants in the immediate area, which was safe to walk to certainly early evening.
I would happily stay here again - and the rabbit is a bonus!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed 9/25 thru 10/1. Room #3 has twin beds that you can push together. There is a window that opens for fresh air.. Very clean. Plenty of hot water. Drinking water provided daily. Flat screen TV with a number of English speaking channels. We ate breakfast and dinner here, daily. Excellent meals, each day, at reasonable prices. Different fresh juices, every day. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Special thanks to Gloria and Carlos. Brownie the rabbit is very friendly, made me feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We have no complaints about our stay here. It was a very homey place and everyone who worked here was eager to please. The place feels very inviting and cozy, but because it is so well maintained, it definitely bumps the price up. We wanted a safe-bet when booking this hotel and it was certainly that. If you're just arriving to Quito and you want your first few days to be stress free, then this place will do the trick. The front desk woman, Gloria even helped me find a place to get a pair of pants hemmed before we started trekking through Quilotoa. I would recommend this place, but do know that it is a little pricier than other accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starmck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a small property close to the tourist area. The staff and management of this hotel are so friendly and cannot do enough for you. The food is very good and your meals are prepared just for you. Your safety is a priority here and we felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were booked in to this hotel for 4 nights total between different excursions with Adventure Life. It was really more of a B&B. "Brownie" is the best feature of the hotel. They were very helpful, although the claim on the website about speaking 5 languages is a stretch, English was only manageable with daytime staff, at night it was looks of pointing and gestures to communicate. The food was okay (Get the Ceviche!) and breakfast was always quick and convenient. They have both WIFI, although sporadic, and a computer to use in the lobby. It is centrally located. The rooms were very tiny and there were no windows or fans in the 3 rooms we had, making them hot and claustrophobic, would be my main complaint.

Room Tip: Room #1 and Room#11
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for your valued comments about your stay with us. I am sorry you had a communication problem with our night staff. In fact, our night Receptionist for a couple of nights a week has limited English - whereas all other Receptionists speak good English. My husband and I were out of town during your stays, so two of the four advertised languages were missing (Italian and French.)
None of our rooms do in fact have fans, but they ALL have windows - in fact Rooms1 and 2, have balconies and Room 11, a private patio area. As Quito is located in the mountains, night time temperatures tend to get quite low but it is true that we are having some particularly good weather this summer!
Please be assured that we take all our guests comments very seriously and do our best to ensure that their stay with us is enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 110 in Quito
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 110 in Quito
473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 110 in Quito
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de La Rabida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Rabida

Property: Hostal de La Rabida
Address: La Rabida 227 y Santa Maria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Quito
#6 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#15 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal de La Rabida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Rabida is an old traditional home recently restored into a first class, charming Quito hotel. We offer our guests the gracious atmosphere and style of a beautiful vacation home located in the heart of Quito, Ecuador near most places of historical and tourist interest as well as restaurants, banks, travel agencies and shops. With only 11 charming and tastefully decorated rooms, Hostal de la Rabida is a very special Quito hotel in which to enjoy your stay in our beautiful city. For those travelling in the company of their furry friends, you'll be happy to know that we are a pet-friendly hotel and will gladly accept any and all guests that plan to visit with their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal de La Rabida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Rabida Hotel Quito
Hostal De La Rabida Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing