We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal de La Rabida
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed for three separate nights at La Rabida each time in transit to the Galapagos, Amazon or elsewhere. Each night we had a different room so experienced three different layouts. The rooms are simple and comfortable however our preference was for the downstairs room. The decor is dated however it is easy to see why so many reviewers describe La Rabida as a home away from home.

Judy and her staff are very helpful and dealt with an airline query that we had due to our poor grasp of Spanish.

Dining at La Rabida has to be one of its best features. The evening meals were excellent with a good cross section of local dishes available. There really is no need to dine out if staying there as all evening meals enjoyed and the prices were more than reasonable.

Our only disappointment was that we had to leave early each time therefore could not experience a cooked breakfast although toast, fruit and yoghurt were made available for early departures.

Note - the trip to the airport is long taking anywhere from 50 minutes to 85 minutes depending on traffic. The car fumes along the way are bad so we found it necessary to ask each taxi driver to close the air-flow vents. The taxi charge is fixed at US $26 however we did note (on our 6 taxi trips) that some taxi drivers took the long way to avoid the toll. While the long way is scenic travelling along narrow snaking coblestone roads in taxis with poor suspension (due to road conditions) loses its novelty after the first few trips.

If you don't intend to sight-see and are simply in transit I would recommend you get a hacienda or BandB closer to the airport until the new airport route has been finished. This is no reflection on La Rabida, simply the awfully long trip from the airport to Quito.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open onto a small communal grassed area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us - we are so happy to know that you had an enjoyable experience. Just a note about the trip to the airport - I have obviously been lucky so far as my own trips have been from half an hour to an hour - no longer! - it obviously depends on the time of day you travel. The taxis have to take the `picturesque`route, through the windy cobblestones between 5 pm and 8 pm as the tunnel coming into Quito on the main road is open only for traffic leaving Quito at that time - I am sure they would prefer to pay the 40 cent toll themselves, but they have no choice! The new road to the airport is progressing and hopefully will be ready for your next trip!
Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we arrived in Quito and before we journeyed to The Amazon. It is a quaint hotel with a local flavor. The feeling is that of staying in a grand old home. Nothing fancy but very comfortable. It suited us perfectly. We ate breakfast there twice and dinner once. The meals were good and the service excellent. Gloria who works at the hotel during the day was a big help in answering questions for us and was extremely gracious and attentive.

Room Tip: We didn't use room service and there is no fitness center. When I was clicking on the ratings I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Very many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us - we greatly appreciate it. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It was as promised. We stayed 3 nights on our way to Galapagos. A quiet and safe neighborhood with service that was near perfect. Pretty much everything on side streets has security fencing and wire so don't judge the neighborhood by that. We walked all over although not at night. The rooms are as stated by others smaller but well outfitted and comfortable. We had Room # 2 which does have a large terrace on the second floor and that was a nice touch but I would also stay in a garden room as well so I could worship Brownie, the rather full sized but lovable rabbit. Dinner was as good as anything we could have found in a more expensive restaurant and they made breakfast early for us so we could make our departure. When I say service was near perfect it is tongue-in-cheek only becuase when 7 or 8 of us all signed on to the free Wi-Fi it did slow just a bit. Thanks Judy for making us feel at home with a nice fire in the public room.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with second floor terraces that overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate your comments and are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Brownie joins me in hoping that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime in the future!
Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Would definitely recommend this hotel as the owners are very helpful, the rooms delightful and the rabbit fun! it was lovely to return to the wood fire in the evening too as Quito's evenings can be chilly.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank gaynor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, from which I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit. I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back here again in the future.
Best regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Unlike most of the people we met, we were not on our way to somewhere else. We decided to stay an entire week in Quito - we've done this before on Sicily and in Buenos Aires.

The staff at this hotel was great - very helpful to a Gringo couple who really probably did not know what to expect in Ecuador. Everyone went above and beyond to make our trip comfortable and memorable. From a box of chocolates on my birthday to assistance with dealing with the airlines when my partner's mother had passed away.

The location is great - not that we wanted to spend a lot of time in "Gringolandia" that is near-by, but because it is centrally located.

There was always a fire in the fireplace in the sitting room in the evenings (which are chilly in the mountains) where we could socialize with other guests. Big comfy sofas and books. Off that room was a small cozy bar area. It made for a nice "home away from home."

Room Tip: Don't just go with the least expensive room - altho' our bathroom was a good size compared t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springfieldlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, from which we are happy to know that we were able to make your visit to Quito memorable. Our neighbourhood is generally quiet but certainly during the Fiestas de Quito, the whole town is partying ! so there is definitely some extra disturbance!
I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to La Rabida sometime in the future.
Best regards
Judy Chiesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Even though it's name alludes to being a hostel, it is actually a small boutique hotel. Rooms are comfortable but not anything fancy.
It was a decent stay and the people do speak English, which made it easier for us to order food there. The neighborhood is a little sketchy. A lot of the houses on the road have barbed wire and electrified fences. But it is a short walk to the Fuch zone, which has a ton of restaurants and bars.

You are probably stopping here on your way or back from Galapagos and it is good for that.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have poor wifi. Choose one in the main lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wynnter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments and are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. The barbed wire and electric fences is pretty standard all over Quito, so dont let that you alarm you!
We have just changed the wifi router in the garden area, so I hope that future guests will get a better reception.
Best regards
Judy Chiesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We recently stayed here 2 nights before and again 2 nights after our trip to the Galapagos. We found the rooms very pleasant and felt there was plenty of room. In one we had a large balcony, in the other a small plaza/sitting area outside our room. We found the staff pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were good, and they were very accomodating about providing very early morning breakfast on the days we needed to travel early. It is located a short walk to the Mariscal neighborhood, where there were many restaurants (and nightclubs which we did not try!) We found it a very pleasant place to stay, and an option we far prefer to a large hotel. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSOtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
We greatly appreciate receiving guests comments and we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again!
Best regards and Happy New Year from all the staff at La Rabida
Judy Chiesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#20 of 113 in Quito
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
692 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 113 in Quito
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de La Rabida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Rabida

Address: La Rabida 227 y Santa Maria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Quito
#9 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#15 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £49 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal de La Rabida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Rabida is an old traditional home recently restored into a first class, charming Quito hotel. We offer our guests the gracious atmosphere and style of a beautiful vacation home located in the heart of Quito, Ecuador near most places of historical and tourist interest as well as restaurants, banks, travel agencies and shops. With only 11 charming and tastefully decorated rooms, Hostal de la Rabida is a very special Quito hotel in which to enjoy your stay in our beautiful city. For those travelling in the company of their furry friends, you'll be happy to know that we are a pet-friendly hotel and will gladly accept any and all guests that plan to visit with their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal de La Rabida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Rabida Hotel Quito
Hostal De La Rabida Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing