We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal de La Rabida
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

What a great quiet place! We stayed in three different rooms in Hostal de La Rabida during our stay in Quito because of the various side trips we had done. All three of them were wonderful. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were large. All this and more made for restful nights.

The staff was excellent especially Gloria, who helped us with all kinds of tips and suggestions, and the evening attendant( I believe his name was Freddie), who was always willing to help us out with any questions we may have had.

It is a quick walk to all kinds of fantastic places to eat and shopping. It is also a short cab ride to Old Town or a fairly long walk. We did both.

Even with our earlier than early departures, they always had some food prepared for us before we left on our trips. It was great.

The food at the restaurant was enjoyable as was the company that we shared more times than not in the form of the house pet, Brownie the rabbit.

It was a great stay and we were sad to leave such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we too were sorry to see you go. Brownie says hello and come back soon !
Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just came home from a wonderful 2 week vacation in Ecuador. Spent our 1st week at Hostal de la Rabida. Charming B&B that fit our needs. Had a warm and welcoming feel when returning each evening from our outings in the city and tours. Gloria was so helpful and even gave me tips on where to go for my $5 wash and style. Would highly recommend. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy we were able to make your visit to Quito more enjoyable and look forward to seeing you again here sometime
Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A home away from home. Good locations. Limited, yet tasty menu. Cozy fireplace in the common area. Extremely friendly, courteous and efficient staff. Shower hot water not consistent. Quiet street a few blocks away from shopping, restaurants, post office, banks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you here again sometime in the future.
Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

La Rabida: Delightful and Charming.Our room was clean/comfortable. Our meals were taken in a softly lit, very pleasant dining room. Our coffee was strong, the milk warmed, and our meals were delicious. Judy, one of the owners is gracious and knowlegeable, as is her staff. Gloria, in particular was most helpful providing valuable insight regarding our day´s plans, including contacting taxis for us, and ensuring specific prices for the various destinations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again sometime soon.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We just had a 2 night stay at this little 10 room hotel in Quito. I would say that the service from reception (especially Gloria) and the breakfast servers was fantastic. My reason for the 3 rating is the actual quality of the hotel - the lobby and the rooms. They are on the old side and could use some updating. Also - the area the hotel is located in is not 4 or 5 star.

The area seems fine during the day. We walked around many streets enjoying the shops and restaurants. In the evening it is a different story. We came back to the hotel around 10:30pm. We were in a private car and had just stepped outside to say good-bye to our hosts when some men approached us - trying to grab at us - to get jewelry and/or wallets? The security guard from the hotel rushed out and pushed the men away, ushering us quickly into the gated and locked courtyard of the hotel. It was definitely a bit disconcerting.

The hotel has a nice little lobby where you can sit and enjoy the fire in the evening. There is a small bar area and a small dining area. Also an enclosed courtyard where you can sit to enjoy a morning coffee. Breakfast is $4.25 pp and includes coffee, juice, fresh fruit and eggs. Not a bad deal. There is a dinner service; however, we did not try it out.

Our room on the second floor was okay. It had a very nice terrace with a bistro table and chairs. The room was fairly small and did not have adequate places to put our 2 small suitcases. The bathroom had newer tile in the shower - but the toilet needed fixing as it kept running all night long. Also our bed definitely needed to be replaced. There was a huge lump in the middle and pillows were hard and flat foam. Not comfortable at all.

This hotel has so much potential. Some fixes to the flooring - update the lighting - buy new beds and linens. I would say it is a 'Diamond in the Rough'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Many thanks for staying with us and for writing a review. Such feedback is essential for us
in our efforts to provide the best experience for all our guests.

Firstly, I am so sorry to hear about the attempted robbery just outside our hotel. This is now a very rare happening in our street, as the Tourist Police are frequently patrolling all the Mariscal area, particularly on a Friday night. I am very glad our guard was able to get you to safety quickly before any real harm was done.

I have also noted your comments about the toilet in your room and the bed ( we have in fact renewed our matresses very recently !) and am looking into improvements immediately.

Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a very nice little B&B. I stayed in three different rooms during my trip (Sept 2013) and all were nice and clean, with comfortable beds and very friendly staff. The breakfasts were good, but are not included in the room price, but are very reasonable. There is also a small, full service restaurant in the hotel, which is nice if you are knackered from traveling and do not want to go out. There are many nice, but not gourmet, restaurants within a two block radius. It is more or less a residential area. The upside is there are few worries walking around. The flip side it is a taxi ride to most places, but taxis are cheap, if you want to go to the trendy part of the city or to the historical region. I stayed there on three different occasions this trip, so it should go without saying I recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank p0liner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Many thanks for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us in Quito and hope the rest of your trip went well.
Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed a total of three nights at the beginning of a 2-month S American trip. Traveled with two young children (2, 4) and stayed in two different rooms. First one was upstairs in the main building, which was fine, but worried about other guest hearing my children jumping on the wood floors. Second room was in the courtyard, which worked out great as it was easy to access the small yard where the resident rabbit, Brownie, lives. Staff was friendly and accommodating, especially the receptionist. The food at breakfast and dinner was delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowenaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for visiting and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it.
Brownie says hello!
All the best
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#20 of 113 in Quito
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
690 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 113 in Quito
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de La Rabida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Rabida

Address: La Rabida 227 y Santa Maria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Quito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#10 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#15 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £49 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal de La Rabida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Rabida is an old traditional home recently restored into a first class, charming Quito hotel. We offer our guests the gracious atmosphere and style of a beautiful vacation home located in the heart of Quito, Ecuador near most places of historical and tourist interest as well as restaurants, banks, travel agencies and shops. With only 11 charming and tastefully decorated rooms, Hostal de la Rabida is a very special Quito hotel in which to enjoy your stay in our beautiful city. For those travelling in the company of their furry friends, you'll be happy to know that we are a pet-friendly hotel and will gladly accept any and all guests that plan to visit with their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal de La Rabida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Rabida Hotel Quito
Hostal De La Rabida Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing